We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A+ family holiday !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Surfcomber on the Ocean

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in South Yarmouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Surfcomber on the Ocean
Save Saved
You added Surfcomber on the Ocean to your Saves list
107 South Shore Drive, Bass River, South Yarmouth, MA 02664   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Weeknight Special - $99!
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in South Yarmouth
GreenLeadersSilver level
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“A+ family holiday !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Although we had cool and rainy weather, we enjoyed walking the beach, sitting out on the lawnchairs, playing shuffleboard, and driving to see the sand sculptures and eat breakfast nearby at a wonderful bakery serving the biggest donuts, croissants and muffins I've seen. Great room and so handy to have a fridge and toaster and small table and chairs in the room.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    28
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
39
39
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We spent the long weekend at the Surfcomber and had an amazing time. The property in general and our room in particular were immaculate. Beautifully kept flowers were a lovely splash of color around the grounds and it was great to be right on the beach. The staff were very friendly and helpful in providing us tips on sights to see in Cape Cod. I also really appreciated the fresh hot coffee in the office every morning - a nice touch. We'd definitely return!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watervliet, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I've lost track of how many times I've stayed at Surfcomber now. I love it here. The staff is always helpful, friendly. The rooms are always kept nice and clean. it was awesome to enjoy some summer like weather in the fall. I can't wait for my next trip in the spring. Thanks SC for another great visit to CC.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We booked this motel for a girls weekend online after seeing the pictures on Trip Advisor and reading some of the reviews. All of the reviews seemed to have the same theme, it was a great place. When we drove up we noticed that the hotel grounds were immaculate. Upon inspection of our room #17, we could not believe the view of the beach and ocean (all the ocean front rooms were taken). The room was sunny, clean and even had a Keourig coffee maker, small frig and microwave. We loved the location so much we spent most of the time sitting outside on the chairs provided and just looking at the beach. On the Friday night, we were treated to a spectacular show by the Harvest Moon. It rose big and orange and beautiful. Everyone was taking pics of it. Everyone we met had been staying here for years and had nothing but good things to say. We will be coming back also! The office staff was very helpful even printing out some menu's of places to eat for us. We witnessed the chamber maids even cleaning up above the outside doors with brooms.....wow! All in all a wonderful relaxing time smack dab on the ocean, what more could you want?

Room Tip: Room #17 had one of the best views there. Not oceanfront but side view all the way down to Harwich...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havertown
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

This motel has it ALL! This was my 2nd visit in 6 years...the second time was just as wonderful as the first time. I look forward to my 3rd, 4th and subsequent stays here. I cannot find one thing to complain about...location, cleanliness, staff, amenities...they are all top shelf! If you are visiting Cape Cod book your room here!!!

Room Tip: If you have an issue with stairs...be sure to book a room on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Stayed at the Surfcomber for two nights with two other family groups. Living close by to the Cape and having, in the past, owned a house at the Cape for years, I was never in the need for a hotel. And asking locals is worthless since they also have never stayed in hotels. So started researching, and Tripadvisor and all the travelers who take the time to write reviews steered me right! Checked in on Friday before the rest of the group arrived and was greeted warmly by Matt, who was working the desk that weekend. He couldn't have been more helpful with restaurant suggestions as plans kept changing to fit the group's needs. Found the room to be clean, large and just what everyone said it was going to be. Beautifully maintained property, right on the beach. It is not a large property, and that was even better for us. When our three days ended, none of us were ready to leave and all agreed that it was just perfect. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Immaculate grounds and facilities in a great location on the beach. Excellent service in an easy, relaxing environment. This resort is ideal for couples wanting a quiet place to relax. Access to the beach is easy. Complimentary morning coffee is a great feature.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Surfcomber on the Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfcomber on the Ocean

Address: 107 South Shore Drive, Bass River, South Yarmouth, MA 02664
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > South Yarmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in South Yarmouth
#1 On the Beach Hotel in South Yarmouth
#2 Romantic Hotel in South Yarmouth
#3 Family Hotel in South Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Surfcomber on the Ocean is a small, peaceful oceanfront hotel with a private beach on warm Nantucket Sound. Run by the same family for over 55 years, the Surfcomber has 33 rooms, many with fully equipped kitchens, an outdoor heated swimming pool, a shuffleboard court and many comfy chaise lounges. The Surfcomber offers its guests free WiFi and free parking and is centrally located close to many good restaurants and shops. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Surfcomber On The Ocean Hotel South Yarmouth
Surfcomber On The Ocean Cape Cod/South Yarmouth, MA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surfcomber on the Ocean, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.