We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Direct Beachfront Bargain” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Surfcomber on the Ocean

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in South Yarmouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Surfcomber on the Ocean
Save
You added Surfcomber on the Ocean to your Saves list
107 South Shore Drive, Bass River, South Yarmouth, MA 02664   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in South Yarmouth
GreenLeadersSilver level
Boston
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Direct Beachfront Bargain”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We spent 2 great nights at the Surfcomber in early June. Because it was still off season we were able to get a bargain rate on an ocean view efficiency. It had 2 queen beds, a little separate kitchen, a dining table and chairs, a bath with a tub/shower, and a dressing area with a large sink cabinet and closet area. We loved the second floor location which gave us a great view of the ocean. Outside our door there was a little table and 2 chairs, where we had our morning coffee. When we arrived, it was early and our room wasn't ready for us. No problem, it was sunny so we just relaxed on the cushiony chaises that faced the beach. For dinner we simply walked down the road to the Skipper Restaurant and Chowder House. The room was very comfortable. There was a slight musty smell, but once the windows were open, it went away. The shower had great water pressure. We didn't cook in the kitchen but it was handy for making breakfast and coffee and keeping our beverages cold. We slept well - no noise except for the sound of the surf. The only negatives the room decor was dated including the bedding and furniture. The musty smell was inside the dresser drawers and ended up on my clothes. But all very minor. We will be going back in Sept.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    28
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
40
43
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

My fiancé and I stayed here this past week. Every room has a beautiful view. No complaints when you fall asleep to the sound of the ocean. The grounds are impeccably maintained! Perfect for children to run and play! There are so many options for rooms too. Incredible, attentive, and helpful staff and management. You can tell everyone loves where they work. We will defiantly be back!!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Our extended family of nine members stayed here over the Memorial Day weekend...in three rooms. We had six adults and three little children. We had an efficiency and coffee was not included in the kitchen. The other rooms, much less expensive, had coffee included in the rooms. Regular coffee is available in the office...not decaf. The location is wonderful...on the beach, and the rooms are spotless. The only problem we had was the outside temperatures at night dipped into the high 30's and 40's and there is no heat in the rooms. We were freezing. It was their first weekend open and during the summer months the cold weather does not pose a problem. Overall we had a terrific weekend without a speck of sun in the sky until we were leaving on Monday! We made lemonade from the lemons:)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, NH
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed here for the second year in a row. We love this place. Nothing fancy but it's clean, the staff is very friendly and the view is incredible. The beach is literally right there at your doorstep.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitby, on
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the family owned Surfcomber in August. Not one negative from the cleaniliness, the outstanding front office and cleaning staff to the spectacular grounds. This place with its gardens, had the look and feel of what you imagine cape cod should be.

Resort: The biggesst positive is the location. Away from the hustle and buslte and traffic in the towns, yet close to many restauarnts/shopping. So much to see in the area too, and a short drive from everything. The pool was a great size and received the sun all day. Oustanding staff, everyone was friendly and welcoming. The super comfy lawn chairs and sitting areas on the grass with little tables, to the best beach which was perfect for children and the elderly with a smooth shallow bottom. If you visit their website, the blue comfy chairs are great for an afternoon nap. We played shuffleboard for hours right by the beach. When looking at some beaches at other places, this was certainly the best. We walked along the Shore Drive along the beach, great for biking too with no traffic and lots of walks through adjoing neighbourhoods with beautiful gardens.. Sunrise spectacular.

Rooms: Lovely quiet 2 storey hotel with very spacious rooms. Rooms are very clean and well thought out. Best part of the rooms is they are so close to the ocean you can feel and see it no matter where you are. Grocery stores are close and with the rooms being efficiencies made most of our meals. Nice to have a fridge in your room for beverages.

Golf: We played 2 golf courses which were 1/2 hour away. Cranberry and the Captains - Port which were in excellent condition, and the pace was too, played at 9:00 and back to hotel by 1:30 to relax. They were in the opposite direction from Hyannis so an easy not busy drive.

Sites: We visited, a short drive away, the national seashore park and lighthouse, unbelievable beach and views at the Salt Pond Visitor Centre. The Bass Hole boardwalk is worth the short trip.

Can't wait to go back and will definately be dreaming about this place until next year. The perfect vacation.

Room Tip: Any room is just perfect depending on the size you need. The on ocean suites are really right on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Massachusetts
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Walter Sheehan
We found the Surfcomber on the ocean, 107 South Shore Drive, South Yarmouth, MA about 4 years ago and have never once regreted our choice to enjoy one of the most relaxing and quiet vacations we have ever had - we very highly recommend this property if you want a terrific view of the ocean and more peace and quiet then you have ever had before and everything is within walking distance. We enjoy this quite area in June and September.
thanks

Room Tip: all rooms have a view of the ocean there is no restaurant on property but there are restaurants from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallingford, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

This motel was great! Unfortunately we really only slept there, as we were in the Cape for a wedding. But the front desk staff were friendly and helpful and our room was clean! It wasn't overly luxurious but we had everything we needed. If we headed back out there, we would definitely go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Surfcomber on the Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfcomber on the Ocean

Address: 107 South Shore Drive, Bass River, South Yarmouth, MA 02664
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > South Yarmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in South Yarmouth
#1 On the Beach Hotel in South Yarmouth
#2 Romantic Hotel in South Yarmouth
#3 Family Hotel in South Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Surfcomber on the Ocean is a small, peaceful oceanfront hotel with a private beach on warm Nantucket Sound. Run by the same family for over 55 years, the Surfcomber has 33 rooms, many with fully equipped kitchens, an outdoor heated swimming pool, a shuffleboard court and many comfy chaise lounges. The Surfcomber offers its guests free WiFi and free parking and is centrally located close to many good restaurants and shops. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Surfcomber On The Ocean Hotel South Yarmouth
Surfcomber On The Ocean Cape Cod/South Yarmouth, MA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surfcomber on the Ocean, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.