We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FOR A QUIET RELAXING VACATION” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Surfcomber on the Ocean

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in South Yarmouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Surfcomber on the Ocean
Save
You added Surfcomber on the Ocean to your Saves list
107 South Shore Drive, Bass River, South Yarmouth, MA 02664   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Special Rates for 2015!
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in South Yarmouth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Oxford, Massachusetts
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“FOR A QUIET RELAXING VACATION”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Walter Sheehan
We found the Surfcomber on the ocean, 107 South Shore Drive, South Yarmouth, MA about 4 years ago and have never once regreted our choice to enjoy one of the most relaxing and quiet vacations we have ever had - we very highly recommend this property if you want a terrific view of the ocean and more peace and quiet then you have ever had before and everything is within walking distance. We enjoy this quite area in June and September.
thanks

Room Tip: all rooms have a view of the ocean there is no restaurant on property but there are restaurants from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    28
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
40
43
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wallingford, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

This motel was great! Unfortunately we really only slept there, as we were in the Cape for a wedding. But the front desk staff were friendly and helpful and our room was clean! It wasn't overly luxurious but we had everything we needed. If we headed back out there, we would definitely go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watervliet, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I've stayed here several times now and I Love it. The rooms are nice and clean. The staff is awesome and friendly. I love being right on the beach. I used to stay somewhere else that was not beach front...I'm so glad I found Surfcomber. I love their spring and fall specials too! I love taking pictures at sunrise so it's nice to walk out my door and already be at the beach. I can't wait until I can book my next trip.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, NY
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

What a terrific motel!! The ocean view from our second floor room was magnificent .,The pool is lovely, and the grounds are beautifully kept. We met several people working at the motel and they were all so friendly and helpful. There is a wonderful restaurant walking distance from the motel and the Bass River Golf Course is 10 minutes away.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Stayed here Sept 23-25. 2012 and we loved it!! Our room was bigger than expected, with a kitchen, dining area, and nice big bathroom with the added luxury of nice thick bath towels and topped off with a great shower head too!! The place is not fancy by any means but it is clean, tidy and you can't beat the location, right on the beach and close to everything in town!!! I loved the lounge chairs they have there and it's topped off with a picture perfect view of the ocean and you're right on the beach too. I will definitely come back and stay here again. Thanks to the staff for making our stay very memorable. We had fun!!

Room Tip: This is a two story facility with NO elevators. So if you have trouble climbing stairs, request a f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Just a great place at a reasonable price - ocean view is great, rooms are clean, staff is very helpful. I would get an efficiency so you can bring your own goodies and stock up on some local stuff as well.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus,OH
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

This motel is right on the ocean...seems to be family run..about 50 rooms or so. I had an oceanfront efficency (room 3). Had private balcony with kitchen and two bedrooms with 2 bathrooms. Housekeeping statf great...very clean.
I really dont want to go home....hope to be back next year...

Room Tip: Recommend oceanfron efficency---room 1,2,3 or 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Surfcomber on the Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfcomber on the Ocean

Address: 107 South Shore Drive, Bass River, South Yarmouth, MA 02664
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > South Yarmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in South Yarmouth
#1 On the Beach Hotel in South Yarmouth
#2 Romantic Hotel in South Yarmouth
#3 Family Hotel in South Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Surfcomber on the Ocean is a small, peaceful oceanfront hotel with a private beach on warm Nantucket Sound. Run by the same family for over 55 years, the Surfcomber has 33 rooms, many with fully equipped kitchens, an outdoor heated swimming pool, a shuffleboard court and many comfy chaise lounges. The Surfcomber offers its guests free WiFi and free parking and is centrally located close to many good restaurants and shops. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Surfcomber On The Ocean Hotel South Yarmouth
Surfcomber On The Ocean Cape Cod/South Yarmouth, MA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surfcomber on the Ocean, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.