We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and great beds” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pine Knot Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in South Yarmouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pine Knot Motel
890 Route 28, South Yarmouth, MA 02664   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 21 hotels in South Yarmouth
Lancaster, MA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Cheap and great beds”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Not a 5 star hotel but it was quiet, had great beds and was under 70$ for 2. Needed a quick place to stay for reasonable rates. The place is old and small but we slept great. The pool is under repair but we used the beach anyway. Might be different during the season but we loved it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    4
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
8
9
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wmass
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

The Pine Knot Motel is a quaint motel in a great location. The staff is attentive. While the decor is older we have always found the rooms to be spotless. We feel it is a great value for your dollar. We have been staying here since 2008 and have never had a problem. The owner obviously puts a lot of time and effort into the up keep of the motel. The landscaping is gorgeous throughout the season.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, New York, United States
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

One night in this place was enough! We requested our $ back for the next 2 nights & stayed elsewhere. The room was musty, outdated, no alarm clock, windows were open when we got there & had trouble locking one & one didn't lock at all, small window air cond. didn't work well & took quite a while just to cool off the room, tub filled w/water as we were taking a shower, the towels were very thin & only a couple there, the linoleum on the floor was warped by the door, we had to close the bathroom door at night just to keep the air cool in the room, etc. My husband & I were SO happy to leave that place after only 1 night! I would NOT recommend this place to anyone!

Room Tip: Do NOT stay here! The owner spends way too much time & money on her flowers & not one dime o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremerton, Washington
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We spent one night at the Pine Knot as we extended our stay on the Cape and the motel we had been staying was sold out for the weekend. The beautiful flowers and landscaping drew us to the Pine Knot. Unfortunately, the interior did not compare to the exterior. Mildew smell permeated the interior of the room despite all windows being open upon our arrival. Outdated curtains, bedding and artificial flowers add to the throwback feel. The bathroom was clean but I couldn't get past the smell of this place. Very dark.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

Plenty of Flowers outside to brighten up the place. Room were very clean. $29 pp.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrimack Valley MA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

We needed a place to stay for one night and this fit into our budget and the location was convenient. Very pleasant owner, clean room. Had a tv, refrigerator and air-conditioning. Sure the knotty pine was a throwback but that is the name of the place so we expected it. Paid $84 which was a good value for the room. Easy distance to a great spot - The Skipper - for lunch, dinner or cocktails.
Beautiful flowers - I always figure someone who pays attention to flowers will keep a clean room...

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2010

We chose this motel for a 3-night mid-cape mini vaca, after reading other positive reviews. The hotel is a throwback - pine-panelled walls, ancient furnishings and well-past-their-lifetime mattresses, flooring, and fixtures. When we arrived our room had all windows and doors standing open, evidently to help disperse the overwhelming mildew smell. Issues: bathmat covered with mold, mattress springs completely shot, spiderwebs in many corners, coverlets grungy. Although rooms with 2 doubles are advertised at $84, we were told they only hold 3 people, and since we had 2 kids, we HAD to take an odd unit with a miniscule room holding a double bed and a 2nd room with 2 twins for $124. Yes, the grounds are gorgeous - obviously the owner spends all her time on gardening - and the cleaning staff is pleasant and doing the best they can with what they've got. It became a family joke to rename the hotel from the Pine Knot to the Clean-Not, Sleep-Not, Comfortable-Not, UnSmelly-Not. We'll be back - NOT!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pine Knot Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Knot Motel

Also Known As:
Pine Knot Hotel
Pine Knot Hotel South Yarmouth
Pine Knot Motel Cape Cod/South Yarmouth, MA
Address: 890 Route 28, South Yarmouth, MA 02664
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > South Yarmouth
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in South Yarmouth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pine Knot Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Pine Knot Motel to your Saves list