We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   97 S. Shore Dr., South Yarmouth, MA 02664   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in South Yarmouth
Springfield, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Made reservations online for a loft suite but in face only received a poolside room. Said there was a discrepancy with the online reservation service and the best they could do would be to put a "couch" in the room. Instead I ended up getting another room for three of the four nights since there were four adults and two children. On the last night, the "couch" turned out to be a rollaway bed! Real cozy. Be sure to double check your reservation because when I was checking in the people in front of me also did not get the ocean view loft they reserved.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    54
    28
    27
    25
See reviews for
94
50
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
vermont
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

I have been staying in Yarmouth for years but loved the accommodation at the Ocean Mist! We had an oceanfront room with plush bedding and a gorgeous room. The new outdoor pool, hot tub, and fire pit were great additions. We did not want to leave. Our stay was quiet and restful, a perfect weekend getaway. It was far enough from the bustle of traffic but close enough to choose from several restaurants within minutes of the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Splurged on this hotel because of "ocean view" from the terraces of loft room. We relied on photos, discussions with staff. We were charged for the ocean view but our room had a great view of the parking lot and all the neighbors terraces. I complained the first day and the operations manager took a full day to respond and then only after two emails. She took 100 dollars off our total 1000 plus bill for three nights. We did not ask for a reduction. Pool inside is awful, pool outside is small with no staff around. Often there are no chairs available on beach and the public park next to hotel has better beach. Bathroom very small and had carpenter ants. TV stopped working and was fixed within a couple hours

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Attleboro, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We had a wonderful time staying at The Ocean Mist. We certainly would do it again. The room was just like the pictures, and very clean. I can't say enough about the staff. They were great! I was very impressed with the view out my window, the location to all attractions, and the friendliness of the staff. I hope to visit you again soon.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

My wife and I walked in our room not knowing what to expect, we have had our share of bad experience with other hotels that do not live up to the pictures shown on their website. Upon entering our room we were pleasantly surprised to see that our room was very nice and clean. There was a kitchenette with a microwave, small refrigerator, sink and a stove top. It also had a sitting area with a 42 inch TV. There was a balcony area facing the Atlantic Ocean. For our surprise there was also a stairwell leading to a loft with another sitting area, 42 inch TV, a pull out couch and a second balcony area with views of the Atlantic Ocean. My wife and I would recommend this hotel to all of our friends and family members.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We stayed 3 nights for our anniversary and can't wait to go back. It's a perfect place to stay for all ages. The suite was beautiful very comfortable with eating area, 2 decks, kitchen, ocean view, great WiFi. Staff was very friendly and promptly responded to help us with TV. I highly recommend staying here you will be pleasantly pleased. Great for families or seniors, right on the ocean. Everyone in area businesses made you feel right at home. This was our first visit, looking forward to the next.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson River Valley, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Rooms look newly renovated. Looks like they just recently added a new outdoor pool with a hot tub (heated outdoor pool). Beach is cleaned everyday by the hotel staff. Lots of chairs to lay out on. This is a family resort so caution to those who want a quite vacation. As it gets closer to the weekend you'll notice more families with kids arriving. We stayed Tue-Sat so we left at a perfect time. I would definitely come back again next year. They gave us a great price on our stay plus even being on ground level we were lucky to be in a room about 10ft away from the beach. You open the door turn slightly to the left and there ocean view. We had a nice experience during our entire stay. This would be our 2nd year visiting the Cape.

Room Tip: All the ground rooms near the pool area have a nice ocean view right when you walk out. I would sit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites

Address: 97 S. Shore Dr., South Yarmouth, MA 02664
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > South Yarmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in South Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites in the heart of Cape Cod is located directly on Nantucket Sound with 300 feet of private sandy beach and breathtaking ocean views. Convenient to area restaurants, outlet shopping, specialty stores, historical sites, legendary antique shops, art galleries, and numerous outdoor activities such as golfing, deep sea fishing and biking, this oceanfront resort offers everything you will need for the perfect Cape Cod getaway vacation. The Ocean Mist Beach Hotel and Suites has reopened following a multi-million dollar renovation. All areas of the hotel will be completely renovated and updated to incorporate luxurious furnishings and amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Mist South Yarmouth
Ocean Mist Hotel South Yarmouth
Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites Cape Cod/South Yarmouth, MA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.