We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Buyer Beware” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Silverleaf Oak N' Spruce Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in South Lee
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Silverleaf Oak N' Spruce Resort
Save
You added Silverleaf Oak N' Spruce Resort to your Saves list
190 Meadow St, South Lee, MA 01260   |  
Hotel amenities
boston
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Buyer Beware”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2007

Buyer beware. Oak and Spruce will paint a wonderful picture to get you to buy a timeshare here. I know other buyers who have encountered the same problems as my family. What is promised is never seen. The units you are shown are not what you get. All those promised free weekends are a fantasy. The people you deal with are amongst the rudest people we have ever had to deal with. The units are below standard for cleanliness. Come on popcorn in the couch and under the furniture. The furniture is old and smells. Curtain hooks missing so they hang off. Stay away and save your hard earned money for something better.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed November 2005, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    108
    59
    33
    49
See reviews for
121
74
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Paramus
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2007

We arrived not too hopeful based on some reviews we had read here, but it was very nice. There are lots and lots of units, but it really never felt too crowded. The outdoor pool was very nice, but I couldn't figure out the indoor pool deal. There were two indoor pools, one stayed open and the other was always closed. We were told that it only opened on the weekends but it was always roped off. Also - when you swim in the inside pool the staff hovers over you like crazy, I am not really sure why, it is pretty uncomfortable. Also the indoor pool has a super loud motor sound running all the time, I couldn't figure out what it was.

The area is nice, the state forests are beautiful, the one right next door to the resort is a nice drive and a nice lake beach.

My only real serious criticism is that when I inquired about recycling, they said, " We don't recycle here, just throw it out". Very disturbing for such a "natural" place.

Stayed July 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conn
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2007

the first morning of our vacation in the berkshires was to be rudely awakened at 8am by the sound of heavy machinery...a few feet away..on a saturday...we did get to sleep in on sunday...however.. monday construction started at 6am.!!!!!!!!!!!!!! sitting on the deck ..we could not converse over the loud noise of the tracter all day...so we went sight seeing and came back after workmen left to take a nap...to a dog below us that barked for an hour ...the young lady at the frontdesk said "there is nothing she can do...quiet time is at 10 pm"...no kidding!! .....we tried the bar..the music (dj) was soooo loud!!! we couldn't stay..apparently no one else could either..maybe 5 people in there....also there is no restaurant on premises...so ..you have to drive...unless you want to cook....getting back to construction...they were back on tuesday...7:30am..2 payloaders this time...what fun!! did more shopping and left on wednesday morning a few days early..this is the worst timeshare we have ever been in...the customer service gets a big fat F....so much for a nice quiet get away...i will send phots and review to interval inter. also.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — customer service/noise
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these South Lee hotels

Brunswick, Maine
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2007

There was snow when we went. Beautiful!!! Not hard to find and close to lots of stuff to do. The resort itself has a lot more to do onsite in the warmer months. But there are indoor pools! We went with some family so we saw two different types of rooms. The presidental suite is very new and up to date. Two bedroom and two bath, full kitchen and living space. The regular suites are very rustic! Rustic furniture. Still two bedroom and two bath, but smaller. As full kitchan and living spaces. I was wowed went we walked in. The kids had a great time in the arcade. We would go back again. The Keefers, Brunswick, Maine.

  • Liked — Great atmosphere!
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2007

I own a timeshare here, and enjoy my stay every year - because I love the Berkshires, and the convenience of being 15 minutes from Tanglewood. The pool and fitness center are A-Okay, and the resort is right next to a state park for hiking, and only a few miles from a lake beach.

The cleaning isn't great; the rooms are fairly old, and the walls are thin. Our unit's balcony looks out on a drainage ditch with great birding, but many units just have a view of another unit.

On the other hand, space in the Berkshires during the summer is hard to come by, and very expensive. So I keep going every year and on the whole enjoy myself.

  • Liked — The pool.
  • Disliked — Teh room
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2007

I just returned home from a stay at the Oak N' Spruce Resort, in western MA. After reading some bad reviews, I went in very skeptical; however, my stay was very pleasant!!
I was able to check in early and was welcomed with open arms by the front desk personnel. The unit was a one bedroom condo. It was clean and neat, the only problem was that it was slightly drafty. Of course the week I decide to spend there, the weather turns cold...but I just turned up the heat and enjoyed myself.
I have a two year old, so the stairs in the condo were a bit of a problem. I had to move a chair to block the stairs because they don't provide any security gates. The pool was great...warm and clean. They have a cute miniature golf course and playground.
It was really a great stay. If you want to enjoy the outdoors and beautiful views it's the right place for you. If you need alot of things to do and places to go, I would suggest a different resort, as the only thing to really do outside the resort is shop. There are prime outlets that I got some really great buys at, and small local shops in the village of Lee. It is a beautiful area!!

  • Liked — The service and location
  • Disliked — The next door neighbors left their dogs everyday, and they barked and whined alot
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2007

We stayed as an RCI week exchange in October 2006. We had a 2BR/2 bath unit. The unit was totally new and spotless. New carpeting and everything. Kitchen fully stocked. Nice clean appliances. Kind of weird having a hot tub in the bedroom. A little Poconoish. Desk staff was generally unpleasant and rather dismissive. The sales staff was walking around with perspective buyers and NEVER greeted us any time they passed. It would give buyers a better impression if they felt it was a friendly place. The indoor pool was great. Nice and warm. Building the pool was in could use some upgrading, paint, skylights, but was clean and uncrowded when we stayed. The only problem is you have to drive to the pool. Also, no hair dryer in locker room. Litlle things would make this nice place really great. Be sure to take a road trip up to the Butterfly Conservatory and the Yankee Candle facility. You have to see it for yourself. Yankee Candle place was FABULOUS!!

  • Liked — Newness and cleanliness of the unit and the indoor pool
  • Disliked — Staff and amenities at the pool
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Silverleaf Oak N' Spruce Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silverleaf Oak N' Spruce Resort

Address: 190 Meadow St, South Lee, MA 01260
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > South Lee
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in South Lee
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vacations in Massachusetts are memorable, especially at Silverleaf's Oak N' Spruce Resort. Come with friends and family and enjoy the array of all-season onsite and offsite amenities the resort has to offer. We're located near South Lee, MA in western Massachusetts! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Oak n` Spruce Hotel South Lee
Oak n Spruce Resort
Oak Spruce Resort
Oak And Spruce Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silverleaf Oak N' Spruce Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.