We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Forget about it!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Oak n' Spruce Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in South Lee
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Oak n' Spruce Resort
Save Saved
You added Oak n' Spruce Resort to your Saves list
190 Meadow Street, PO Box 237, South Lee, MA 01260   |  
Hotel amenities
Halifax, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Forget about it!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

The best thing about this “resort” is its location. It is close to numerous historical, architectural and cultural attractions. It is also in proximity of a wide range of restaurants, whether you are looking for a quick fix or a superior dining experience. And of course in October, the wonderful rolling hills of the Berkshires with their bright display of fall colours were an attraction in themselves.
However, this “resort” falls far short of providing its guest with the hospitality experience you would expect from its ratings.
If you are nostalgic for the “cabin” experience of wood-stick furniture, rustic cleanliness and your Uncle Bob’s “gone fishing” 1970 basement décor, then this place is for you! We were treated to a basement entrance unit, stuck behind the parking retaining wall. Within an hour of settling down we had to call maintenance to fix two stove elements which were not functional… the unit was equipped with 1980 bulky TV sets and their connection was so bad that most channels were hard to view for the electronic snow across the screen… The units do not have washers and dryers and we had to cart our clothes to the resort Laundromat where half the equipment was out of order and where the working washers and dryers swallowed a few dollars worth of quarter (change can only be made at a machine in the reception area).
Upon our arrival, we soon found out that Wi-Fi was NOT available from any of the units (nor was it available from the Laundromat). In order to plan our day and do some basic research online, we had to take a walk to the Reception building in order to connect to the net. That, too was another “cabin experience”, with 1960 water-stained ceiling tiles and a gaggle of 20 something ill kept resort staff carrying on over the guests’ heads, a blaring TV set over in the corner, a lineup of customer waiting for their fast food fix, a procession of unit sales staff leading googly eyed young prospective buyers…. obviously, if you are an adept of Skype or such system to keep in “voice and picture” contact with your family and friends, forget about conversation privacy.
Altogether, we found the experience somewhat disappointing… but don’t take me wrong we sometimes enjoy the rustic camp/cabin atmosphere, however this time this was not what we had I mind. And we trusted the RCI rating. We were looking for a true resort where guests are treated like guests, where the staff shows some individual care and does not call you “bud” and where management of the place does not show crass “nickel and diming” thoughtless efficiency for the purpose of making a profit… either this resort is trying to keep afloat and is attempting to rearrange the deck-chairs on the Titanic to avoid sinking or it is plainly reducing its sense of hospitality to make a buck! Either way, their unit sales staff needs to learn to talk faster and make some quick sales to keep the company afloat.
Some say that you can judge an airline by the level of cleanliness of the on board food trays, simply because such a detail is a reflects on engine maintenance… you could also say that you can judge the good sense of hospitality of a resort by the quality of its toilet paper or the attention you get from a well trained staff. If that is truly the case, this “resort” is failing on these two accounts… and on many other small details which by themselves do not seem to matter much but which in this instance painted a pretty shabby picture.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    98
    54
    31
    49
See reviews for
113
70
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Berwick, Maine
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We had a week of timeshare but ended up only staying 2 nights because of other commitments. The unit - #278 was clean and spacious and when the hot water heater quit - they were quick to respond. It is kind of strange that you have to go down a flight of stairs only to climb back up 2 flights of stairs to get to the unit. The grounds are kept nice and the check-in staff was friendly. My only complaint was the smell in the activity building. They need to either change out the carpets or get a better air freshening system. We played mini-golf and that was fun. We did not use the pool but there were people in there having a good time. There is plenty to do in the area and the Normal Rockwell Museum should not be missed. I can't say I would go back to this particular resort but I am glad that we stayed there.

Room Tip: Try to stay in a room closer to the activities building if you have kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
providence
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

My husband and I traded our time share to stay at the Oak and Spruce Resort in Lee, Ma in the Beautiful Berkshires. Do not go to this resort. I had read the reviews, but thought it can't be that bad. Well, the reviews are absolutely right! We stayed in a 2 bedroom #228. The condo was dark, dank, dirty, and smelled of mold. We both suffered congestion and headaches .We opened all the windows and bought a candle to see if that would help. It did not. I spoke with the resort front desk and they said there was nothing they could do to help with the mold. She did say she knew there were problems. She said it was a large resort and they did the best they could. They could not move us. The place needs serious updating. The kitchen and bathroom cabinets were broken. The heat comes from the floor registers and must be bringing the mold up from the wet basement.The noise from the heat near the master bedroom is is so loud you can't sleep in the master bed room. You have to keep the lights on during the day to see inside the condo. It was just awful. Don't waste your timeshare money here. We loved the Berkshires and we spent as much time as we could touring, hiking, and sight seeing. Sadly, We left early after just two nights and won't be back to the Oak and Spruce Resort. Too bad this is in a great location, but not a pleasant vacation experience here.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lithonia, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

This trip was a "girls getaway" and my guests had not stayed in a time share before, so I was excited to show them how wonderful a time share property is. I was thoroughly embarrassed.

I was extremely disappointed with this "Resort". The room was extremely dark and dank, the room had a slight smoky/moldy odor. I looked out my back door/deck and was horrified to find construction equipment! I called the front desk and requested another room, I was put on hold for at least 5 minutes only to be told "We have nothing else, the workers are off on Saturday and Sunday."

Well, Saturday morning at 0800, we were accosted with the sounds of construction drilling and banging. I called the front desk again and was told "We have nothing else". I went to the front desk and begged to be comped a dvd player. My guest opened her window to get some much needed air on the second floor, and there was no screen! That was it. We were so disappointed we only stayed Saturday and Sunday and ran out of there on Monday. Needless to say, my "girls getaway" was not up to par.

The area is beautiful, with lots of things to do, we would have loved to have stayed, but all of our homes were much more inviting and beautiful than this "resort". We finished our getaway elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

If you want a central location in the Bershires, look no further! The Oak and Spruce is your place. We loved being 15-20 minutes away from everything. The only downside for us was the master suite in the two bedroom. The bathroom is open to the rest of the room and the toilet is in a rather claustrophobic closet. Have seen this as a trend lately and don't like it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Haven, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed in the 2 bedroom unit lower level. Several dead flies in the windowsills. Toilet seat was dirty. Stairways to the unit have dirt sweep into corners. Dust in the corners of carpeting. Dust heavy on the blinds and walls and ceilings have dust. No dead bolt. If you don't mind dirt, the location in the Berkshires is wonderful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Oak n Spruce is billed an amenity-filled resort in an area with lots of family-friendly attractions nearby. Ergo, a great place to bring your kids. The unit was decent - until we noticed that by the 2nd day our kids were starting to develop lots of bug bites, and by the 3rd day there were clusters of bug bites all over their bodies. This was followed by vomiting, high fever (103.8 in a 4-year-old), and a trip to the emergency room, where the ER doctor told me it was likely not bedbugs but fleas that had caused the bites (in a resort that allows dogs). The doctor also said he had treated visitors to Oak n Spruce before for the same issue - but resort has completely denied there is a problem. We were allowed to switch rooms and grudgingly given $20 in quarters to wash all of our laundry ourselves in the coin-op laundromat, so as not to transfer bugs to our new unit. That was fun, especially with vomiting children to handle. Post-vacation, I sent the resort a letter with photos of the kids' bites and was told they would open an insurance claim, which led to the insurance company denying the claim on the grounds that no bugs were found in the unit. I don't buy that- the housekeeping manager told us that fleas have been a problem, and when we left the resort we saw a pest control van visiting several units. I have never experienced insect issues with a hotel and was disgusted- not to mention surprised at the lack of customer care demonstrated by the resort and parent company. Those of you who have young children know how hard it is to pack up the whole family for a week's vacation, and how much the family looks forward to those rare events. It's too bad that ours ended so badly. I truly hope others don't experience the same trouble we did.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oak n' Spruce Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak n' Spruce Resort

Address: 190 Meadow Street, PO Box 237, South Lee, MA 01260
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > South Lee
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in South Lee
Number of rooms: 300
Also Known As:
Oak n` Spruce Hotel South Lee
Oak n Spruce Resort
Oak Spruce Resort
Oak And Spruce Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oak n' Spruce Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.