We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware the reviews are right moldy dark depressing” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Oak n' Spruce Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in South Lee
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Oak n' Spruce Resort
190 Meadow Street, PO Box 237, South Lee, MA 01260   |  
Hotel amenities
providence
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Beware the reviews are right moldy dark depressing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

My husband and I traded our time share to stay at the Oak and Spruce Resort in Lee, Ma in the Beautiful Berkshires. Do not go to this resort. I had read the reviews, but thought it can't be that bad. Well, the reviews are absolutely right! We stayed in a 2 bedroom #228. The condo was dark, dank, dirty, and smelled of mold. We both suffered congestion and headaches .We opened all the windows and bought a candle to see if that would help. It did not. I spoke with the resort front desk and they said there was nothing they could do to help with the mold. She did say she knew there were problems. She said it was a large resort and they did the best they could. They could not move us. The place needs serious updating. The kitchen and bathroom cabinets were broken. The heat comes from the floor registers and must be bringing the mold up from the wet basement.The noise from the heat near the master bedroom is is so loud you can't sleep in the master bed room. You have to keep the lights on during the day to see inside the condo. It was just awful. Don't waste your timeshare money here. We loved the Berkshires and we spent as much time as we could touring, hiking, and sight seeing. Sadly, We left early after just two nights and won't be back to the Oak and Spruce Resort. Too bad this is in a great location, but not a pleasant vacation experience here.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    93
    51
    28
    47
See reviews for
107
64
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lithonia, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

This trip was a "girls getaway" and my guests had not stayed in a time share before, so I was excited to show them how wonderful a time share property is. I was thoroughly embarrassed.

I was extremely disappointed with this "Resort". The room was extremely dark and dank, the room had a slight smoky/moldy odor. I looked out my back door/deck and was horrified to find construction equipment! I called the front desk and requested another room, I was put on hold for at least 5 minutes only to be told "We have nothing else, the workers are off on Saturday and Sunday."

Well, Saturday morning at 0800, we were accosted with the sounds of construction drilling and banging. I called the front desk again and was told "We have nothing else". I went to the front desk and begged to be comped a dvd player. My guest opened her window to get some much needed air on the second floor, and there was no screen! That was it. We were so disappointed we only stayed Saturday and Sunday and ran out of there on Monday. Needless to say, my "girls getaway" was not up to par.

The area is beautiful, with lots of things to do, we would have loved to have stayed, but all of our homes were much more inviting and beautiful than this "resort". We finished our getaway elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

If you want a central location in the Bershires, look no further! The Oak and Spruce is your place. We loved being 15-20 minutes away from everything. The only downside for us was the master suite in the two bedroom. The bathroom is open to the rest of the room and the toilet is in a rather claustrophobic closet. Have seen this as a trend lately and don't like it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Haven, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed in the 2 bedroom unit lower level. Several dead flies in the windowsills. Toilet seat was dirty. Stairways to the unit have dirt sweep into corners. Dust in the corners of carpeting. Dust heavy on the blinds and walls and ceilings have dust. No dead bolt. If you don't mind dirt, the location in the Berkshires is wonderful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Oak n Spruce is billed an amenity-filled resort in an area with lots of family-friendly attractions nearby. Ergo, a great place to bring your kids. The unit was decent - until we noticed that by the 2nd day our kids were starting to develop lots of bug bites, and by the 3rd day there were clusters of bug bites all over their bodies. This was followed by vomiting, high fever (103.8 in a 4-year-old), and a trip to the emergency room, where the ER doctor told me it was likely not bedbugs but fleas that had caused the bites (in a resort that allows dogs). The doctor also said he had treated visitors to Oak n Spruce before for the same issue - but resort has completely denied there is a problem. We were allowed to switch rooms and grudgingly given $20 in quarters to wash all of our laundry ourselves in the coin-op laundromat, so as not to transfer bugs to our new unit. That was fun, especially with vomiting children to handle. Post-vacation, I sent the resort a letter with photos of the kids' bites and was told they would open an insurance claim, which led to the insurance company denying the claim on the grounds that no bugs were found in the unit. I don't buy that- the housekeeping manager told us that fleas have been a problem, and when we left the resort we saw a pest control van visiting several units. I have never experienced insect issues with a hotel and was disgusted- not to mention surprised at the lack of customer care demonstrated by the resort and parent company. Those of you who have young children know how hard it is to pack up the whole family for a week's vacation, and how much the family looks forward to those rare events. It's too bad that ours ended so badly. I truly hope others don't experience the same trouble we did.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamilton Ontario
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We rented a 2 bedroom unit for a week. We don't own a timeshare but can often find good deals online. This one was under $400 for the week, great price for a 2 bedroom with full kitchen. Each bedroom had it's own bathroom, the master had a jacuzzi tub and a king bed. The top floor (no elevators) was quiet and there was a view of the brook from our 3rd floor balcony.

Staff were friendly and quick to respond to inquiries and send someone out to help when needed. They also called back to make sure the issues I had were solved.

The units are older but they're clean. There are the inevitable signs of wear and tear like broken blinds and scratched laminate kitchen counters, nothing too bad really. The 3 TV's in the unit are old school and need replacing, but they work. ** word of warning. don't take the batteries out of the TV remotes or they'll need resetting ** WiFi is only available in the main building. Laundry is not in each unit, but a laundromat located near the pools.

There's lots for kids to do too, mini putt, pools, an arcade, a small theater, and more.. even a walk along the brook that runs out back.

I didn't post pictures because the ones posted here really did look exactly like the apt we had. Especially the following pics
**second bedroom (sister1221, Jul 2008)
** and those posted by Andyac, Sep 2006
Master Bedroom, Kitchen and Living Area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We used a free timeshare week and traded into the Oak N' Spruce because it is near to our home and while we wanted to get away, the possibility that we might have to come home quickly existed. We were delayed in getting there, but I called ahead and they okay-ed our late check-in. When we got there (after 11 pm) we got the keys to our assigned unit and checked it out. It was smelly (maybe mold?), and not clean - the rugs needed vacuuming, there was dirt on the floors - the rugs were very run down so that you could see the traffic pattern in them. I went back to the desk and requested another unit in a different building. The desk clerk complied very quickly and with a smile. The second unit was definitely cleaner and it didn't smell, but some dirt was present. It was late and we were tired so we stayed in that unit. All-in-all, it was run down and in need of serious updating but okay. The master bedroom had a jacuzzi tub on the edge of the room that had a hand held shower head that wasn't able to be mounted as a stationary shower. The toilet was enclosed in a very small closet and there was barely room to sit and wipe. The other bedroom had a queen size bed and a regular shower/bathroom. It also had a frig and a microwave as it was a lock-off unit. The kitchen in the main unit was okay, although there was alot of yucky debris under the kitchen sink. The fan in the livingroom was turned on by a pull string and it was hard to pull - the whole fan moved when pulling the string. The television in the unit was old, but it functioned. It had a dvd player but it had been screwed shut.

The resort had some nice family amenities - pool, shuffleboard, arcade, miniature golf and we enjoyed those. It was in a nice area with some attractions nearby. However, out of all the resorts we've visited with our timeshare exchange, this was the most run down.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Oak n' Spruce Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak n' Spruce Resort

Address: 190 Meadow Street, PO Box 237, South Lee, MA 01260
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > South Lee
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty lodging in South Lee
Also Known As:
Oak n` Spruce Hotel South Lee
Oak n Spruce Resort
Oak Spruce Resort
Oak And Spruce Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oak n' Spruce Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Oak n' Spruce Resort to your Saves list