We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful house, attentive innkeepers, delicious food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Federal House Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Federal House Inn to your Saves list
Federal House Inn
3.5 of 5 Inn   |   1560 Pleasant St., South Lee, MA 01260   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 South Lee B&B and Inns
Boston, MA
1 review
“Beautiful house, attentive innkeepers, delicious food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2009

The service was excellent, from the moment we called to make a reservation until the moment we rolled out of the white gravel driveway to return home. The house is as beautiful as in the pictures, the rooms are furnished tastefully and are clean. Breakfast was excellent -- there was a set menu, prominently featuring creative and very pretty fruit dishes to start. The house is located right on Rt 102, which puts you in close reach of I-90 and only about twenty minutes' drive from Tanglewood -- yet our room was very quiet.

Besides the attractive and well-kept house and convenient location, the best feature of the Federal House Inn are the owners, Brian and Kolleen. They were very helpful, suggesting places to eat (including the wise advice to make a reservation well in advance) and hike (for example in Beartown State Forest, which begins just across the street). Their thoughtful and attentive approach to innkeeping came out in the small details, like offering a chocolate and brandy nightcap in the comfortable living room at the end of the evening, or providing a fridge for guest use, stocked with bottled water for guests to take with them. Best of all, they proved flexible and responsive when we wanted things differently than expected. In summary, a highly recommendable place!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    9
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
14
81
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Granby, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2009

The Federal House Inn is one of the best-kept secrets of the Berkshires. The inn itself is quietly elegant, with charming, comfortable rooms, a parklike setting, and a great location one mile from Stockbridge center. Innkeepers Brian and Colleen are warm and wonderful, full of information about the inn, the area, and Berkshire attractions, and eager to make your stay a memorable one. Delicious breakfasts, afternoon cocktails, evening brandy, anytime cookies -- all wonderful treats in a memorable setting. We had so much fun this summer that we're planning on going back in December to see the holiday/winter side of the Berkshires and the Federal House Inn!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northport, NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2009

My husband and adult daughter and I spent 3 nights at this lovely B&B. Our room was beautifully decorated with plenty of space for all three of us. We even had our own sitting room and a second bathroom. In addition to being ideally situated between Tanglewood and Jacob's Pillow, the inn is even more special because of the cordiality of the new owners, Brian and Kolleen. They went out of their way to help us find an make reservations at restaurants and local sites, provided us with many extra goodies like home-baked cookies, wine and hors d'oeuvres, and served delicious breakfasts daily. Our daughter is a vegetarian, and they made sure to have vegetarian and vegan alternatives available at breakfast. We will definitely stay there whenever we return to the Berkshires.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greenwich
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2009

Perfectly located in the beautiful Berkshire Mts, close to Tanglewood,
restaurants and many other interesting attractions. Our innkeepers are new to bed and breakfasts and bent over backwards to make sure everything was to our liking. Just one suggestion, could we have a bit more pressure
in the shower?

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2009

Girls weekend away! Couldn't ask for a more perfect set up than the third floor "suite". We had plenty of room to move about and get ready in this lovely appointed room. HOWEVER, the house itself was so lovely and inviting that we barely spent any time in our room!

Value was great for room, "reception" with lovely apps and beverages included, full access to abundant dishes of Lindt Chocolates, home made cookies, water, coffee - and probably anything else we asked for! The breakfast was scrumptious. When calculating how much you save for a really first rate breakfast, cocktails etc. it seemed a great value.

Inn Keepers are new at this venture and will have a wildly successful time of it if this stay was any indication. They are always at the ready and happy to sit and chat, keep things filled and help out in any way they can. Enjoy!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanibel Island, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2009

We recently stayed at the Federal House Inn for a 2 nights. The Inn is charming, spacious, and in a very convenient and central location for touring the Berkshires. Brian and Kolleen are the perfect innkeepers, with a great knowledge of the area and attractions. Their restaurant recommendations are wonderful. Kolleen's breakfasts are to die for! There are homemade cookies on hand all day, as well as a guest fridge and beverages. Brian gets the delicious coffee (roasted near the inn) ready to serve early in the morning for guests to enjoy before breakfast and then graciously refills your cup during the candlelit meal. The cocktail hour is timed just right for getting back from sightseeing. Kolleen creates light and delicious munchies, just enough to stave off hunger before dinner. The rooms are spacious and full of amenities. We stayed in the Beartown Mountain room, but the other rooms that we peeked at are equally beautiful. We were so tempted to stay one more night because of their gracious hospitality, but had to leave because of travel plans. We look forward to returning to this beautiful area and fabulous hosts.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest, IL
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2009

My wife and I visited the Federal House Inn 18 years ago. While our first visit was memorable and enjoyable - - this visit was everything you could ask for. Kolleen and Brian were absolutely the best. The home is beautiful and well appointed in a quiet stretch of the Berkshires. We had an outstanding wine and hors d'oeuvres hour in the evening and a world class candlelight breakfast. We had great conversations with the innkeepers learning much about the area and their background. They were most accommodating in serving us a very early morning breakfast before our departure. We will be returning soon.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Federal House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Federal House Inn

Address: 1560 Pleasant St., South Lee, MA 01260
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > South Lee
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in South Lee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Federal House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Federal House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Federal House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.