We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So pleasant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Federal House Inn

Save Saved
You added Federal House Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Federal House Inn
3.5 of 5 Inn   |   1560 Pleasant St., South Lee, MA 01260   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 South Lee B&B and Inns
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“So pleasant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

The facility was nice, the food was good and the staff was extremely kind.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    98
    9
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
14
76
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Peekskill
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

One of the best B&B experiences I've had. Very clean rooms, great breakfasts, close to everything and two of the friendliest hosts you could have. The home is very old but very well kept. You can actually feel the "history" of it once inside.

Come back in the evening and have a little wine and cheese at 5pm while sitting out on the front porch, or just relax with a cup of coffee available throughout the day. A very relaxing and enjoyable experience.

Definitely a place I would return to. A great getaway and only 2 hours drive from the NYC area.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Norman Rockwell room upstairs and down the hall. Very spacious and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Haven, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012 via mobile

We are a family that has traveled all over the world and US and never expected to look back on our time in the Berkshires at the Federal House Inn as our favorite weekend in years. 19 of us took over the inn for two nights of memorable candle lit breakfasts, hikes in the area, wine and savories in the afternoon, tag in the yard, and sparklers on the lawn in the evening. We are definitely going back soon!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

19 of us gathered to celebrate my mother's 75th birthday. It was an incredible weekend. The Inn is just beautiful- comfortable, welcoming with wonderful breakfasts and lovely hosts. We could not have found a more perfect place for 4 families, children and one grandmother to gather. Kolleen and Brian are the perfect hosts!

Room Tip: We took over every room; all were comfortable and nicely decorated. We stayed in the Crabtree Suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

We just celebrated our mother's 75th birthday at The Federal House Inn and had a phenomenal time. Every detail was perfect, from the wine receptions each afternoon, to the fireplaces in every room, to the delicious breakfasts and to the incredibly accommodating and gracious hosts. We sat in Adirondack chairs overlooking an expansive lawn on which our children played tag and wiffleball. We walked right across the street to a beautiful waterfall. We had our own refrigerator and access to coffee and tea all day. We drove less than 5 minutes to quaint shopping and serene hikes. The beds were comfortable and the rooms were spacious. We are already planning our next family reunion there. We highly recommend this inn.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

We stayed three nights while touring Bard College at Simon's Rock for our daughter. It was just right. Relaxed, engaging hosts, superb breakfasts. We chose the top floor suite and it was just as expected. Good showers, clean crisp bedding and nice for a bit more family privacy.

The home is kept very clean but retains that lived-in, relaxed feel that a B&B should have. I especially liked the coffe and NYT just after first light in the living room; the nice glass of wine at 5pm and the brandy later each evening, set out and available but not forced forward.

We found our hosts fascinating people, with a nice blend of conversation and service. An excellent choice.

Room Tip: The top floor suite has two wonderful double beds for a family and two baths but the added 20 narrow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

We just returned from a two night stay at the Federal House Inn in Lee, Mass. All was perfect: the accommodation, the food, the innkeepers and the surroundings.
The Federal House Inn, built in 1824, has nine rooms, all with private bath. We stayed in the Beartown Mountain Room, and enjoyed a most comfortable bed with crisp bedding, an electric fireplace, TV, radio, and lots of space! A private hallway led to our full bath, with lovely towels and soap.
Our breakfasts were delicious and served by candlelight in the beautiful blue and gold dining room.
Innkeepers Kolleen and Brian Weinrich greeted us warmly, made sure that we had all that we needed, and provided tips for local drives, hikes, walks and restaurants.
The nearby town of Stockridge is postcard pretty. We enjoyed walking through the town and stepped into a few if the historic buildings. We took a short hike, drove along winding streets lined with historic Berkshire cottages, visited the site of the Tanglewood summer festival, and had a wonderful tour of the Norman Rockwell Museum.
Coming from Ontario, we appreciated the flowering cherry trees, azaleas and magnolias.
In conclusion, the Federal House Inn is the most lovely B and B experience we have ever had. We will be back.

Room Tip: All rooms are beautifully decorated with a private bath. There is a room with twin beds that can be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Federal House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Federal House Inn

Address: 1560 Pleasant St., South Lee, MA 01260
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > South Lee
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in South Lee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Federal House Inn 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Federal House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Federal House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.