We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent motel- well situated to explore Cape Cod” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Handkerchief Shoals Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Handkerchief Shoals Motel to your Saves list
Handkerchief Shoals Motel
888 Main Street, South Harwich, Harwich, MA 02661   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in South Harwich
Bracknell
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Excellent motel- well situated to explore Cape Cod”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed for three nights at this lovely Motel at the end of our 2 week trip to New England. We particularly wanted to be in the Harwich/Chatham area and Handkerchief Shoals appeared a good choice. This was proven to be correct.

The motel is run by a very friendly couple, who were incredibly helpful with local advice and information and also in finding a shortcut through BAs on-line booking system- which was having a glitch whilst we were wanting to check in for our flight home.

We were given an upgrade into one of their better rooms- which was incredibly comfortable and well-equipped- the chairs outside with overhanging roof provided an excellent place to watch the night fall and the weather close in- as we were there for the storms in mid September there was plenty to watch.

There are plenty of good restaurants and coffee chops in the area and plenty of local attractions, Chatham and its fish pier being one highlight.

A great place to stay- well run and friendly and ideal for touring the central part of Cape Cod.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    63
    6
    5
    1
See reviews for
72
54
10
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Really great value. Well kept and clean! Niece enjoyed the pool and we all liked the location. The owners are on site and they take pride in the upkeep of the property Have to say thanks for the owner mailing on the items we left behind!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Andover, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Rooms are cozy and CLEAN and a continental breakfast is included in the daily rate - coffee is excellent (rooms also have coffee makers if you want to use them). Kids will love the pool. Complimetary wifi connection is very good, I was able to do some work on my vacation without experiencing any annoying connectivity issues. Rooms have small fridges, AC works well. Red River Beach is about three minutes' drive away and both Harwich and Chatham downtowns are within fifteen minites' drive. The value can't be beat - for this price on the Cape in mid-summer I might have expected to be sleeping on a hardwood floor with cold showers and no AC, but instead we ended up with a spotless climate-comtrolled room and exceptionally friendly staff. I hope they made money on us because I want them to be around forever.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Highly recommend this true Cape Cod delight! Very cozy rooms---close to so many wonderful places! Lovely couple owns this place and they give it such a personal touch! Perfect location to Harwich and Chatham. Check out Red River Beach! This adorable place is a gem! Continental breakfast in season!

Room Tip: No spa or fitness center, but you don't need one. Harwich has so many place to walk to get exerc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Spent the night here in August leading up to Labor Day. Perfect stop over. Visiting in Chatham, location great- one hour drive to Provincetown. Make no mistake this is an exceptionally well kept MOTEL. Bed fine, ac fine(little loud), water pressure fine, new paint, bedding, carpeting, air quality very good(not chemical). They had continental breakfast and a small pool that we didn't take advantage of but we will be back. Caretakers very welcoming and warm. A throw back to a simpler time and a 1/3 the cost of the big hotels of the Cape. Nice surprise.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Our stay was great. The hotel is perfectly located with easy access to Chatham, Route 6/28, and an awesome small beach just a 5 min walk away (or 30 second drive). I've been to the Cape many times but never stayed in Harwich. I will always look to stay here now and the Handkerchief Shoals was a perfect spot to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

This was my third year in a row staying at Handkerchief Shoals. Joe and AnneMarie were once again, the best. They made us feel like family. The rooms were exceptionally clean and bright. It was nice to be able to wake up to a continental breakfast at the office. The pool was clean and refreshing too. Can't wait until next year.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Handkerchief Shoals Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Handkerchief Shoals Motel

Address: 888 Main Street, South Harwich, Harwich, MA 02661
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Harwich > South Harwich
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in South Harwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our rooms are nicely appointed offering clean and comfortable accommodations at a great value. The property offers a large outdoor swimming pool and cook out area with picnic benches and grills. Red River Beach is waking distance from the Inn just across the road down Deep Hole Road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and T4B so you can book your Handkerchief Shoals Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Handkerchief Shoals Hotel South Harwich
Handkerchief Shoals Motel South Harwich, MA - Cape Cod

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Handkerchief Shoals Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.