We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Weathervane Tavern

Weathervane Tavern
85 Railroad Ave, South Hamilton, MA 01982-2218
978-468-2600
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
Restaurant details
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012 via mobile

The Filet Mignon had remoulade sauce ON the beef?! Maybe on the side. Never on a beautiful cut of meat. The haddock was chewy and chef seemed to be experimenting with the specials. Sorry to say we will not eat there again. Chef: keep it simple and don't mess with beautiful fish And beef.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    12
    1
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Hamilton, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Best value around!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

You can't beat the value at the Weathervane. Giant cocktails, good eats and the townie scene. Can be packed, but worth the wait. Best bet: soup and sandwich for lunch and be sure to order the onion soup -- simply the best. You won't need dinner.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Delicious Food, Great Drinks & Reasonable Prices!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

This is one of our "go to" places when we want a good meal at a reasonable price. My husband and I always enjoy the food and the drinks never disappoint. The Weathervane Tavern is a small "local" place and can get crowded at dinner so we tend to go a bit earlier in the day. They offer a large variety of daily specials on their blackboard in addition to their great Menu.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011 via mobile

One of our favorite places to eat. Theportions are large and the prices are reasonable

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoneham, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“This small friendly place consistently dishes excellent food and drinks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

I have eaten here since it opened in 1985. The French Onion Soup is from scratch and fantastic. The open faced Ruben on rye is the best you'll ever have and the drinks are twice the size of most other places. Feel like just a salad? Even that will amaze you! Go for lunch because you'll never be able to stand the wait at night unless it's raining and they don't take reservations. Remarkably low cost for such fare.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Weathervane Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Weathervane Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Weathervane Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.