We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere and location, but the food is not fresh” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Yarde House Food and Spirits

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Yarde House Food and Spirits
3 Hadley St., South Hadley, MA 01075
413-315-4339
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 28 Restaurants in South Hadley
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Boothbay Harbor, Maine
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and location, but the food is not fresh”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stopped by this cute tavern for drinks and dinner while in town for the weekend. The outdoor seating was great on a warm summer day and the drinks were delicious. The food on the other hand was not fresh- the chicken and hamburgers were frozen and the vegetables were wilted and mushy. Great for drinks, but pass on the meal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    25
    14
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicopee, MA
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Nice outdoor dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Last night was my second visit to Yarde House. Both were good experiences and I had good servers. The menu seems to have something for everyone. I like that there is a parking lot in the back because sometimes it not easy to find parking. The bar is nice and updated and a decent selection of beers on tap. Decent prices for food and drinks too. I highly recommend the Napa Burger. The Cobb Salad was good but IMO not enough lettuce and way too much cheese (blue and cheddar). My next visit I will try the Veggie Burger.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, Arizona
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“You can watch the world go by while dining outside”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

The outside patio, overlooking South Hadley's lovely common, is the draw for my family. On Saturday's you can often see a wedding party coming out of the church across the street. And the shops across the street, on the other side, are worth the stroll. Especially the privately owned book store that was established eons ago. This was the first time we've eaten here since it's changed hands. Under old management, the food be great one time & not the next. I'd heard the food was mediocre as the Yarde House & that's what we found. The waitstaff is friendly & attentive. Since it's not outrageously priced, we'll be back for the view.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
2 reviews
“Great Pub Food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Went to the Yarde House with my Son after a lacrosse tournament. The service from the hostess and our waitress Danielle was excellent! They were friendly, informative and just made the dinner a nice experience. The menu is typical of good Pub Food with interesting specials (seared tuna and curry coconut mussels etc.). Great local and outside beer on tap selection served nice and cold. Fantastic mac and cheese, shepard's pie and burgers! The donut sundae for desert was the topper. All around good to go after a busy day on the lacrosse fields.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilbraham, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
273 reviews 273 reviews
253 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Had dinner here coming back from someplace”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Great hamburgers here. Don't remember what my partner had, but she said to but Yarde House on our list of favorites.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yarde House Food and Spirits also viewed

South Hadley, Hampshire County
South Hadley, Hampshire County
 
South Hadley, Hampshire County
South Hadley, Hampshire County
 

Been to Yarde House Food and Spirits? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yarde House Food and Spirits, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.