We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cereal & Hairs” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn South Deerfield

Save Saved
You added Red Roof Inn South Deerfield to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Red Roof Inn South Deerfield
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   9 Greenfield Road, I-91 at State Road/US 5, Exit #24, South Deerfield, MA 01373   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in South Deerfield
Asheville, NC
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Cereal & Hairs”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Have stayed here for past several years with no issues. Room was renovated with wood-like floors and carpet tiles around the bed. Did not appear that carpet was swept and there were hairs in the bathroom. Front desk took care of it when we notified them. Said they had some new employees doing the cleaning. Seems to us like management is not doing any spot checks to see if the rooms are really being cleaned.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    77
    56
    43
    18
    9
See reviews for
78
46
18
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harpursville, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We were traveling to area for personal reasons & arrived very late & tired. I sat on bed and was so comfy, pillows were great and we slept so good. I hate hard beds so I was very happy. The staff was extremely friendly & helpful. Very clean. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Read reviews make your own decision.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

The last time I stayed at this particular red roof inn the place was noisy, it wasn't very clean and the staff weren't very friendly. This time, our room was very nice (hardwood floors everywhere except under the beds. The place was relatively quiet, except for a little early evening noise by kids staying with their parents. We had to ask for a hair dryer on my previous visit and then had to walk to the lobby to get one. This time, the hair dryer was installed in the bathroom as it should be. The beds were comfortable and both me and my wife got a good nights sleep. We didn't use the pool as we were too busy during the days and evenings we were there (Friday/Saturday night). Unfortunately, just as we were starting to drift off on Saturday night, the fire alarms went off. We checked the hallway outside our room and there was no sign of fire, so we got dressed and evacuated via the nearest exit. We visited the lobby as did many other people. The police showed up after about 10 minutes and the fire department (2 engines) in about 15 minutes. I happened to be close to the fire alarm annunciator panel just outside the lobby when fire fighters and hotel security were checking it. The alarm that went off was on the same floor and wing as our room. We suspect one of the kids who were running around may have "accidently" set the alarms off. At any rate, within about 20 minutes we were back in our room. The front desk staff gave us a coupon for a discount on any rental for the rest of 2013 without my asking. Since we really were only mildly inconvenienced and since we now know there are fire alarms in the building we didn't try to get more. Red Roof improved their South Deerfield, MA Inn in the last 3 years.

Room Tip: we requested a "quiet room" on our on-line reservation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I was happy to find a hotel with an indoor pool for where we were going for a birthday celebration.In all my years of staying at hotels, I never had a room with no coffee maker in the room. I asked for one and They said none were available from any other room....I had to drive to Greenfield for one ......by the time got back we could not use the pool. The person on phone reservation said it was open till ten pm but it was open until only 9:30 pm.Not happy but made the best of it.

Room Tip: Pack your own coffee maker and you have to ask about everything.....they did not give correct hours...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I was looking for an inexpensive, no-frills place to stay while on business in Northampton for several weekends, and this property exceeded my expectations. Although rates vary depending on events at the nearby colleges, I have gotten a deluxe king room for as little as $87, including tax.

A major renovation project is under way, and the newly remodeled rooms have the look of a much finer hotel. The beds and bedding are very comfortable, the rooms have a nice work area, and the deluxe rooms come with a small refrigerator and microwave -- perfect for someone who just wants to grab some takeout and get to work. The rooms are very clean, and the front-desk and housekeeping staff are friendly and helpful. Red Roof also has a generous rewards program for the frequent visitor. The location is just off I-91, an easy 10- or 15-minute drive from Northampton.

The only downside to my stays here have been the noise. The pool is a magnet for children, and let's just say they're not always quiet and courteous while on their way to and from it. I discovered that turning on the fan pretty much drowns out anything taking place in the hallways.

This was my first experience at a Red Roof, and it's turned me into a fan of the chain. I will be staying here often.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the second floor. Because of hardwood flooring, it can get noisy on the first f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I did not use the indoor heated pool but took a look at it and it was far superior to other pools I've seen.
The room I had was clean and comfortable and the price was right. It was very close to Yankee Candle and also to Historic Deerfield.
Staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Thought that this property would be just another typical Red Roof Inn, boy was I wrong. I liked the fact that there are interior corridors in order to gain entry to your room, that's a big plus with me. The gentleman who checked me in was polite, courteous and knowledgable about what was going on in the area. The room was just remodeled so everything was fresh and new. Checking out was a breeze. I needed some info about a certain business in the area and they were so helpful. The property is just off I-91 you couldn't miss it!

Room Tip: Usually Red means stop do not enter! But at this location I suggest you stop and stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Red Roof Inn South Deerfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn South Deerfield

Address: 9 Greenfield Road, I-91 at State Road/US 5, Exit #24, South Deerfield, MA 01373
Location: United States > Massachusetts > South Deerfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in South Deerfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn South Deerfield 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Red Roof Inn South Deerfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn South Deerfield Hotel South Deerfield
South Deerfield Red Roof Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Inn South Deerfield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.