We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No longer OK for Sunday brunch” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Monarchs Restaurant

Monarchs Restaurant
281 Greenfield Rd, South Deerfield, MA 01373-9790
413-397-1000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
Description: Weddings, buffets, full lunch and dinner menu. Private parties. Lunch offers: Quesadillas, Reubens, Pub-style burgers, gourmet wraps. Dinner has Maple Roasted Pork, Prime Rib, Haddock, Homemade New England Clam Chowder, Seafood Newburg, Chicken Cordon Bleu, Baked Stuffed Chicken, New York Strip, Sirloin, etc. Good prices. Restaurant is on the premises of Magic wings Butterfly Conservatory and Museum
Restaurant details
Description: Weddings, buffets, full lunch and dinner menu. Private parties. Lunch offers: Quesadillas, Reubens, Pub-style burgers, gourmet wraps. Dinner has Maple Roasted Pork, Prime Rib, Haddock, Homemade New England Clam Chowder, Seafood Newburg, Chicken Cordon Bleu, Baked Stuffed Chicken, New York Strip, Sirloin, etc. Good prices. Restaurant is on the premises of Magic wings Butterfly Conservatory and Museum
Springfield, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“No longer OK for Sunday brunch”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

First, the wait staff and personnel were very friendly, prompt, and courteous, with great attention to keeping the coffee cups filled. And that was good, because the coffee was the best tasting course of the meals we had. With one other table occupied on a Sunday morning, all our meals arrived cold; the homefries were cold, undercooked and crunchy with so much salt they couldn't be eaten. Ham was not a ham steak, but shaved deli ham...cold. Eggs cold with runny whites, syrup with unidentifiable bits in it, and the breakfast burrito cold. Monarch's seems to only get half right at a time. When service is good the food isn't, & vice versa. I can't any longer give Monarch's even a lukewarm recommendation.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    9
    12
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“OK for Sunday brunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

There aren't a lot of choices for Sunday brunch in the immediate area of Deerfield, but Monarch's is OK. Service is very fast, servers and greeters are personable, food is average (tho a bit inconsistent in quality), and the prices moderate. I haven't tried any other meals there, but brunch is OK and while I go there occasionally, Monarch's doesn't bring me back regularly.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fitchburg, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Waited an HOUR for spoiled food.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

AWFUL!! We were there yesterday at 11:30am, and it was empty except for two tables. The man at the door, the manager I think, seemed annoyed we wanted to come in. We ordered mozzarella sticks, a burger, a scallop roll, turkey wrap, and perogies. Tried to order a chicken entree, but our server told us THEY WERE OUT OF CHICKEN. What?

It took more than 60 MINUTES to get our food!! Are you kidding me?! We ordered a few sandwiches! Do you have any idea how hard it is for a one year old and three year old to sit for an HOUR, without food? We kept thinking, any minute now, any minute now. Our server never came back to refill drinks, I think because she didn't want to get yelled at about the food. AND once it finally arrived, the burger was dripping with grease, the perogies and onions were so burned they were inedible, and the scallops smelled and tasted horrible, like they had gone bad a long time ago. The wrap and mozza sticks were okay.

My family was so disappointed and angry about having to wait so long, and in the case of the perogies and scallops, leave without eating any lunch. I heard the manager telling other customers that "they had lost power" and that was the problem. First, I think that was a B.S. excuse. Second, if it wasn't, I'm going to be even more mad if I find out that the power problem happened before we sat down and no one warned us. Third, could the manager not stop at our table and talk to us? He walked by us many times, saw our food-less table, and still ignored us. Our server apologized for the awful food and the hour long wait, but it wasn't her fault. Manager needs to get it together. At one point I was looking around for Gordon Ramsay because I was sure we were on Kitchen Nightmares. Absolutely unacceptable. Butterfly conservatory was great, but we will NEVER eat at the Monarch Restaurant again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fun for families”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

They have a bar and make a great martini for around $5. Their dinners come with salad, a vegetable, and rice or a potato. The kids meals come with ice cream. The insects, birds, and butterflies provide nice educational entertainment for families.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Better than fast food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Just next door to Magic Wings. We ate after our visit to the museum. They have generous sized burgers and you can select what you wish on the wrap sandwiches. It was convenient and we didn't have a long wait for lunch.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monarchs Restaurant also viewed

South Deerfield, MA
South Deerfield, MA
 
South Deerfield, MA
South Deerfield, MA
 

Been to Monarchs Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monarchs Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.