We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ocean Front Relaxation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chatham Tides Waterfront Lodging

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in South Chatham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chatham Tides Waterfront Lodging
Save
You added Chatham Tides Waterfront Lodging to your Saves list
394 Pleasant Street, PO Box 215, South Chatham, Chatham, MA 02659   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Chatham
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Ocean Front Relaxation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed for two nights this August and really enjoyed it. The location is great if you're seeking some quiet; it's a short drive (about 5 minutes) to Main Street in Chatham, but directly on the water. Our room had a small kitchen with a stove, mini fridge and some utensils, which was convenient. Yes, the decor of the room was a little outdated, but it didn't bother us in the least. There is a private section of the beach reserved for guests; it's adjacent to Pleasant Street Beach, a public beach, but neither beach was crowded. While there are adirondack chairs available, bringing a beach chair isn't a bad idea as its probably a little more comfortable. Parking isn't an issue at all. We would definitely come back, as the price was reasonable (given that summer on the Cape is the busy season), the location was perfect and the rooms were clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: FYI: We had to check out by 11am, but wanted to spend the day on the beach. We just moved our car to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    13
    2
    4
    2
See reviews for
11
26
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Newington, Connecticut
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Great location off the beaten path with a nice quiet beach. Room was very clean. We rented an ocean front unit and the sound of the surf was awesome. We spent a weekend there much longer might be tough due to the size of the room. In regards to the bathroom if you need space to glam up or are a large person you are not going to like the bathrooms. They like their rules here don't think about checking in a minute early. The room had little signs with rules everywhere under threat of fines. Did not like there was not a second lock on the door so anyone could come in on you at any time. Also the towels felt like sandpaper. However if your a couple looking for a romantic weekend the beach front unit is a good choice even with the negatives I pointed out. All about the location.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

We spent a night there after having canceled our original plan to stay in South Yarmouth (avoid this place by any mean!), and we were delighted, the Chatham Tides Waterfront is a very quiet place (this is at the end of a cul de sac) overlooking the ocean, rooms are very clean and our bathroom had just been renovated. Very good place to relax and an ideal position to go and explore the beautiful town of Chatham.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

If you want crowds and the buzz of Chatham town, don't stay here. If you want seclusion, ocean views and the sound of the waves lulling you to sleep, this place is for you. Rooms are basic, but extremely clean, and who cares if you are reading a book on the private beach, or asleep on a deck chair? The only thing that could have made our stay more perfect, would be the addition of some basics in the efficiency kitchen, such as salt, pepper and cooking oil, for anyone wanting to make eggs and bacon for breakfast. We loved having the efficiency for breakfast, then popping into town for a bang up lunch and glass of wine at the Chatham Bars Inn overlooking stunning ocean views, then coming 'home' to the peace and quiet at Chatham Tides.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

i took my daughter to the cape for her 18th Birthday, we stayed just yards from the water.I was lulled to sleep by the sound of the waves. This was the best nights sleep I have had in months.
I could have sat on the private balcony all day . This gets 5 stars from me.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Our one bedroom townhouse overlook the Nantucket Sound. The first level was the bedroom with a king bed and a full bathroom. The upper level was a full kitchen (complete with stove, full size frig, dining table, dishes, utensils, dish soap, paper towels, kitchen towels), half bath and full sized living room with sliding doors opening up to a furnished balcony. Wifi in the rooms was an extra added touch for last minute checks on weather prior to driving to different parts of the Cape.

For bringing our suitcase into house we were able to use a lower door right off the bedroom and for kitchen supplies we were able to go bring it in through a upper door behind the house which made it very convenient not to have to go up/down stairs with heavy loads.

The staff was very friendly. Bedrooms, bathrooms were kept very clean daily by the housekeeper. A nice location to be able to explore all the Cape has to offer. Also a short drive to Boston to take in the sites for a day.

The view will enchant ocean lovers. Nothing can be more relaxing and refreshing than being able to gaze out over the water to your heart’s content. Relax to the sound of the surf crashing on the sand in this beautiful house that sits a small way back from the beach.

I will definitely recommend this place to family and friends.

Room Tip: Oceanfront rooms offer a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChathamTidesWaterf, Front Office Manager at Chatham Tides Waterfront Lodging, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
We really appreciate your feedback and thank you for the photos!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

I was very pleased during my stay here. Its perfect for a first time to the cape or even better for those who have done alot of the usual attarctions. If you are looking for a peaceful location with clean room rooms, very quiet, and the property is right on the beach. This is your place. The staff was very knowledgable of the area and locations to explore.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChathamTidesWaterf, Front Office Manager at Chatham Tides Waterfront Lodging, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Thank you! We're happy you enjoyed our location. We appreciate you taking the time to write.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chatham Tides Waterfront Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chatham Tides Waterfront Lodging

Address: 394 Pleasant Street, PO Box 215, South Chatham, Chatham, MA 02659
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Chatham > South Chatham
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Chatham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private beach on warm Nantucket Sound in South Chatham, Cape Cod.Enjoy Chatham's best value in waterfront lodging. Twenty-four oceanfront and ocean view units with private sundecks all with ocean views. Efficiency rooms,townhouses and suites. Lovely, tranquil setting on the water, just ten minutes drive to downtown Chatham activities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chatham Tides Waterfront Hotel South Chatham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chatham Tides Waterfront Lodging, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.