We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent cupcakes” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kickass Cupcakes - CLOSED

Kickass Cupcakes
378 Highland Ave, Somerville, MA 02144
(617) 628-2877
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Bakery, Dessert
Dining options: Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Takeout
Medford, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Excellent cupcakes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

This place is to die for.Their cupcakes are awesome and they have a huge variety,anything you could possibly want.Some are very rich but so good.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    9
    5
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Pup cakes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

I love stopping by here and getting my dog a pup cake for a special occasion. Of course, I can't help myself from getting a cookie dough or red velvet cupcake for myself....

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, MA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Eh -- this place did not convert me to a cupcakeoholic”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This place was an early pioneer in the cupcake world but unfortunately the cupcakes have always seemed a little dry and unsatisfying to me. Give them a try and decide for yourself!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hewitt, NJ
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Interesting flavors of icing!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Quite a variety of icings that were very tasty. On the first Monday of the month they have free samples.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madeira Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“This is for the food truck in Boston”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

I'm surprised by so many negative reviews, but my review is for the truck, not the store.
In Boston, the going price for these "boutique" type cupcake places is the $2.50 - $4.00 range. We bought several different cupcakes here today. Mine was the Mojito and it was loaded with rum. And I mean, loaded.
The only negative comment was for the red velvet cupcake. She was expecting a traditional-looking red velvet, which this one was not. Upon reading the menu further, saw that it was a natural-based cupcake which explained the difference in color that we normally see. She enjoyed it but said she wouldn't order that particular flavor again. They raved about the regular chocolate with buttercream frosting, Bananas Foster and one called the Lucky that was lemon-based and had a fortune in it. Overall, everyone was pleased and the cupcakes were devoured.
Many people are complaining about the cupcakes being too small for the price, but around Boston, this is the typical size for a specialty cupcake. And they will make bigger cupcakes on special order, if that's what people want. The girl at the truck took time to answer questions about the various cupcakes that I posed.
We plan to buy from here again!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kickass Cupcakes also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kickass Cupcakes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.