We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy neighborhood restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pescatore

Pescatore
158 Boston Ave, Somerville, MA 02144-2227
617-623-0003
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #48 of 251 Restaurants in Somerville
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Somerville, Massachusetts, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cozy neighborhood restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

I would definitely recommend this place. If you can't make it to the North End, this is some of the nicest Italian food you'll find in the area. The food isn't amazing, but very solid, with a good variety of light and more substantial fare. The wines are good. Important note: they also have GREAT PIZZA for take out that's the same price as all the mediocre chain places! Check it out!

The pizza pickup door is separate from the main dining room though. The dining room is actually is a fun mix between elegant and relaxed. It's got nice enough atmosphere for a special night out, and you won't spend your whole paycheck. Enjoy!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    11
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Very Good Italian Food w/ Gluten-Free Options”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

This is the second time I have been to Pescatore's and it was just as good. Since I have been there they have added outdoor seating (where we sat) and a bar area. The outdoor seating was empty so we were able to enjoy the entire outdoors to ourselves. Waiter may have been annoyed that we wanted to sit out there which certainly made his job a bit more challenging, but he was pleasant, attentive and made good recommendations (including complimentary Limoncello at end of meal!) Started with an arugala salad with shaved parm cheese with a very nice lemon dressing. My GF and I both had the same dish, she the gluten -free option: Pappardelle Capri which was pasta noodles with shrimp, arugula & cherry tomatoes, sautéed in an EVOO, white wine & garlic sauce. Very much enjoyed it. Bread was from Iggy's and was delicious. I really like this place. Really good food in Somerville, very pleasant atmosphere. Used a group-on and was not a problem. I definitely recommend it for when you are looking for a meal a step up than a basic casual place.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great Prices, Tasty Italian - Stop by you will like it...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

Been there twice now - had the chicken parm ( had to have traditional ), Haddock Piccata, Frutti di Mare. Very nice menu and specials. Prices reasonable, Service friendly and helpful. Atmosphere nice and comfortable.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“You would miss this place if you didn't know it is right there...don't!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012 via mobile

It's easy miss Pescatore, situated as it is behind a packie and corner of Boston Street in Summaville...but I recommend you don't. This is authentic Italaiana, right down to almost everything being "homemade." feels like the North End way back when. A definite place to spend time!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grafton, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Nice Italian fare”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

We went there for my birthday. The food is really good but not the best Italian food I have had. Foccacia bread that they serve on the table is excellent. The margaritas were great as well. The pasta dishes were all great - we ordered lobster ravioli, the haddock piccata, Fusilli Amalfi and Frutti di Mare. The only complaint we had was that the calamari appetizer which also comes with onion rings was very bland and we had to add table salt to make it tastier. Also there were probably more onion rings than Calamari.

Ambience is decent, but it gets very loud. We were the only ones with family and hence I am not sure if it is great for kids.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pescatore also viewed

 

Been to Pescatore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pescatore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.