We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful meal and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Martsa on Elm

Martsa on Elm
233 Elm St, Ste A, Somerville, MA 02144
617-666-0660
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 251 Restaurants in Somerville
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Asian, Tibetan, Vegetarian
Restaurant details
Frisco, Colorado
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“wonderful meal and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I stopped in here for the first time a few weeks ago when they were serving only buffet style, but that was fine with me, as I was very hungry. I loved all the dishes, and there are plenty of vegetable options. I wish the momos had been steamed rather than fried, but the tingmo (steamed bread) was also good.

The restaurant itself is clean and casual. It wasn't very busy at all when I went there (during lunch), and so service was excellent & very friendly, and the restaurant is in a good location. I will definitely be back.

I wish they had a website.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    6
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Worth a try”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

A fun, large menu with lots to choose from. We had the veggie momos (mainly spinach), a ginger tofu vegetable dish, brown rice, and the mango noodles. I would say that the flavoring of the noodle dish was the best, but everything was tasty, if not as intensely flavorful as I would have liked. The staff was very nice and attentive and the ambiance was pleasant. And the price was great. I would definitely return to try some other options (e.g., we didn't try any curries).

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Awesome food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

My wife and went to Davis sq to see a play at the Davis sq theatre. We heard about all the great restaurants in the area so we got to Davis sq early so we could check out all of them. Wow, a ton of choices! After walking up and down the block and looking at about 15 choices we decided to try this Tibetan restaurant as we have never experienced this type of food choice before. Well, we were so glad we did. We were seated quickly by our waitress who was very friendly and helpful. Not knowing what to order we asked the waitress. With a big smile she outlined what turned out to be the best dinner. Momos veg and meat, Pak choi and lamb and brown rice was the best. We ordered Kingfisher ale to complete the meal. The best.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Discover something new”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

My boyfriend and I stumbled upon Martsa on Elm after going to the cinema in Davis Sq, and we're really glad we did. Neither of us had had Tibetan food before, and we really enjoyed it. We mentioned to the waiter that we weren't sure what to have from the menu, and he was really helpful.

He advised we start with the momo's and suggested a selection of pork, beef and veggie, and a mixture of fried and steamed. I quite enjoyed them, but I didn't think they were anything massively special. I enjoyed the mains much more, again as suggested by our waiter. We had a coconut chicken curry, and a spicy stir-fried lamb, both of which were really really delicious.

The service was helpful and overall we enjoyed the meal. The atmosphere was fine - nothing special, but really for us it was all about the food! Would certainly recommend.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, KY
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“My favorite restaurant from our Boston trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Having just deplaned and having not slept much before eating at Martsa on Elm, I am about to do Martsa the disservice of not naming the dishes or beverages I consumed there. However, everything I had was delicious. My husband & I opted for the buffet, and we were not disappointed. Standouts: chicken curry, in which the chicken almost seemed slow-cooked like some Southern barbecue; and a lime-mint-soda beverage whose name escapes me but which was both interesting & refreshing. This was our first meal on a recent trip to Boston, and it remained my favorite.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Martsa on Elm also viewed

 

Been to Martsa on Elm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Martsa on Elm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.