We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 subway stops and you're at Quincy Market” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Boston Somerville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn & Suites Boston Somerville to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn & Suites Boston Somerville
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   23 Cummings Street, Somerville, MA 02145   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Somerville
Rochester, New York
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“3 subway stops and you're at Quincy Market”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

This is the 3rd time I've stayed at this hotel for business in the last 4 years. What I like about it is they have a shuttle service that drops you at Sullivan Square Station at the top of the hour. It is literally a 5 minute ride (but not one that you should walk as it's not the best area as you near the station). Then it is only 3 stops to Quincy Market. They will also pick you up from Sullivan Square Station at 10 minutes past the top of the hour until 10:10PM. Taking a taxi back to the hotel is about $6 if you don't want to wait for the shuttle. This area is in the middle of a big change with an outlet mall being build within walking distance and a new high-rise apartment building being built on the other side of the shopping center with some nice amenities such as a walking path on the Mystic river and even a little stage with cement tier seating.

As for the hotel, it is typical of a business travelers hotel. The room was fine, the air conditioning / heater was louder than I like and kicked off and on all night. I eventually turned it off entirely. The bed was comfortable and the room clean.

One kind of disappointing thing happened at check in. I was travelling with two young, male colleagues. I went to the desk first to check in and got my usual room request as outlined in my profile. My colleagues were helped by a different desk clerk and when we all regrouped to head into the city, they informed me that they had both received free upgrades to a suite. Was just a little bummer for me.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    199
    110
    49
    11
See reviews for
210
94
29
81
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Had so many problems finding accommodation in Boston - our fault we arrived, unknown to us, during graduation and a big Red Sox game. This was a cheap basic hotel on the outskirts of the city. Room was large and the bed was truly amazing. Also was able to catch up with our laundry. A very substantial breakfast was included. No problems with the La Quinta chain if they are all like this one.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Title says it all. I had a super early morning flight and needed to stay near the airport without paying an arm and a leg. It was about a 10 minute ride from the airport (at 4am in the morning) and was 30% cheaper than anything closer in decent condition although still a bit expensive for only 5 hours of use. Given the hourly and FREE airport shuttle service, proximity to the hotel, ease of setting up a wake up call and airport ride, I'd probably stay here again. Shuttle service guy could have been a little friendlier, but at 4am, who's friendly? (except me)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

excellent stay. clean comfortable and great staff. Use of shuttle make location perfect for Boston area. Recommend highly. Average breakfast. Very helpful front desk. Rooms have been upgraded. Prices are competitive but less than many other hotels in the Boston Area.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Overall the hotel is very acceptable. However, housekeeping doing a poor job. Room needed to be vacuumed. The room also had spiders, which the front desk did nothing about. I have stayed here before and never had issues so I will assume this was a one time occurrence. Good value overall.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Boston Somerville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Boston Somerville

Address: 23 Cummings Street, Somerville, MA 02145
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Somerville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Somerville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Boston Somerville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, LaQuinta, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Boston Somerville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn And Suites Boston Somerville
La Quinta Inn & Suites Boston Somerville Hotel Somerville
La Quinta Somerville
Somerville La Quinta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn & Suites Boston Somerville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.