We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun trivia night, unique food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of SoundBites Cafe

SoundBites Cafe
704 Broadway, Somerville, MA 02144-2239
(617) 623-8338
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #69 of 251 Restaurants in Somerville
Price range: $0 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fun trivia night, unique food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

This place has a really fun trivia night. It's not usually too crowded and the food is really good. I love the Mediterranean-style diner food. My only issue is that the service tends to be really slow, especially at the end of the meal, trying to get checks, change, etc....I've only been there a few times, only during trivia so this might be not be the case all of the time. Otherwise, definitely a fun spot in Ball Square.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    28
    12
    2
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Walpole, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Highly overpriced”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

My family and I went to SoundBites for a late lunch on a Wedndesday afternoon. We did not have anything special, one of their breakfast dishes, some salads and simple sandwiches. The coffee and tea, which we had to go and get ourselves from the coffee/tea station cost us $3.00 each.
The breakfast dish was over $8.00 for two fried eggs, bacon and some toast. The Caprese salad was bland. The bill came to $78. That included the gratuity of 18% that they automatically added for our party of 5.
There wasn't much service. When we asked about the soup of the day, one of the wait staff told us what the two soups were. Then the manager/owner told us two completely different soups. They took our order and brought it out. They didn't do much else. Nothing that would deserve an automatic 18% tip.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“Eat next door”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

When I am paying $12 for a breakfast, I would like to be served. Here you need to go to a back corner through crowded tables and get your own coffee. Corned beef hash was full of so many hot peppers I found it inedible. Manager argued with me over how good he thought it was and did not take it off the bill. It tasted hot, stale and vinegary. Somerville can keep this place. BACK TO MIKES CITY DINER FOR ME!
No wonder the place next door had a waiting line.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“order the breakfast potatoes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

the potatoes are great.the service is ok.there is always a wait for a table of three.there is alot of food or the value.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“This is Every weekend, people line up and wait for a table from 9am till about 1 pm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Great chix sandwich, I never make it for breakfast, Yeah like i'm awake enough to stand in line for eggs-OMG!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SoundBites Cafe also viewed

 

Been to SoundBites Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SoundBites Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.