We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Mexican Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tu Y Yo

Tu Y Yo
858 Broadway, Somerville, MA 02144-1905
617-623-5411
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 258 Restaurants in Somerville
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations
Somerville, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Authentic Mexican Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We found both the food and the service to be excellent. The wait staff is very friendly and helpful, and we love the atmosphere. We have traveled a lot in Mexico and found the food at this restaurant to be very authentic and well prepared. It is good for a date night out as well as for a family outing.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    23
    9
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“The Lesser of Two Locations”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The food that they serve is generally well executed, but it might not be the food you're looking for. The menu is unusual, which is a refreshing change from the monotony of tacos and burritos, but options are small in number.

There is one major hole in the menu which I don't think I can forgive:
There is no guacamole. In fact, I didn't see anything with avocado on the menu.

The other Tu Y Yo location, in Needham, has a much larger menu and wonderful guacamole, so if you're looking for great Mexican food, it may be worth the drive.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Authentic Mexican Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

You do not get chips in salsa here, do not go into it with that attitude. This cuisine has a real traditional flare to it. The sangria is solid and the food is exceptional. A true gem that should get more traffic than it does.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Delicious & unusual South American fare”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Everything we tried was good and much of it we'd never had before. They have a very interesting menu. Have been here a couple times in the past year & am looking forward to going again.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Unique Mexican place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

This isn't like most Mexican places, it seems you can get cuisine here that's more like what you might find in Mexico. Definitely worth trying out, if only for the uniqueness of it (and the food is good!).

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tu Y Yo also viewed

 

Been to Tu Y Yo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tu Y Yo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.