We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A unique dining experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of True Bistro

True Bistro
1153 Broadway, Teele Square, Somerville, MA 02144
(617) 627-9000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 243 restaurants in Somerville
Cuisines: Vegan
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Manchester, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A unique dining experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

My daughter lives in Somerville and we have talked about checking out this vegan place near where she lives. While I am not vegan, or even vegetarian for that matter, I do enjoy "that type" of food. The venue is small and nicely decorated. We had a hard time choosing what to order, everything sounded delicious. I had the Blackened Seitan with grits, collard greens, and onions picked in a chili vinaigrette. The dish had a nice heat to it, balanced out by the acidity of the collards. A very enjoyable meal. My daughter had the Seared Strawberry salad and the House Made Ravioli stuffed with sweet potato in a lemongrass coconut cream. The food was outstanding. We waited quite a while for our food and watched as people who had arrived after us were served. The manager came over and apologized, explaining there was a mix-up in the kitchen (hey, it happens) and they gave us a discount. Overall a wonderful experience, we will be returning!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

97% Recommend
    34
    6
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“So satisfying and energizing!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

In my quest to find a local vegan restaurant, I sought out this lovely hidden gem! I opted for the wweet potato wrapped portobello mushroom "sandwhich" that came with turnips instead of fries and tempeh filled triangles of happiness!! The portion sizes were a little pricey and were far less than our standard family-sized bowls of pasta we are all so used to - but we left feeling satisfied and full of energy! I encourage you to try to go meatless for at least one day a week and see how it makes you feel. The service here was great too and the ambiance very modern and swank - can't wait to go back!! - Nadine Preston

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“We keep going back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

True Bistro is a nice find for those of us who love our veggies. The salads are all so tasty and I always wish there was more on the plate. The leek tart is my favorite, yet there is something for everyone on the menu. They even have a delicious pasta dish for those that are not quite ready to try something new. My husband and I were there early on a Thursday night and I was surprised to see the place fill to capacity with a small wait out the door. I guess the word is out on how good the vegan food is!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Loved it - and yes, my first Vegan restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

Like other reviewers, if this is vegan...maybe I could be one. Ate there with two college students (one a strict vegetarian), after finding the place on TripAdvisor. Right-sized menu with many appealing choices: loved the Leek Tart and Fried Artichoke salad with quinoa; Vietnamese Crepe also received high marks. Small, modest noise level -- a great dinner out!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Truly True Good Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

I'm not vegan, but I could be persuaded if all my food tasted as yummy as this did. Fresh, crisp, flavorful. I can't say enough good about this place. GO GO GO!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed True Bistro also viewed

 

Been to True Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage True Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.