We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Foundry On Elm

Foundry On Elm
255 Elm St, Somerville, MA 02144-2956
617-628-9999
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Foundry On Elm is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #28 of 251 Restaurants in Somerville
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Transit: Redline Davis Square T-stop
Billerica, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Tasty food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Caught a late lunch here on a Sunday. Food was good and service attentive. Nice ambience.even tho they offer only the brunch menu till 3 they were willing to make a substitution for the kind of omelet I wanted, and my friend's burger was very good.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    41
    9
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Terrific old-fashioned continental with modern touches”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

You can't get Cog au vin and Beef Bourgunion like this anywhere else that I know of. Great (although short) wine list, great beers. Amazing desserts. A little noisy, but conversation not impossible at tables along the wall. A great addition to Davis Square.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, delicious food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Have been for dinner and drinks here (on separate occasions) and was not disappointed. The time I went for drinks the service was a little patchy, but we got some great cocktails.

When I dined there the dinner was really good, and the menu includes some classic dishes with a twist. I had the cobb salad which was nice but a little too much balsamic dressing for my taste. A couple of the people I was with had the burgers which looked awesome. The portions aren't huge but this is a quality-over-quantity type place. There are some interesting craft and local beers on the menu.
Our server was fantastic, she had the exact right balance between being very attentive but not pestering us, and made some good recommendations.

I have only been here on week nights so far (it does look very busy on weekends so I'd advise making a reservation).

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Just my favorite around Davis Square!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Love their consistently fine food! Of course it's a matter of luck to find a table without reservation, however, the bar and hip ambience is worth the wait for an available one! If you're into quantity instead of quality, stay away from this restaurant.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Fine Bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

They know what they are doing and it is not too overpriced. A good time on weekends, the food is standard for what you would expect from such a place and the bartenders tend to be knowledgeable.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Foundry On Elm also viewed

 

Been to Foundry On Elm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Foundry On Elm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.