We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yoshi's is PHENOMENAL” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yoshi's

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Yoshi's
132 College Ave, Somerville, MA 02144-1310
617-623-9263
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #122 of 251 Restaurants in Somerville
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Asian, Japanese, Korean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Takeout, Delivery
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Yoshi's is PHENOMENAL”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The service is amazing. They're so friendly and accommodating every time I go.

And the food is incredibly good. The chicken teriyaki was unbelievable, the miso soup is the best I've ever had, and the tuna rolls were to die for. Highly recommend this great spot!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    1
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
270 reviews 270 reviews
185 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Pleasant Neighborhood Sushi Place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Took my daughter and her friend for dinner here. Despite a certain amount of hype, I have to say I found the fish just okay (had the sashimi as a test dish). The tuna in particular was a bit elderly. But...very pleasant staff, cute location on Powderhouse Square.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Sushi!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

The sushi prices at Yoshi's are just awesome for the quality, service, and speed. It's definitely my go-to sushi restaurant in the Cambridge/Somerville area, and has some of the friendliest staff members around.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Neighborhood sushi joint”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2011

Please, yoshi's is extremely reasonable and family owned! Lunch box menu is super inexpensive and you get a good amount of food. The sushi is always fresh, scallion pancakes are delish, and they have takeout. My go to sushi place in Somerville. Snappy sushi in Davis is much more expensive, and they use brown rice, which isnt so great.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“Honestly, I only went to...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2008

Honestly, I only went to it since it's so close to where I lived. But they basically monopolized the sushi business in the area and jacked up the prices. Sushi come in really small pieces compared to other restaurants. And the Spicy Seafood Udon I used to have all the time was apparently downgraded...it was pretty much just udon noodles in some broth with very few frozen seafood (the calamari and shrimp were tiny and dry), and that was $14-15. Their profit margin is ridiculous high! Good service, but it just doesn't make sense to go there if there are other options (Snappy Sushi opened up nearby--go there.)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yoshi's also viewed

 

Been to Yoshi's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yoshi's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.