We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wornout Wasp Nest” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Summer House Restaurant

The Summer House Restaurant
17 Ocean Ave, Siasconset, Nantucket, MA 02564
+1 508-257-9976
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Summer House Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 3 Restaurants in Siasconset
Price range: $30 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Ocean near Magnolia
Description: On a bluff overlooking the Atlantic in Siasconset, the Summer House Restaurant is known not only for its picturesque Siasconset location but also for its imaginative contemporary cuisine and outstanding wine list. Dinner each evening is an event - subdued lighting, flickering candles, fresh flowers and the music from the Piano Bar combine to create an atmosphere of days gone by and the true romance that is Nantucket. Enjoy dinner on the porch, overlooking the ocean and the starry night sky is a true taste of Nantucket summer. Before or after dinner, drinks and celebrations are enjoyed at the delightful Piano Bar.The Summer House Restaurant is a member of the Summer House Boutique Collection of Restaurants on Nantucket, offering delightful dining options for visitors and residents alike. Our family of restaurants also includes 29 Fair and The Beachside Bistro. Nantucket Town inn guests enjoy priority seating and complimentary door to door jitney service from several of the inns.
Potomac
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wornout Wasp Nest”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Overpriced, moderate food and taxi poaching - a nice view into old Nantucket. This was not a bad experience so if you like overpaying to be away from the riff-raff by all means go. I am used to paying twice the price for a bottle of wine but $65. for a $15. one, come on. I guess the need to succeed in 4 months might have something to do with it. I still think they can do better and stop resting on their laurels.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SummerHouseMgmt, Owner at The Summer House Restaurant, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback. I am working hard to continually improve the experience of our guests, and commit to you that we are not resting on our laurels. I take your feedback very seriously, and am doing everything within my power to improve on the shortcomings that you experienced. Our pricing is the result of local market conditions and the high cost of transport to our location. We hope you will give us another opportunity to show you the true Summer House experience and that you will consider us in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    33
    18
    18
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Bad service and overcooked food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We ate at the Beachside bistro version of the Summer House; it had been recommended by our hotel and in the NY Times. It was a huge disappointment. The service from the get-go was indifferent - the hostess seemed completely overwhelmed, though it's to be expected that there will be lots of people at lunch time on Labor Day weekend. Our waitress was late with getting our order; the (extremely overpriced) hamburger was overcooked; and they overcharged us for the wine. When we pointed out that the wine on the check was not the wine we ordered, she said it was the same price, which wasn't true. It then took 20 minutes for them to bring us the corrected check.

Very much not worth it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SummerHouseMgmt, Owner at The Summer House Restaurant, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear guest,

I am very sorry to hear that you had a disappointing experience dining with us this past Labor Day weekend. Because I never want to see our guests leave us dissatisfied, I would like to offer you a complimentary meal next time you visit the island so that we can show you a true Beachside Bistro experience. Please contact us at reservations@thesummerhouse.com and we can arrange the details. I look forward to hosting you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wow--what a disappointment!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

We came in for an early-evening dinner, entering an empty dining room. Knowing it was the end of a holiday weekend, we thought we would benefit from a quiet night.

First, the food. It was worse than a low-level chain restaurant. Since it was a bit cool, my husband and I ordered the lobster bisque. It was watery and bitter. I would have sent it back but our waiter never returned to the table until we asked for the check. Our entrees were shameful, given the prices they charged. My husband ordered the lobster pasta dish, which was spaghetti, what appeared and tasted like bad jarred sauce and a few pieces of knuckle meat (for $40!!) and my crab cake and salad were bland.

The best server on staff was the busboy who was more attentive and polite than the rest collectively. I would have spoken to the manager but he was too busy schmoozing with an elderly couple who seemed to be wealthy. By the time we left, the dining room was half full--not because we intentionally lingered over our meals--because there was 10 to 15 minute waits between courses (and since we didn't like the food, it was a LONG wait).

What a waste of an opportunity to enjoy good food in one of the most beautiful islands in the world.

If there was any justice, someone with taste and talent will buy The Summer House and restore it to the standards it deserves.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SummerHouseMgmt, Owner at The Summer House Restaurant, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Guest,

My sincere apologies for your negative experience at our restaurant. I want to assure you that we take your review very seriously. I am working hard to address any issues with the Summer House dining experience and am doing everything within my power to deliver an excellent experience for all restaurant patrons. The issues that you experienced were certainly unusual and unacceptable. Since I am extremely confident in the truly great dining experience that we offer at the restaurant, I would like to invite you back for a complimentary meal on us. You can contact me at reservations@thesummerhouse.com for details, just reference your Tripadvisor account. I hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouth Beach, New Jersey
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch and cocktails at Summer House Beach Bistro”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We spent several days at the beach at the Summer House Siasconset and had lunch at the Summer House Beach Bistro. Good food, great cocktails. Overall, staff was good. Had one terrible waitress, but since we'd been prior and knew most of the staff was good, we gave her a pass. We were at the beach so much, we didn't go to dinner at the Summer House Restaurant, but the menu and decor look lovely and would certainly go in the future.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SummerHouseMgmt, Owner at The Summer House Restaurant, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Many thanks for your kind words, we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay! I hope that you have the opportunity to visit us again soon! We're already excited for next season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mass
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Simply.........bad.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012 via mobile

I read the reviews from the week prior to our visit hoping that they did not reflect the true state of affairs. Wrong. The summer house is overpriced with terrible service . Our fish was not cooked, and after fifteen minutes of waiting it was returned without vegetables. If you go here it is your fault. After five bad reviews the truth is ...... This is a poor choice for dinner.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SummerHouseMgmt, Owner at The Summer House Restaurant, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Jeffrey,

I am deeply sorry for the experience that you described at our restaurant last season. I take great pride in the product that we offer at the restaurant, and certainly am disappointed to hear that your experience was so negative. I am always working to improve the guest experience at the restaurant, and would like to have you back for a complimentary meal to show you the true quality of the food and the experience at the Summer House Restaurant this season. Please contact us at reservations@thesummerhouse.com and reference your Tripadvisor account so we can arrange the details.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Summer House Restaurant also viewed

Siasconset, Nantucket
Siasconset, Nantucket
 

Been to The Summer House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Summer House Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.