We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great prices, good service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Elsa's Eatery - CLOSED

Elsa's Eatery
33 Boston Tpke, Shrewsbury, MA 01545
508-890-1009
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
massachusetts
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great food, great prices, good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I just noticed that the photo listed on this site makes this restaurant look dumpy, and it is not. The owner's should change the photo. This is a small, local resaurant owned by a family that owns and runs other excellent restaurants in the area. Specializing in Italian fare, with top-not dining options that are creative, well-prepared, and truly delicious. It is a no-frills place, but the prices are kept low that way and it's all about the menu. Pizzas are flatbread style and huge. Pastas are all over the map with sauces and meat/veggie ingredients. Salads and freshly made bread with their own dipping oils are yummy. Great for family dining, couples, and singles as well. They have a take out menu as well. If you're in the area, try this restaurant. Don't let the exterior fool you...it's worth it.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    0
    10
    3
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“local food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

I've always gotten good food here. Take out can be a little skimpy sometimes, but, eating in house is fine.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fast, friendly, good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

My brother and I got take-out here on a Sunday. I had the Chicken Sinatra sandwich, he had Chicken Parm, and we also got an order of fried calamari.

The sandwiches were big, and they tasted good. I had potato salad with mine, which was excellent.

The only downside was the calamari, which was a bit soggy, like it had been cooked way before everything else. Other than that, a decent meal.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Great food here, my fav is the salad with spinach, cranberries, goat cheese and a honey vinaigrette dressing. The pizza is HUGE. They have a small alcohol selection but has the essentials. One of my favs.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Great food! Highly recommend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

Our party of 4 went to Elsa's for the first time, but it won't be the last! We enjoyed every bite of our appetizers, had several entrees and pizza, and also the tiramisu for dessert. There's plenty of parking behind the restaurant, and the service was good.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elsa's Eatery also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elsa's Eatery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.