We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Little Earthy/Crunchy Market” 4 of 5 stars
Review of McCusker's Market

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
McCusker's Market
3 State Street, Buckland Side of the Bridge, Shelburne Falls, MA
413-625-9411
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Shops, Shopping
Attraction details
Putnam, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice Little Earthy/Crunchy Market”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We grabbed some sandwiches to pack with us for our riverside retreat....they were fresh and yummy! The market had a little bit of everything and service was quick! We did see people sitting down eating in a side room and it was a low key, quiet environment and looked nice.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    3
    0
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sedona, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Whole Foods”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Very casual and quiet. Able to relax while having a cup of soup and tea. Friendly environment with homemade food that is good for you health. Loved the soups.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire county, MA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Very poor customer care attitudes”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

My wife and myself, coming from out of town, encountered some shoddy treatment from two store employees.
First, my wife, heading for one of the restrooms, was stopped and directed to another one in a different part of the store. Perhaps this would have been alright, except that there were only two paper cores left and no toilet paper to be found.
Her own resourcefulness, because she carries a small supply of clean facial tissues, saw her through this predicament, so she dutifully walked up to the cashier to tell her that the restroom was deficient. She politely tried to get the cashier's attention, saying. "Excuse me!", but the cashier failed to notice her, and continued to slowly count out some cash.
My wife, now feeling thwarted and willfully ignored, now clearly enunciated to all within earshot, "I only wanted to tell you that you are out of toilet paper in the ladies room."
The cashier had the temerity to tell my wife that she didn't appreciate be interuppted while counting cash.
That was one!
Meanwhile, completely unaware of the toilet paper drama taking place at the front of the store, I patiently waited at a cash register in the rear of the store with my purchases in hand while a male employee kept his back turned to myself and other customers while he held an entertaining conversation on the telephone.
Who do these people think that they are. Did they ever learn that real live customers come first?

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandon, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“McCuskers Market: a tradition in Buckland/Shelburne Falls”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

the first time i visited this store, Mike McCusker had only recently purchased it. they had a big wheel of cheese, a few food items, etc. he turned it into a shelburne falls icon, serving the community as so much more than just a health food/specialty food store and deli. mcCuskers became the hub of this hill community. Michael drew artists, health-minded people, progressive families to the area. he provided a central meeting place for people of all ilk. i never visit shelburne w/o a visit to mcCusker's market. and with the expansion of a wine cellar and restaurant, even more reason to go!

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bennington, VT
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Good food, long waits, over-priced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

I usually stop here every time I'm in the area. Unfortunately the deli is often very short staffed, which means that often there is a long wait at the deli counter. This time I had a cashier who seemed a tad bit incompetent, making the wait unnecessarily long. The food is good, if you like having the choice of eating unprocessed, organic, whole grain and vegan foods, which I do, so I try to ignore the inconvenience attached to the long wait. The food seems over priced, and I certainly could not eat there on a regular basis, but as previously mentioned, I do stop there very time I'm in the area. I do like their food, otherwise I would not stop there, I just don't like the wait and their prices. They do have a good selection of organic products and 'real' food that attracts me. I ate in their restraurant years ago with a good experience. I wasn't able to eat in the restaurant this time around since I had my dog with me. They provide outside tables to eat your take-out food.

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McCusker's Market also viewed

 
Shelburne Falls, MA
Shelburne Falls, MA
 

Been to McCusker's Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage McCusker's Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.