We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place lived in and loved” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Staveleigh House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sheffield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Staveleigh House
Save
You added Staveleigh House to your Saves list
59 Main St., Sheffield, MA 01257   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Sheffield B&B and Inns
Philadelphia, PA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A place lived in and loved”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

The minute you walk into Staveleigh House, you feel that you are in a special place. You will know immediately what is special for Ali and Harry: every manner of animal, each one rescued and wonderfully cared for in the back lot (with a cat or two lying in the sun and a King Charles spaniel in the parlor), and flowers galore--zinnias, flox, sunflowers, marigolds, among them. Ali and Harry are people with strong values and open hearts. Ali's cooking has been written about so much that there is little point in mentioning it again. I'll just add that, despite my lifelong gluten intolerance, Ali made me special breakfasts every day, the most mouthwatering dish being her blueberry muffins. As if that wasn't enough, on our last morning after the usual big breakfast she presented us with a big plastic bag full of muffins and waffles--so that we wouldn't starve to death on the way home.

The reason we chose the town of Sheffield was that it isn't far from Lenox, specificallyTanglewood, where we wanted to attend a few concerts, but it wasn't too near either--the B and Bs and inns close to Tanglewood can be quite costly. Though the drive to the music festival was longish and rather difficult at night, we wouldn't have traded Staveleigh for the most splendid inn or B and B in Lenox.

For those who want the most spiffy, spanking new quarters with huge bathrooms and nary a blemish on the walls, Staveleigh is probably not the best choice. (The beds are wonderful.) But for us, Steveleigh is a well-lived in, well-loved home, and we cherished the opportunity to be part of that home for four lovely days. We will return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    9
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
50
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Augstine
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

We absolutely LOVED our stay at Staveleigh. Everything was perfect, including the beautiful old house, our large bedroom, lovely landscaping, and delicious breakfast. I am a stickler for cleanliness and your establishment gets an A Plus. Your small farm area was definitely a highlight. Being raised on a farm, I have a true love for all kinds of animals, and you
covered the bases with the interesting variety of pets. You were so sweet to let us play with them. By the way, Clementine the donkey is a hoot. Edgar is so loveable, the way he climbed up the fence to greet me. I have added a picture of the two of us.
Sheffield is such a lovely quaint town, and we look forward to staying with you again and expoloring the beautiful Berkshires.
Renee & Len Trinca
St. Augustine, Florida

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiawah Island, South Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Stayed for a week this July. Ali and family make you feel at home, and couldn't me more accommodating. We used the living room each evening for cocktails (there is a guest refrigerator to keep your white wines and snacks), and Ali loaned us a large cooler with wheels for our Friday night sojourn to Tanglewood. Most rooms are small and rather worn, but very clean. Also the air conditioning could use some updating. Ate 7 breakfasts and each one was better than the last with different menus every morning. You're only 5 minutes from the Berkshire School if you're attending any functions there. Watch for the turtle crossing on the Berkshire School Road; you think I'm kidding, but I'm not.

Room Tip: Room 7 is the room to stay in if you want to spread out a bit. Other rooms are small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlestown, New Hampshire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

The house is beautiful with so many pretty things to look at and enjoy. Very comfortable and inviting. A shady yard and pretty gardens if your goal is to stay put and relax. I adore all the critters and love a morning greeting from Edgar the dog and Pearl the cat. There is always a cold glass of ice tea available and a baked treat in the cookie jar. Ali makes breakfasts you will dream of long after you have left. Her attention to her guests comfort and her natural ability to make you feel welcome is what makes your time at Staveleigh House memorable and why you will return again and again.

Room Tip: Room No 7 is my favorite - the bed and pillows are so comfy and I love the porch outside the door, p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

Beautiful and relaxing house, phenomenal breakfasts and a really welcoming environment form Ali and her family.

For our 3 year old the horses, sheep and dogs in the yard and barn were exciting and a huge amount of fun.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011 via mobile

We stayed only for a Monday night in a quiet week, so we had the house to ourselves. Ali made us feel incredibly welcome with gingerbread cookies and tea -- and as if that wasn't enough, she cooked us the best breakfast ever the next morning!

The historic house is very pretty, charming and well kept, but a bit close to the road, so people with noise issues might be bothered. Bring your ear plugs if you're very sensitive, but DO NOT skip Staveleigh House!!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

My dear high school friend and I rendezvoused at Staveleigh House to celebrate my birthday weekend. We stayed in the "Sisters" room and thoroughly enjoyed our time at the Inn. It was a short distance to where we hiked all three days and convenient to great food at night.
The innkeepers love of her craft is felt everywhere - in the ambiance, the delicious breakfasts and the gardens.

Room Tip: The rooms only lock from the inside by a hook, it is an old house. Our private bathroom was a short...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Staveleigh House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staveleigh House

Address: 59 Main St., Sheffield, MA 01257
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Sheffield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Sheffield
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm, gracious hospitality in circa 1821 home. 7 Comfortable AC guestrooms w/private baths. Splendid breakfast. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Staveleigh House Hotel Sheffield

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Staveleigh House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.