We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A find (in more ways than one)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Johnson and Wales Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Johnson and Wales Inn to your Saves list
Johnson and Wales Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   213 Taunton Ave., Seekonk, MA 02771   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Seekonk
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“A find (in more ways than one)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Nobody told us the the hotel had changed it's name to The Hilltop Hotel--so having driven round and round for about an hour we decided to ask in the Hilltop only to find out that it used to be Johnson and Wales (you'd think they might tell someone staying there!)
As they had recently been taken over there were lots of areas that were being improved so it would be wrong to be too criticle about those
Reception was outstandingly helpful and the rooms were fine--give it a try

Room Tip: Get instructions
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    45
    28
    10
    11
See reviews for
37
28
8
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We had one night here and it was very good. We had a large room which was quiet, comfortable and clean. The staff were professional and friendly and the hotel seemed to be good value for what was offered. We took breakfast in Audrey's which was a good selection and nice and fresh, the breakfast staff were very courteous. We can't fault our stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copiague, New York
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

After reading some mediocre reviews I did not know what to expect. But I was quite surprised at this venue. Was with a large tour group and they were ready and waiting for us. Complete with luggage service and a cookie and lemonade reception. The room was comfortable, and inviting with ample space. The bathroom was huge and spotless. The contential breakfast was ample and fresh with a nice assortment to choose from. Would definitely make this a go to spot if in the area again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keswick, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Clean, basic lodging convenient to Providence, Boston, and Newport areas. Staff are trainees but generally enthusiastic. Rooms are basic but clean and serviceable. Beds need replacing as they are not very firm. Audrey's has passable breakfast - croissants are the best of the lot as they appear to be made fresh each morning. Decent value for money right outside the hustle/bustle of the cities.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, Massachusetts
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The value and the service is above board. The rooms are spacious and clean. The sitting area makes me not want to go back home. The interaction with the staff was wonderful.

For a few dollars more it is well worth the upgrade to the suite.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the larger room and enjoy great space
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I have attended a weekend event at this hotel 3 times in the past 18 months and my most current trip in April 2013 was the worst. When we arrived to check in they did not have the specific room type( two double beds) that we requested on our reservation and that I confirmed the Monday before we arrived. We were told they had nothing else available unless we wanted to upgrade and pay a fee. I refused to pay a fee for their mistake instead we were given a room with a double bed and a cot. This room was also next to a door that exited out to the side parking lot. Anytime someone came or left through this door our whole room shook. I spoke with front desk staff on Friday morning and was moved to a room on the second floor away from the exit door but still with only one double bed and a cot. On our third evening there we noticed our toilet was running continuously. We spoke to the front desk and was told they do not have staff on weekends to do repairs but she would go look at it and try and repair it. When we returned after dinner it seemed fine. We were out the remainder of the evening at our event and returned at 1AM only to find the toilet running again and no water staying in the tank. We again spoke to front desk and after waiting for 30 mins we were moved to a room down the hall. In the morning I did speak with the front desk and was given a discount of $20 for each night we were there. While this was nice of him and greatly appreciated, I really think this hotel needs to do some major updating and basic repairs. I have noticed a huge difference in the care and quality of this hotel and it has declined in the past 18 months. We were also provided two meals per day during our stay as part of the event we were attending. These meals were far from stellar and at some points inedible. The continental breakfast was okay on Friday and Saturday but Sunday's breakfast was terrible and inedible. Our dinners were also either cold, or just not appetizing. This came as a surprise to me because in past visits the food was very good.

Room Tip: We stayed in three different rooms in this hotel in one weekend and none of them were good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KennethClark, General Manager at Johnson and Wales Inn, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Greetings:

Thank you for providing us with your feedback relative to your experience . My sincerest apologies to you that a variety of the elements of your stay were not to your satisfaction- our goal is to provide a pleasant hospitality experience for all of our valued guests, and it is clear that we failed to do so during your time here and also during previous visits.

Rest assured that we are actively working to address the issues noted. Thank you again for your feedback, and we look forward to a successful event during your next visit to our home.

Kenneth Clark
General Manager
P 508.336.8700 Ext. 1518
F 508.336.3414
E kenneth.clark@jwu.edu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ARECIBO,PUERTO RICO
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Good only to rest at night and shower,very clean,location is good,very quit but long distance from interesting areas,the service is very good,small hotel,breakfast buffet included in the price ,but it was cold

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Johnson and Wales Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Johnson and Wales Inn

Address: 213 Taunton Ave., Seekonk, MA 02771
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Seekonk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Seekonk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Johnson and Wales Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 6 miles from downtown Providence and adjacent to East Providence, the Johnson & Wales Inn is located on Rt. 44 in Seekonk MA and offers 84 guest rooms - including 21 suites, 16,000 square feet of meeting space, and full service dining in Audrey's Restaurant.Travelers will enjoy the perfect blend of modern comfort and classic elegance in our 84 unique guest rooms and suites. We are confident that you will recognize the difference that has made us a favorite choice among Seekonk and East Providence area hotels.The Johnson and Wales Inn takes pride in offering a unique brand of hospitality highlighted by the creative culinary expertise of our Johnson & Wales University graduate chefs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com so you can book your Johnson and Wales Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Johnson And Wales Hotel Seekonk
Wales Inn
Johnson Wales Hotel Seekonk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Johnson and Wales Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.