We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Anniversary Weekend!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Historic Jacob Hill Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Historic Jacob Hill Inn to your Saves list
Historic Jacob Hill Inn
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   120 Jacob Street, Seekonk, MA 02771   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Anniversary Romance Bonus
Ranked #1 of 3 Seekonk B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
CT
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great Anniversary Weekend!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2011

Bill and Eleanora made us feel right at home! I loved the fact that everything we wanted was right there and we didn't have to do a thing! The rennovations are beautiful. You can tell how much blood, sweat, love and tears has gone into the inn! Being upgraded was such a nice surprise! Didn't want to leave after such a restful, relaxing time. Loved the creative bottle tree! Great stools in the pool table room!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eleonorar, Owner at Historic Jacob Hill Inn, responded to this review, March 12, 2011
Thank you for your admirable feedback. We’re flattered that you felt extremely accommodated by us. We always try to deliver our guests with the best service possible. We look forward to see you both again at the Jacob Hill Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    9
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
32
234
11
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2011

We luckily stumbled onto this spectacular B+B while perusing TripAdvisor. WIth virtually all 5 star ratings from visitors we were a bit leery about we'd find; it seemed too good to be true. You can see from our ratings that this was not hype - 5 stars are well deserved in all areas. Bill and Eleanor are wonderful hosts with terrific stories of food, antiques, and travel. We stayed in the Newport Suite. It was incredibly well appointed and cared for. The fireplace and jacuzzi were warming in the cold January night. The main inn had a great family room with flat screen TV, movies to choose from, a pool table and a ping pong table. A generous bookcase with books to borrow or keep was a pleasant surprise. Breakfast was made to order and delicious and came with a nice chat with the innkeepers. We are looking forward to a return trip in the spring.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eleonorar, Owner at Historic Jacob Hill Inn, responded to this review, March 12, 2011
Thank you for your marvelous feedback. We’re pleased to see that you took advantage of our books and common areas as well as the amenities in your room. We are always looking for new ways to exceed our guests’ expectations; it’s nice to know we are on the right track. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glastonbury, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2011

My wife and I just stayed at the Jacob Hill Inn for 2 nights. We have stayed in several B&B's before that were great.... however this B&B was the best by far. The Inn must be seen in person as the photos do not do it justice. It's obvious that the owner take incredible pride in there Inn because every inch of it is immaculate and spectactular in a very unique way. The owners make everything all about you and treat you like a privelaged guest. The proximity to the city is great as its a 10 minute ride. We were there to take cooking classes with Chef Walter and Chef Colleta in Providence. I can't wait to stay again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eleonorar, Owner at Historic Jacob Hill Inn, responded to this review, March 12, 2011
Thank you for your wonderful feedback. We’re delighted to hear that you enjoyed the cooking classes with the Professor Chef and Chef Walter in Providence. We try to provide unique experiences to add to our guests stay. We look forward to seeing you both again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Center, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2011

My daughter and I were making a quick weekend trip to Providence for her interview for graduate school. Because we had never traveled to the east coast before we wanted to stay at a quainted New England Inn to relax, enjoy the country, yet had easy access to the Providence air port and the famous Newport mansions. It was evening when we arrived at this charming white inn, twinklng candles in each windo,. holiday wreaths with red ribbons circling the doors, and Bill with his large grin greeting you like an old friend. My daughter's face lit up as she met Bill and El and their infectious and lively charm, cheered to a glass of wine, and toured the historical hunting lodge that Cornelias Vanderbuilt " rested his hat". Each door opened to another charming room. Our room was beautifully decorated, peaceful, comfortable, and had the best view of the snow covered farmland. In the morning Bill and El served us an exquist breakfast with Bills special recipe for french toast layered with cream cheese, berries, hazel nut, and chocolate. Amazing! El 's own special recipe for granola is worth trying with her vanilla yogart and fruit. When it was time for us to tour Newport for the day or find a restaurant, Bill and El insisted on making local restauant reservations for us and equipt us with maps and directions and of course their personal recomendations. I've stayed at several outstanding places in the world, but Jacobs Hill Inn is ranked in my personal top 5 best. Loved it!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eleonorar, Owner at Historic Jacob Hill Inn, responded to this review, March 12, 2011
Thank you for your exceptional feedback. We feel honored to be considered one of your top five places to stay. Our goal at the Inn is to ensure that our guests have everything they need to enjoy their stay. We’re glad you enjoyed our special gourmet breakfast. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2011

My girlfriend and I came to Jacob Hill for a joint birthday weekend. Right from the get-go, when Bill welcomed us at our car and took our luggage, we had a fantastic time. We were greeted with a tour of the beautifully restored buildings with Bill guiding us through each step of the restoration work performed by him and his wife, Eleonora. Our room was excellent, and we loved the fresh-baked cookies that appeared in our cookie jar every time we left the room. My girlfriend still raves about the complimentary lip balm, and we find ourselves missing the breakfast more often than not. Couldn't recommend Jacob Hill Inn any more strongly.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eleonorar, Owner at Historic Jacob Hill Inn, responded to this review, March 12, 2011
Thank you for your thoughtful feedback! We’re so glad you enjoyed the tour as well as your stay with us. We would love for you to come back to try our new triple stuffed toast or new eggs benedict dish. We hope to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyngsboro, Massachusetts
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2011

My wife and I only stayed one night due to our tight schedule, But we will be back!!! Awesome room and one of the best breakfasts I have had in a long time. Highly recommend the Inn, Thanks again Bill and Elenora. See you soon..

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eleonorar, Owner at Historic Jacob Hill Inn, responded to this review, March 12, 2011
Thank you for your feedback. We’re glad you were able to fit us into your schedule. We hope you can come back to visit and be able to enjoy the area some more. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2010

Where to begin? This is our second stay at Jacob Hill Inn, and everything -- everything! -- was perfect, just as it was the first time. The property truly reflects the care and love of its owners, as well as the dedication of the housekeeper. When I went to my room after breakfast, I saw Maria on her hands and knees in another room, brushing the rug. Name any billion-dollar hotel chain that does such meticulous cleaning.

But that doesn't even begin to describe our stay. Honestly, we first stumbled across Jacob Hill Inn when we were looking for a place that had a two-person whirlpool in the room. But what luck. To find not only that amenity, but also luxury bedding, freshly baked cookies left in a jar (and refilled when we got greedy), homecooked breakfast, a snack plate lovingly prepared for us, chocolates on the pillows, a gorgeous setting, the most friendly owners ... need I say more?

I have been to many, many hotels, and when you have a large network of employees, especially when some aren't happy with their job, service is inconsistent, and it's hard to feel like your business matters. At Jacob Hill Inn, you know without a doubt that pleasing you is what matters to Bill & Eleonora, and they are so refreshingly sincere and willing to connect in a world where too much is a blur. I can't imagine anyone dissatisfied with a stay here, and I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eleonorar, Owner at Historic Jacob Hill Inn, responded to this review, March 12, 2011
Thank you for your exceptional feedback. We’re very pleased to hear that you had an amazing stay. We will pass on your comments to our house keeper, she will be pleased to hear that you noticed her hard work. The Jacob Hill Inn is proud to supply many luxurious amenities to our guests. We look forward to your return in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Historic Jacob Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Jacob Hill Inn

Address: 120 Jacob Street, Seekonk, MA 02771
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Seekonk
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Seekonk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Historic Jacob Hill Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on country Estate, minutes from the Historic East Side of Providence, Brown University or the Downtown Convention Center. Jacob Hill Inn has a long history of hosting some of America's most affluent families, including the Vanderbilt's. Recently updated rooms are spacious most have king size beds Individually appointed with antiques, all have fireplaces most have Jacuzzi tubs for two. On premises is an in-ground pool, tennis court and billiard room with Plasma home theater. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Jetsetter so you can book your Historic Jacob Hill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Jacob Hill Hotel Seekonk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Historic Jacob Hill Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.