We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Historic Jacob Hill Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Historic Jacob Hill Inn to your Saves list
Historic Jacob Hill Inn
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   120 Jacob Street, Seekonk, MA 02771   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Romantic Getaway Special
Ranked #1 of 3 Seekonk B&B and Inns
Suffern, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Charming!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Charming is the best way to describe Eleanora and Bill Rezak's Historic Inn. We stayed in the Tiffany room which had a working fireplace. The weather was bitter cold but the fireplace added to the warm feelings of the well appointed Country French decor of the room. Breakfast was scrumptious and Eleanora is a gracious host. I can only imagine how lovely it is to stay there in the warm weather months. Seekonk is minutes from Providence where we took in a play at the Repertory theater. If you return to the inn at night after an evening out just look for the candles in the windows to find your way back. Enjoy yourself.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    369
    9
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
32
228
11
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dover
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We arrived after a long and tedious trip. Much to much road construction in Connecticut had us wilting on the vine. When we finally got to Jacob Hill, El and Bill came running out to greet us with warm hugs and big smiles. They helped us get our bags in and settled. When they noticed my husband walking with a cane because of a recent hip replacement, they immediately changed our room to one with a walk-in shower for his convenience. We were treated like royalty. This trip was for a family wedding. We've already made reservations for May when our oldest grandson graduates from college. It's our home away from home.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

this is a lovely inn, nice grounds, nice rooms. A few things made me give this rating:
- don't advertise for wine and cheese if the cheese is pre-cut and stored in the communal fridge for days and you have to go and request the glass of wine. To me, this goes against the idea of hospitality of the guests sharing time together
- rooms are nicely appointed, but very noisy. I'm not talking about the old plumbing system, but the front door of some of the rooms are a good inch short, not a great protection from noice coming from the hallways and corridors.
- breakfast was fine, but I dislike being given canned fruit salad when the website advertises for great, fresh breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eleonorar, Owner at Historic Jacob Hill Inn, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Happy Holidays to you and all of our guests. Thank you for taking the time to write. We are glad you liked our Inn, enjoyed our spacious grounds and the accommodations. We are also happy that you bring a misconception to our attention. We are an intimate get away, a place for couples to spent time together. From experience we choose to make individual cheese plates that we make fresh per arrival. Each plate has: Vermont cheddar cheese, crackers, carrots, pepperoni, and pub mix each is covered with plastic wrap (we also make special vegetarian or gluten free plates) these individual complimentary plates are in the guest pantry along with fresh fruit, tea, coffee, hot chocolate, soft drinks and cold bottled water. There is so much to do in our area that we do not want guests to feel that they have to cut their day short to rush back to the Inn not to miss something, they can spend more time together and have these complimentary food amities any time they want. We also put individual jars of cookies in each room that get refilled daily.
We also offer a complimentary glass of wine on arrival.
Our breakfasts are individually cooked to order; we provide several courses including my own granola which guests have told me they come back for that alone.
You stayed in our silver level room which has an antique door that we try to preserve from the 1700’s. You may have missed the draft dodger we provide to block any noise .
Hope this clears things up. We look forward to your return
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Absolutely wonderful stay in a gorgeous historic inn with fantastic service and delightful hosts. Our room was beautiful, breakfasts delicious, hospitality absolutely wonderful! Could not have had a better stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eleonorar, Owner at Historic Jacob Hill Inn, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
So glad we were able to please you. “Your pleasure is our business” thanks for taking the time to let us know. Look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I enjoyed a couple of days at the Jacob Hill Inn while in Providence for a family wedding. The room where I stayed in the farmhouse, the Tiffany room, was lovely. The only problem I had was in locking/unlocking my room with the old keys and locks. The room was very nice with very nice decor, a spacious bathroom and a very comfortable big bed. The breakfasts were very nice and I felt very much at home. I enjoyed my stay at the Jacob Hill Inn very much.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eleonorar, Owner at Historic Jacob Hill Inn, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write and let us know about your experience. So happy to hear you liked our Inn. We have tried to keep the Tiffany door from the 1700’s as original as possible but we will be changing the locking mechanism to eliminate any further problems sorry for any inconvenience. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Went there to celebrate our 7th anniversary and just like all the reviews..................it was wonderful. The property is absolutely gorgeous and the hosts Bill and Eleanora go out of their way to make you feel welcome. Hospitality at its finest!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eleonorar, Owner at Historic Jacob Hill Inn, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience at the Historic Jacob Hill Inn. We give it our all, so glad that we were able to make your anniversary special. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We just arrived home refreshed after celebrating our first wedding anniversary at the Historic Jacob Hill Inn. When we first pulled up, we thought the grounds were beautiful but we did not know what else to expect. Before we knew it, Bill had shown us our room, gave us a grand tour of the property and a glass of wine and we felt right at home. The highlights of our stay were the in-room fireplace, comfy bedding, ping pong and pool room, and the sensitivity of the owners to our wants and needs. The main course of breakfast was delicious both days but the absolute star of those meals was Eleanora's homemade granola. We would definitely recommend this inn to our friends as a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eleonorar, Owner at Historic Jacob Hill Inn, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
So happy that you were able to enjoy many of our amenities on our property and sharing your experience with others. It’s true many people do not know what to expect I guess I missed the boat on marketing…Thank you for doing that for us. Again happy anniversary and we look forward to your return just the two of you or with friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Historic Jacob Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Jacob Hill Inn

Address: 120 Jacob Street, Seekonk, MA 02771
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Seekonk
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Seekonk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Historic Jacob Hill Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on country Estate, minutes from the Historic East Side of Providence, Brown University or the Downtown Convention Center. Jacob Hill Inn has a long history of hosting some of America's most affluent families, including the Vanderbilt's. Recently updated rooms are spacious most have king size beds Individually appointed with antiques, all have fireplaces most have Jacuzzi tubs for two. On premises is an in-ground pool, tennis court and billiard room with Plasma home theater. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, T4B, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Historic Jacob Hill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Jacob Hill Hotel Seekonk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Historic Jacob Hill Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.