We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I WANT to like this place but...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Not Your Average Joe's

Not Your Average Joe's
1125 Fall River Ave, Seekonk, MA 02771-5814
+1 508-343-5637
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Not Your Average Joe's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 74 Restaurants in Seekonk
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“I WANT to like this place but...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Having patronized several other Not Your Average Joe's in MA, I was happy to see them open in the late Bugaboo Creek space in Seekonk. I have since been there three times and it just doesn;t make it for me. My experiences have covered, cold food, food I have been told was so hot I needed to be careful (and it was still cold) and last week, a salad that was so tasteless it made me want to send it back. I don't know, perhaps the kitchen and staff here is fixated on hoards of 20 somethings whose expectations are low and tastebuds obliterated by too many Dunkin Donuts Iced Coffees "extra, extra, extra, extra,extra) or by too much alcohol and red bull....but the food here is always pretty bland and tasteless and the check always seems to be awfully high for what is no better in my mind than what you can get for a lot less at your local Applebee's.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    38
    14
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
N. Providence
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Enjoyed everything”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We were 6 Redhatters that dined here last night. Schnitzel and Kuggel were ordered by most. I had Mediterranean Chicken. One serving of pork did come out half raw. A new dish was prepared immediately. Other than that, everything was good. My rice was nicely seasoned, and the food was more fresh made than the usual chain type food.
My favorite thing at this restaurant is the dipping oil and bread. I cannot stop eating it...The oil is blended with grated cheese, hot pepper seeds, garlic and who knows what else? It is so delicious that I get full on that before the meal comes.
For dessert we all shared one huge piece of Peanut Butter Thing, one of their signature desserts. It was huge and delicious.
Excellent attentive prompt service. The manager stopped at our table a few times to make sure all was ok. Nice touch.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington, Rhode Island
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Definitely not your average joes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I had passed this restaraunt a few times since it was redone. Formerly Bugaboo Creek "steak house", I was extremely pessimistic that the food here would be good.

I think it's fresh and new and a welcome addition to the restaraunts in the area that have been getting a little "tired". 1149 "bar and grill", Ichigo Ichie, they are good restaraunts but unfortunately showing some of their age and wear and tear already.

Not your average joes has a great "bar and grill" menu with great pizza and wonderful bread. I think it's a great "safe and interesting menu" that is convenient. There's a bit of outdoor seating wihch is nice in the summer and fall.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

I still can't get over the fact that it use to be Bugaboo Steak house! Enough of that! We walked in and our preference on seating was taken into consideration. My father is hard of hearing and I asked for a quiet place to sit since the music was loud. We were seated at a table by the front window facing the main road. The noise level was much reduced. Which says a lot, there are places where you can not get away from the music at all.

The waiter came over and asked if we had ever been there before. Gave us some very good suggestions. We ordered a simple meat and potato dish for my father.and I ordered the steamed dumplings. Prior to the food arriving we were served with fresh made bread and an olive oil mixture (can't remember the second oil) the added herbs and grated cheese. When the food arrived the presentation was eye pleasing. Both meals were very good. My only complaint and the general complaint around me was that sauces were poured over the food. I had the dipping sauce poured over the dumplings and after one bite promptly moved all of it to another plate. The sauces are good but overpowering. Our waiter was wonderful, sorry can't remember his name, I did fill out the comment card and mail it to the home office along with his name and gave him an excellent rating!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“What a different experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

After eating at this chain in Burlington Boston and not being impressed we decided to give it another go after reading all the reviews about this one and we were not dissapointed. Food was wonderful, I had the meatloaf which was the best I have ever had.
Juliananna was our server and was charming and knowledgeable about the menu.
Would now thoroughly recommend it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Not Your Average Joe's also viewed

 

Been to Not Your Average Joe's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Not Your Average Joe's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.