We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A mixed bag” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Scituate Harbor

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Inn at Scituate Harbor to your Saves list
The Inn at Scituate Harbor
7 Beaver Dam Road, Scituate, MA 02066   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Scituate
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“A mixed bag”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed at the Inn at Scituate Harbour for 2 nights while in town for a wedding. Because we made the booking so far in advance, they kindly upgraded us to a King room, which was very spacious and had a nice view of the Harbour. The water pressure was pretty awful, not what you want when you're trying to prim and preen for a formal occasion. The sound proofing left a lot to be desired. We could clearly hear the phone call going on in the next room (lucky it was my uncle) and the slightest movement of the people upstairs was a real racket in our room. A basic breakfast was included. Overall, the experience was ok, but I wouldn't rave...and I've been known to.

Room Tip: Try for a top floor room to minimise neighbour noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    33
    15
    9
    1
See reviews for
32
38
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Nice location, Quaint little Fishing village. I had a great fishing trip with Mass Bay Guides. Hotel Staff was very friendly. Great if you are coming in to Boston and need a little old school New England getaway.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston, ma
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

My now-husband and I stayed here the night before our wedding and on our wedding night. We were told we had the "best room in the hotel" but it was very dated and the bathroom was tiny. We didn't really mind this until the morning of our wedding when we both had to take COLD showers with incredibly weak water pressure. I called the front desk and they offered to take a look at the water. A guy came up and did something to it but by that time it was way too late--we had already showered and had to get going. We didn't bother with the shower and left early the morning after the wedding. I am not one to complain about hotels, but this was overall a very disappointing experience. They didn't offer us any recourse or compensation. It didn't ruin our wedding day, but you can bet we won't be back to this hotel.

Room Tip: Pick a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyndaf1, General Manager at The Inn at Scituate Harbor, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
We are sorry for any inconvenience you may have experienced. I am glad our maintenance technician, who was sent to your room immediately, was able to fix the situation. When your mother booked your room it was because it had a beautiful view, two windows and was a corner room, although a bit smaller, it offered more privacy for your wedding night. We have many repeat guests who specifically request this room over and over again. The Inn was reopened in 2009 and since then has had many updates throughout, including 40 inch flat screens, IPod docking stations, new bathrooms, carpeting windows, window treatments, refrigerators and bedding in all rooms. The furniture, currently hand painted Hitchcock furniture made in New England, is being replaced in June of this year, completing the update process. We are very excited about this and hope that you will give our The Inn at Scituate Harbor another try!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We had a great stay here with two kids, two and under. The suite was nice and big we even brought the baby walker and a tricycle. the kids loved it! There's a fridge and microwave in the room too. The linens were super soft and the pillows were great, they give you varying densities to choose what you like. The toiletries were crabtree and Evelyn. We had the pool to ourselves which was nice, the water was comfortable temperature. Yessss I agree with other reviewers, the walls are super duper duper THIN!! But all we did was put some white noise on the radio and barely heard a thing. We ordered some pub food from the bar which was decent, coffee and free continental breakfast in the morning was decent too (fruit, yogurt and pastry). Its all so close, a walk down a flight of stairs, no further than in your own house. I would recommend the suite for a family, its comfortable and big. There's also a curtain to separate the seating area from the beds, which is nice when the kids go to sleep. We only paid about $200 off season, great value for the room and location.

Room Tip: Bring a white noise machine, the walls are very very thin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Friendly staff, great location, dated yet clean room with thin walls, pretty good continental breakfast. But otherwise a thumbs down...

The big issue is that we were told when we reserved a room that there would be entertainment and a NYE party in the hotel bar. Upon check in we were told, only after mentioning the bar, that it was closed. Strike 1. Then we were told about about construction in the pool area - new flooring was getting installed - we could still use the pool but be careful. Strike 2. And due to the construction the ice maker was shut down. Strike 3.

Hello, it's New Years Eve - not really a good time to close your bar or perform construction.


Scituate harbor mostly has restaurants and closes early on NYE - that's why we booked at a hotel with a bar and entertainment. We had to notify friends who were to join us at the bar that we had to cancel.

There was no offer of a discount or anything aside from an offer to get ice if we really needed it. They should have at least had the courtesy to notify customers about the bar being closed ahead of time so that we could have made alternate plans.

We made the best of it but doubt we'll be back.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyndaf1, General Manager at The Inn at Scituate Harbor, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
I apologize for any misunderstanding, however our bar was never scheduled to be open on Monday, New Year's Eve. Our winter bar hours are Thursday-Saturday. Our pool was always open and the desk clerk was simply saying that we are installing new tile in the vending machine area and she wanted you to be aware of that but it did not have any bearing on your enjoyment of the pool. The ice machine was located in that area and had to be moved but we do have another ice machine and as you stated the desk clerk was accomodating and was able to fulfill your needs. Hotels are a 24/7 operation and we do the best we can to work around the business of the hotel and the comfort and service of our guests. I believe we did an excellent job of that.

I also am not sure if you recognized this but when you made your reservation your rate was $219 and when we lowered our rates (because New Year's Eve was on a Monday) we refunded you $50, not because you asked but becuase we thought it was the right thing to do. So I do hope you will consider staying again. Our staff and location are the best and we have ordered all new furnishings for the guest rooms to update them!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

I stayed at the Inn on December 15, 2012 as part of a large group. We were there for my sister's wedding and the inn was very accommodating to us. We had to change a few rooms due to the number of beds and the fact that I had booked the only suite and they took care of everything quickly and were very friendly. I didn't know there was only one suite and decided to give that to my sister and her soon-to-be new husband. I did see the suite and it was extremely large. There were two queen size beds, a small dining area and a livingroom as well. It would be perfect for a group of 3 or 4 people to share that room. I'm planning on going back in the spring with 2 friends and we'll take that room.
The inn has a swimming pool and a pub on the lower level plus an outdoor sitting area. The pub was very nice and has a gas fireplace although I don't think they serve food there. I may be mistaken but I got the sense it was drinks only.
The location of the inn was right at the end of a small downtown area that had restaurants and shops, perfect for a nice stroll or to have a bite to eat. The inn faces the harbor and the room offer nice views.
I would definitely recommend this inn for a get-away weekend in a quaint town. It's also less than an hour from Boston so you don't have to fight the Cape Cod traffic.

Room Tip: There is only one suite so book early if you want that. There are king rooms and rooms with 2 beds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We've stayed at the Inn a few times, and probably will again. This is a decent inn with a focus on simple, but good–this is not the place to go if you're looking for over the top luxury. The rooms are fairly basic (with good bedding), and the breakfast, while simple, has a good variety of nice teas, fruit, yogurt, and pastries. The staff is really wonderful–very friendly, attentive, and accommodating (when they can be; see below).

Our one issue was with the fact that we were directly over the bar in Room 11. One of the benefits of coming here is that you can bring your pet, but your room choice is limited to the pet-friendly rooms. We were told that it was "quiet time" from 10pm on. The band stopped playing around 10pm, but then there was other music playing and the usual drunk laughing, talking, etc. that didn't stop until 11:30pm. To be fair, it was Saturday night, and while we did make 10:10pm "what's with the noise??" call to the front desk, we didn't ask to be moved to another room. It's possible they would have moved us, but we were tired and looking at an early morning departure, so we just suffered through it.

SO, if you're cool with bar noise–or you ARE the bar noise–then Room 11 should be fine for you.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn at Scituate Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Scituate Harbor

Address: 7 Beaver Dam Road, Scituate, MA 02066
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Scituate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Scituate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renovated harbor front 29 room inn where all the rooms have a view! Within walking distance to shops, restaurants, spas, beaches and movies. In room amenities include bottled water, ipod docking stations, Flat screen TVs, refrigerators, hairdryers and irons, free WiFi, unlimited phone calls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your The Inn at Scituate Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Scituate Harbor Hotel Scituate

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Scituate Harbor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.