We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice inn, excellent location; unfortunately, the rooms have very thin walls.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Scituate Harbor

Save Saved
You added The Inn at Scituate Harbor to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Inn at Scituate Harbor
7 Beaver Dam Road, Scituate, MA 02066   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Scituate
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice inn, excellent location; unfortunately, the rooms have very thin walls.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011 via mobile

Two out of three nights it was very difficult to go to sleep.

Wonder why on a Sunday night when it was obvious there were plenty of rooms available, we ended up with a very loud, crass and probably drunk couple next to us. They fought until 3 am, and a call to the front desk yielded no results.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyndaf1, General Manager at The Inn at Scituate Harbor, responded to this review, December 7, 2011
Thank you for your response, I am glad you like the location and The Inn. Scituate is a wonderful place for a quick getaway or a family vacation! The Inn was built in 1969 and even with all the new revovations noise can sometimes be heard. I am so sorry you had loud guests next to you. We do have quiet hours beginning at 10pm and do our best to make The Inn condusive to sleeping. Our desk clerks are trained to address any guest who is not being respectful and, in fact, if the behavior does not change we will ask the guest to leave the premises. I tried to investigate the situation but was unable to pinpoint your complaint to the desk clerk. I have reminded the desk clerks about our policy and hope that you will give The Inn and Scituate another visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    21
    12
    7
    1
See reviews for
25
30
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

Stayed a night for a quick getaway from Boston. The staff were nice, but the accommodations are overpriced for the room and 'view'. For this price range I expect to at least be able to see the water from sitting in the room, but the window box is too high up to see while sitting. The continental breakfast was nicer than expected, so that was a bonus. The location is great for hanging out in Scituate, but we won't be going back.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyndaf1, General Manager at The Inn at Scituate Harbor, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
We agree we have a great staff (we are lucky to have them) and our location here in the harbor is perfect for enjoying the shops, restaurants, and many other sites and activities. Every room has a wonderful view of the harbor, light house and pier however there are a few third floor rooms where the window is slightly higher than normal to allow for the air conditioning unit....we have received some quotes and are working with a decorator to purchase counter height seating for those few rooms. All of our other rooms have seating that allow our guests to see our priceless view of Scituate Harbor. We hope you will change your mind and visit Scituate again.... it is truly a hidden gem!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

This is a two star hotel with four star prices. We came with our best friends for an anniversary weekend. We were willing to pay a little more than usual because we had expectations based on reviews and hotel location. Location was great. Hotel was disappointing. Our room was very small for a very big price. We were told all rooms same size. NOT. Our friends room was much bigger. No fan in the bathroom. Bed linens nice but room decor shabby. It was okay but nothing special. We asked to see the room rates and were told "we dont have published room rates. Its like an airplane, the more it is booked the higher the price." We paid $285 per night and recieved $23 off when we complained upon checkout. Too bad, its a pretty location but I would not return to this hotel at these prices.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyndaf1, General Manager at The Inn at Scituate Harbor, responded to this review, October 11, 2011
I hope you do return and I am sorry if you feel mislead. Our room rates are the same for all types of rooms (most properties charge more or less depending on the bed set up). Our rates are available online at our website (we do not have a pamphlet with printed prices), they do change, as is standard practice in hotels, air lines and many other products and services, it is based on supply and demand. Our corner rooms are smaller but because they have windows on two walls they are the most requested rooms at The Inn. Your intial reservation booked two of the last rooms available for the sell out weekend during prime season. We try to offer the best customer service so when you cancelled last minute and asked to change your arrival date due to weather, we did not apply the cancellation fee and you again chose a weekend where we sold out and you were the last to book. Our Inn has seen many renovations including all new carpeting, windows, flat screen TVs, window treatments, bedding, lock systems, pool and bar updates and as budget allows, updates to the room furnishings which are currently New England Hitchcock furniture. There are fans in all bathrooms that are kept running continuously by a master switch, to ensure proper air circulation. Scituate is a beautiful town with lots to offer so I hope you will visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

Stayed here recently for business as it is the only hotel in town. It was decent enough. The room was large and the internet was FREE!!! They had a small continental breakfast which was decent for a light breakfast. But......I decided to leave a day early and they still charged me for the 2nd night. This is within their rights, but I think they could have waived the 2nd night in order to gain a satisfied customer. Anyways.....decent hotel, but a little over priced.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshfield, Massachusetts
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011 via mobile

My thanks for a great overall stay! Most appreciated the fact that the owners didn't increase prices because folks were in such despair. Greed is not a part of this fine motel.
I loved the location so close to harbor and shops. The sunrise was breathtaking after the hurricane!
The staff was warm and helpful - all and all - wonderful.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011 via mobile

I stayed one night, for business, and found the Inn to be very pleasant. Clean, even with the pool and the ocean across the street no musty moldy smell that sometimes takes over. Funky arrangement if rooms, all seemingly excellent views. I didn't try the food, I think it's not offered every day. Continental was a bit limited, but fresh and with decent coffee. Rooms were clean and homey, very b&b feel to the place, nice parlor, and very welcoming. Staff seemed a bit off, little things like taking calls while helping a guest at the counter, seemingly random ready-times for rooms: not terrible, but disconcerting, like you didn't quite have their attention. No harm, part of the charm if you aren't too uptight about a casual vibe. If you want fawning service, it's not here. Great place!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

I want to thank everyone that works at the Inn you made my stay very peacefull and nothing can beat the harbor's views, and everything is within walking distance... Great nights sleep and thanks to the staff for the conversation and your care and concern for my happiness :) I will be back soon...
Darlene Scarsilloni
904 Manor rd
Beverly, Mass 01915

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Inn at Scituate Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Scituate Harbor

Address: 7 Beaver Dam Road, Scituate, MA 02066
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Scituate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Scituate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renovated harbor front 29 room inn where all the rooms have a view! Within walking distance to shops, restaurants, spas, beaches and movies. In room amenities include bottled water, ipod docking stations, Flat screen TVs, refrigerators, hairdryers and irons, free WiFi, unlimited phone calls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your The Inn at Scituate Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Scituate Harbor Hotel Scituate

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Scituate Harbor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.