We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sandwich Lodge & Resort

Save Saved
You added Sandwich Lodge & Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sandwich Lodge & Resort
2.0 of 5 Resort   |   54 Route 6A, P.O. Box 1038, Old Kings Highway, Sandwich, MA 02563   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Sandwich
A TripAdvisor Member
“Great stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2005

We stayed here for our one year anniversary & it was great! We stayed in the Jacuzzi suite. Very clean, & comfy! The only problem we had was the sound the faucet made when running water into the jacuzzi. We would definitely stay again!..Also, the restaurant next door was very good as well..

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    43
    33
    18
    30
See reviews for
46
37
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2005

We stayed at the Sandwich Lodge for my wife’s birthday the first room the nonsmoking room I hade reserved was not cleaned yet @ 5:30 pm then they moved us to the room next door a somking room this room hade no paper towels no facial tissue (box empty) and a face clothe in the corner out on the deck I don’t think we will be going back We are cape Cod residents and need to recommend motels on cape all the time

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2005

Our only advice is to double check your reservations with them - and do it again. Although they had our reservations wrong when we arrived (after I had checked them twice via telephone with them); they did put us in the appropriate suite and did not charge us for the additional upgrade. They did provide us with towels, sheets and pillows as requested because the room was not already equipped to handle six guests. Breakfast was not lavish, but was fine especially for kids - prepackaged muffins and cinnamon rolls, cereal, plain bagels and toast, various juices and coffee. There was a staff member in the breakfast room keeping everything stocked and clean which was really nice. The indoor pool and ping pong table was a treat for the kids. (Pool table was temporarily broken). The room was adequate but they only provided a few paper plates, cups, and plastic silverware for the "kitchen". The only thing "dirty" appeared to be the pull-out sofa which is primarily due to a bad fabric choice. Every pull-out sofa probably has the same "dirty" stains and markings but are hidden by better fabric designs/color. The pub next door is great. I would certainly stay there again with kids.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SANTA ROSA CA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2005

The facility is OK, but I was unhappy with the room. It was an inside room and the only windows faced the enclosed pool area. Thus the rooms were very dark. On top of that, I believe they only use 25 watt light bulbs.

Our suite was cramped and in the three day time we were there we never had any maid service. We had to go to the office to get clean towels every day.

The free continental breakfast was OK. Coffee, danish and cereal were offered. It would have been nice to have some fresh fruit, too.

I believe there are better place to stay in the area & it would be worth some research to fine it!

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2005

Stayed in early June, The location of the Sandwich Lodge is perfect for exploring the Cape, Boston and Plymouth. Traveling to these points was easy from this destination. We had a non smoking suite by the pool which my youngest kid loved. It is in the nice village of Sandwich. The room we had was just average,could have been a little cleaner when we checked in, just some very minor things. The employees were very helpful on any request that we had. Next door is the British Beer Rest. The food is great and the beer is cold, what more can you ask for. Also you are real close to the cape cod canal which is a great place to bike ride and a couple of restaurants. We ate at Horizons,good food, and a GREAT view. And if your going down to Hyannis, be patient, the traffic is pretty heavy around the area. The Cape Cod Mall is nice but parking is sometimes a problem, the lot was full until we got a spot, went into the mall and it was not crowded at all, so be patient looking for a parking spot. When going on the Cape Cod train, just do the scenic ticket. forget the luncheon train, way overpriced for a chicken salad so save your money and just enjoy the ride. All the little towns on the cape are great places to check out. And drive down Rte 6a for a good perspective of life on the cape. For a first time family of four to the area, we had a great time. I used this site before we went and it was very helpful so we had to post for the next Cape Cod travelers.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2005

First, forgive us for providing so much detail, as we feel that management will respond to this, based on their defensiveness when we approached them.
We stayed here with our dogs on May 13-14, in one of the front rooms (which are shabby). On Friday nite, there were guests in two rooms nearby who created a loud disturbances from partying until midnite. We managed to keep our dogs quiet and hoped that our next nite would be better.

However, Saturday nite - the same two rooms started partying around 9pm, with car doors slamming, loud laughing, screaming, banging. At 11pm, we contacted the front desk and told them we could not sleep nor calm our dogs down as the noise from a nearby room was disturbing us.

At midnite, when nothing had changed, still loud, etc - We called the desk again. After several rings, the night auditor answered and said that he went to the room and there was no one in it, so in his eyes, there was no disturbance. I told him that there were cars in-and-out, people outside and noise coming from a room near ours. He said he could not go back outside but indicated that there were two rooms with 8 couples each in them (! Doesn't this EXCEED the fire law?), and he would call the room.

At 1:13am, when nothing had changed, we called the police. They arrived ASAP and demanded entry to the party rooms. The party finally broke up at 2am.

At 6am, we were awoken again, after only 4 hours of sleep, by the occupants of the party rooms leaving. Also, detectives were on the premises.

We went to front desk, asked for management and inquired about a refund or some form of reduction since we were deprived of sleep and management there did not even respond to the disturbance. Management was extremely defensive and could not understand why we wanted a refund. They denied that there was a disturbance. We were told that we needed to contact the owner on Monday, may 16. When we called him, we were again given the runaround, as "he will be out all week" and still have not received a return phone call.

We will NEVER stay here again and we are taking legal measures to have the room charge returned for one nite.

By the way - they don't give receipts unless you ask!

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2005

The Sandich lodge is a place we'd stay at again. We were greeted warmly at check-in, the room we had for the weekend was a suite. It was clean, and everything worked the way it should. The pool was fun for the kids. The staff was very accomodating to our group (we were traveling with other families) and everyone in the group had a great time. The continental breakfast offered was just right and the location of the facility was easy to get to. We'd stay here again in a heartbeat. Thanks to the Staff at the hotel for being so excellent.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sandwich Lodge & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandwich Lodge & Resort

Address: 54 Route 6A, P.O. Box 1038, Old Kings Highway, Sandwich, MA 02563
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Sandwich
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Sandwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sandwich Lodge & Resort 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the charm of Cape Cod hospitality at Sandwich Lodge & Resort. Located on picturesque Old King's Highway (Route 6A) in the beautiful village of Sandwich on Cape Cod. Historical Sandwich Village is a world known tourist destination on Cape Cod. Old King's Highway flows through the heart of Sandwich which has been voted one of America's top 10 scenic highways.Relax in our spacious rooms, heated indoor water pool with Jacuzzi, and our seasonal outdoor pool. Enjoy our family BBQ area and arcade, relax in our lobby where coffee/tea is available 24 hours a day. Complimentary Continental Breakfast, which is served in our breakfast room daily, and there is complimentary WIFI throughout the building. Be our guest and enjoy a discount for lunch or dinner at British Beer Company, located next door to the Lodge. Group services available for Weddings, Reunions, Bus Tours and Sports Teams. The Lodge is open year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Sandwich Lodge & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandwich Lodge And Resort
Sandwich Hotel Sandwich
Sandwich Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandwich Lodge & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.