We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back for the 3rd time - always a delight!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Isaiah Jones Homestead Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Isaiah Jones Homestead Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Isaiah Jones Homestead Bed & Breakfast
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   165 Main Street, Sandwich, MA 02563   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Sandwich B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Redding, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Back for the 3rd time - always a delight!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2010

What a wonderful getaway!! We spent two very relaxing nights at the Isaiah Jones Homestead (our third visit) and were once again welcomed with open arms by Donnie and Katherine. It was fun to catch up with them and to be back in this beautiful home. Katherine puts a great deal of love into the cooking and decorating. Sitting in the lovely Victorian dining room is a great way to start the day. The food is always delicious and the presentation superb. Donnie is a great host and gave us great restaurant recommendations. This time he suggested whale watching and it was fantastic. We were happy to try something new and appreciated his input. Our room was lovely - the Thomas Dexter Room. We've stayed in 3 different rooms and all were tastefully decorated and extremely comfortable. We made the acquaintance of some other guests visiting from California and we all agreed this place was something special.

Hats off to Katherine and Donnie for doing a wonderful job of making strangers feel like friends and for their generous spirit in opening their heart and home to us.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    14
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
219
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2010

This was our second visit to the Isaiah Jones Homestead (we loved it so much, we had to come back!) We loved visiting with Don & Katherine once again and had a wonderful weekend. The hospitality, the room, and the breakfasts were awesome. You truly feel like family when you stay there. We have recommended this inn to many of our friends and will visit again as soon as we can!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Attleboro, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

Our stay at the Isaiah Jones Homestead was nothing short of perfect, I only wish we were able to stay longer than just one night. The inn keepers Don and Katherine were wonderful people and made sure all our needs were met. Our room was lovely and breakfast was absolutely delicious.
Great location for walking around this adorable little town. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2010

My wife and I spent six days at this inn. I could recite all the usual superlatives for a well-run establishment of this nature - charming room, excellent service, quaint atmosphere, superb breakfasts - but the real keys to the truly special nature of the inn are the proprietors, Donnie and Katherine. They made my wife and me feel as if we were their personal guests and that we were to be accommodated as friends. When it was time to head home, we were sad not only that our vacation had ended but also that we were leaving such wonderful hosts. Donnie and Katherine apparently enjoy running the inn and dealing with people, and it is their personal touches that make a stay at this inn a unique experience.

Elliot W

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2010

Just returned for a short trip to New England and this was one of the highlights.
Donny and Catherine are great hosts making you feel at home as soon as you walk through the door. The breakfasts are amazing - homemade scones, pancakes, fruit dishes... The homestead is a delightful old building with furnishings to match and is a great place to relax after a busy day sight seeing.
Go for a walk around Sandwich and particularly the boardway to the beach - it's worth it. But watch out for Monday night when most restaurants are closed!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2010

When my girlfriend and I visited Isaiah Jones Homestead Bed and Breakfast in July of 2010, we were unhappy to find it very overrated. We were expecting a high level of service, luxury and food and were disappointed. As a result we cannot fully recommend it, but we do think that it would be a good second or third place option if you would like to stay in Sandwich, which we do recommend. This is a lengthy review that I broke down by section so it would be easier for the reader to digest.
SERVICE: We found the innkeepers, Donnie and Katherine, to be pleasant and well-meaning but overbearing at times and largely unhelpful. One part of a “summer fun package” we purchased (which by the way did not result in any savings, which is misleading) was passage by ferry to Martha’s Vineyard. They cheerfully provided us with gift certificates but not tickets (so it didn’t save us any time since we still had to wait in line) and failed to volunteer critical non-obvious information, such as how much time to allow to make the boat. We allowed an extra 35 minutes but it wasn’t enough to get there, get on the bus to the ferry from the parking lot, and exchange the gift certificates for the tickets.
The other parts of the package were a whale watch with Hyannis Whale Watching Tours (which was excellent by the way) and a dinner (up to $50) at a restaurant of our choice. The tickets for the tours are date and time specific so we let them know at breakfast that we wanted to do a tour that day. Donnie happily obliged our decision and began to push a restaurant for us to go to afterwards. When we decided to go elsewhere, he made it seem as if it was a significant burden for them to arrange and followed up with us late that night and the next morning to remind us how imposing we were. Why he didn’t just offer guests like us a $50 Visa check card for this is beyond me. Besides, $50 hardly covered the cost of the modest meal we had either at the restaurant of our choice or the place he recommended so the offer of an “included dinner” again seemed misleading. Finally, the pressure to choose a poor restaurant during breakfast and the awkward late-night meeting really rubbed us the wrong way.
LUXURY: We stayed in the Thomas Dexter room which we found to be clean and in satisfactory condition, but the living room area of the house felt old and smelled musty. The air conditioning was weak, coming through a single small heat vent on the floor, but the cool evening air and a ceiling fan was enough to keep us comfortable. The entrance to the room was through a very steep stairwell that opposed the innkeeper’s quarters, distinct from the hall that served other rooms in the main house. The bathroom was clean but the cheap style of the fixtures was reminiscent of a Holiday Inn, not a luxurious bed and breakfast. It also had an additional door that led to the main hallway, which was uncomfortable since it directly opposed the toilet and had a large gap at the bottom.
FOOD: We were generally unimpressed with the breakfasts, not only because of the food, but also because they didn’t start until 8:30am which interfered with some of our early days. To be fair, the freshly squeezed orange juice and the quality of the small serving of fruit we were provided was very good but the entrées were consistently underwhelming. They were unimaginatively simple (such as “eggs to order”) where even a simple request for toast was met with puzzlement. This level of food is fine for the continental breakfast at the Holiday Inn but it is unacceptable for a luxury bed and breakfast where this meal helps define the experience of the entire stay.
BOTTOM LINE: The location of this bed and breakfast is very convenient to the lovely town of Sandwich which has a very nice beach, a nice mainstreet with good not-too-touristy shops (The Spotted Cod, The Brown Jug) and Heritage Gardens which is a nice little botanical garden with a very impressive collection of beautifully restored classic cars. The Glass Museum is also pretty cool. The local beaches are also very nice.
While we unreservedly recommend staying in Sandwich, at the Isaiah Jones Homestead, the Innkeepers are fairly nice but uninspired and the combination of a modest level of luxury and the disappointing breakfasts make for poor value. Check out the Belfry Inn on Jarves Street or the Daniel Webster Inn first.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isaiahjones, Owner at Isaiah Jones Homestead Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 7, 2010
We were devastated to learn that any of our guests had had a less than satisfying experience staying with us. Because we have such wonderful people visiting our bed and breakfast, we have no problem tending to their every need and every desire. We both have many years' experience in the hospitality and travel industry, as most of our guests know, so are often a wealth of information for those visiting the area for the first time. Of course, we do find that some guests rely on information they've gleaned from friends or other sources, so do not choose to avail themselves of our expertise. Often this is just fine, but sometimes it results in surprises for the unwary. We've also noticed that on the rare occasion when we offer "eggs to order" for breakfast, it's easy to satisfy everyone who chooses what they truly love, such as an omelet or eggs benedict. Not so with plain scrambled egg whites (requested without cheese or sauteed vegetables,) we're afraid. We doubt anyone would feel that they'd had an inspired breakfast with an uninspired choice such as that! And, too, when guests choose a room with a standard private bathroom rather than one with a whirlpool tub and separate shower (which costs a bit more,) they may feel the level of luxury they're experiencing is not the same as it is for other guests who have paid for those extras.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2010

Our first trip to Sandwich and chose this B&B based on reviews seen. We were not disappointed!!! Welcomed to home and given a tour by owner who had a great sense of humour and made you instantly feel at home. Stayed in the Samuel Beale Room - absolutely fabulous, comfortable bed in a quiet room even being on the ground floor. They spoiled us rotten as I have food sensitvities and breakfasts were made specific for my needs -- I did not feel any different, or miss any courses, than any other guest! And the food was delicious!!! Don also booked a whale watching tour for us that was part of a package we took with them and it was a great tour! Offerred many little extras that made our stay extra special such as extra glass ware for our use found in the living room along with wine openers; individual cup coffee maker, tea, ice and fridge availabe to guests in dining room 24 hours a day, copies of local menus and area attractions in den, current and up to date DVDs we could use if we chose to watch them. We are planning on going back!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Isaiah Jones Homestead Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isaiah Jones Homestead Bed & Breakfast

Address: 165 Main Street, Sandwich, MA 02563
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Sandwich
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Sandwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Isaiah Jones Homestead Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Isaiah Jones Homestead Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Isaiah Jones Homestead Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.