We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our stay was splendid!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belfry Inn and Bistro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Belfry Inn and Bistro to your Saves list
Belfry Inn and Bistro
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   6 Jarves Street, Sandwich, MA 02563   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 10 Sandwich B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Our stay was splendid!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

After a fairly long drive from Jackson NH we arrived to a warm welcome at the Belfry...we stayed in the Saturday room - which is amazing! Fantastic stained glass windows and a huge bath! The food was superb (especially the corned beef hash, and the duck, and the paella), but the service was the highlight of our stay! The team were friendly and helpful, and Lynn in particular made sure we had a brilliant stay! Thanks v much!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    43
    13
    6
    6
See reviews for
25
113
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockport UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed a three night stay here in the Painted Lady. Our room and bathroom were enormous, very light and airy and very comfortable (bricks under radiators a bit quirky!) Breakfasts good although they did seem a little short staffed. Tea and coffee making facilities in room would have been nice as we didn't really want to get up at 7am and go over to the Belfry. All the staff were very friendly and accommodating and a problem we had with the tv in the room was dealt with immediately.
Had dinner in The Belfry restaurant one night which although appearing a little pricey the food was exceptional, well presented and very tasty.
Easy walking distance to other restaurants and centre of village.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We thought we would be staying in a converted church instead we were next door in the painted lady. I can only guess what this was converted from. The room was very bright and airy which at 5pm was fine but not still at 5am when the sun came up and the room had inadequate curtains. The food in the restaurant was overly pretentious and over priced. Ravioli with no pasta? A fixed breakfast menu rather than been able to order eggs and bacon. Seemed to be running very short staffed.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfryinn, Owner at Belfry Inn and Bistro, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are sorry that you were disappointed with your accommodations. Your stay was booked through a third party who should have let you know that there are three separate buildings on property which have different rates. We will be following up with the third party to make sure that guests are well informed of what they are booking. You booked a room in the Village house but we gave you a complimentary upgrade to the Painted Lady building, a beautiful Victorian that was formerly the rectory of the Church.

We were unaware that you thought you were staying in the beautiful converted church building known as the Abbey, but had you let us know we would have gladly shown you available rooms.

We certainly apologize that your room had “inadequate curtains”. Many people enjoy the light let in by the stained glass windows and curtained French glass doors of the Garden room, where you stayed. However, we would have been happy to show you some alternative rooms or bring additional curtains to your room had we known the light was bothering you. We hope that in the future you would bring any issues you have to our attention; we strive to make your stay as “heavenly” as possible.

We do have a set breakfast menu offering up to four selections each day, which we change daily. We also offer a gluten-free menu and regularly make adjustments the menu offerings to suit each guests dietary needs and taste. There is a variety of delectable omelets and scrambles offered on the menu but we are always happy to prepare eggs any way you like them, with bacon or sausage, for our guests if they don’t find anything on the menu they desire.

We aim to make your stay here a first class experience and we regularly customize meals for our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed at the Belfry Inne for thee nights and it is a beautiful place to stay. The Bistro rooms were absolutly gorgeous, and our friday room had plenty of room to move around,and we also had a little sitting area outside the room to relax at night. Cant say enough about the staff, as they were very much into their jobs and were efficient, and kind at the same time, a managers dream staff! Tricia, who worked multiple jobs, was exceptional in her job to make us feel welcome and feel at home. Our rating is down by one because, the room we originally booked was very much smaller than it looked on the internet, and so we had to take a larger room for a substantial increase a night, had we not been locked in with booking.com we probably would have gone elsewhere. Also, no guest refrigerater was somewhat inconvienant. We did enjoy a dinner in the dining room one night, and it was excellent, and the manager even brought over a cordial for our anniversary.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

This was booked through Trailfinders. We spent 2 days here in the "Tuesday" room. Fabulous room with the original window from the church. Light and airy and well modernised and well laid-out. There is also a balcony for warmer nights. It is well-located for the local sights and for the beach. I woudn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suffolk
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

A typical Cape Cod village house and Painted Lady House either side of an old catholic church made uop the Belfry Inne and it was a wonderful setting We stayed in the Village house and found it clean and comfortable and full of olde worlde charm . No tea or coffee makiners but both available from 7am in the restaurant. Staff friendly and a choice of dishes for breakfast which was included. We tried the restaurant for dinner once, quite expensive and unfortunately for us we got the server on an off night very condescending and dismissive so we didn't return. This experience affected the rating of the overall stay

Room Tip: I'd go for the village house although all have their own charm
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweet New England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I found the Belfry Inne through Yankee Magazine. Listed as a neo-Victorian B&B in a converted Catholic Church, I knew I had to stay there.

My room was beautiful and light filled with a gorgeous stained glass window over the bed. It had a private patio that looked out on a flower filled path. The room was on the first floor and amazingly quiet. I stayed at the Painted Lady building but got to look at the Abbey's gorgeous rooms with their church pew beds and enormous stained glass windows.

The included breakfast was delicious and receives an A for presentation. My stay was only two days but everything was perfect both mornings.

Tricia was our clerk on the first day and our waitress on the second day. She was a joy, efficient, knowledgeable and pleasant.

I will definitely come back to the Inne. It was spectacular and the Sandwich area is so charming.
Can't wait to do it again.

Room Tip: The garden room at the Painted Lady is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Belfry Inn and Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belfry Inn and Bistro

Address: 6 Jarves Street, Sandwich, MA 02563
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Sandwich
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Sandwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Belfry Inn and Bistro 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cape Cod’s jewel, a small boutique Inn, set in the center of Sandwich Village, is an architectural masterpiece; the Abbey, (ca.1901) a former church with six guest suites above the Bistro. Imaginative interiors, soaring space, stain glass windows. Offering a host of amenities, decks, whirlpools for two and fireplaces. Full gourmet breakfast. Offering hospitality year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Belfry Inn and Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belfry Inne And Bistro Hotel Sandwich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belfry Inn and Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.