We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Real Disappointment” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Belfry Inn and Bistro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Belfry Inn and Bistro to your Saves list
Belfry Inn and Bistro
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   6 Jarves Street, Sandwich, MA 02563   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 10 Sandwich B&B and Inns
Derby, UK
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“A Real Disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights Inbetween our visits to Boston & New York and were hoping for a quiet, comfortable break from the city bustle. We certainly got the first - I've never been to a place where so little is going on! Unfortunately, the comfortable bit didn't materialise. Our room in the Village annex was tiny to the point of being claustrophobic with the most uncomfortable bed I've slept on in years. Why it had two mattresses AND a mattress topper on I've no idea but it only served to make the whole thing too high and too lumpy. Combined with the option of either being too hot or kept awake by the thunderous A/C, we did not sleep well on either night. The bathroom was similarly small and poorly appointed, with dodgy electrics and an extractor fan that's not seen a duster in months by the look of it. All in all, the accommodation was very poor.

One redeeming feature was the breakfast though, which was of a good quality served by friendly efficient staff. We enjoyed this on both mornings as a great start to the day.

Breakfast aside, we were really disappointed with our stay at The Belfry. Having visited other places on the Cape, we would stay in Plymouth or Falmouth next time - a better choice of hotel with more going on.

It was notable that throughout our stay we encountered our host several times but not once did he ask how our stay was. Perhaps he knew. Either way, we contemplated having a moan on checkout but to be honest, we couldn't be bothered as it wouldn't have changed things.

We're always happy to recommend places on TA if we've had a good experience. Sadly on this occasion we are unable to do that.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    43
    13
    6
    6
See reviews for
25
110
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, OH
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We came across this place while looking for a wedding venue for our daughter. We were so disappointed that it wasn't large enough since it is so unique. We did not stay at the Inne, but we had a lovely meal there recently for an anniversary celebration. The food was outstanding. We ordered a variety of entrees and from duck to pork chops to fish specials. Everyone in our party of eight was pleased with both the food and the service by Meghan. We were seated in the back away from the bar area. Maybe not the best location for some, but for us it was perfect - we felt like we were sitting around a table at home and literally were there for over 4 hours chatting and enjoying a leisurely dinner. Sandwich is such a neat area and I would highly recommend Belfry Inne as a stop when you are in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

The Belfry Inne is an amazing feast for the senses. Visually stunning, as it is a repurposed Catholic church with architectural details you might miss around every corner. You need to explore. Subtle humor abounds, such as the old confessional, now incorporated into the bar. There are more rooms in the Painted Lady next door too, which is where we stayed. Go up to the tower and what do you see? A mural that includes a bat. It is the Belfry. The Bistro is in the actual Belfry building where the breakfast (included) is served. Their cinnamon vanilla French Toast is so light and aromatic you'll want a few more servings. So yummy. I wish I could have stayed all summer. Bed was comfy, nicely appointed bathroom. The staff was welcoming and helpful. Location was perfect. Can't say enough good things about the place. Put it on your list of "must visit" places.

Room Tip: I can't imagine there was a bad room in the house. I was on the top floor so there were lots of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rushden, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights and thoroughly enjoy our stay. We had a room in the 'village inn' (one of three buildings all under the same ownership) and it was very comfy. Breakfast was waitress service (and very friendly) and very comprehensive. The room was not large but very clean and comfy.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfryinn, General Manager at Belfry Inn and Bistro, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for you comment but did you really stay in the Abbey? Every room has been done over this past winter from new drapes, bedding, carpet, and especially the bathrooms. The Wednesday room we installed a Vedana spa unit. The saturday room we upgraded the air tub to Bain Ultra's new pedastal tub with dual heated head rests and color therapy. The Tuesday and Thursday rooms we installed new Bain Ultra 42 inch wide and new rain fall showers. Each room is exceptional. All rooms we upgraded the TV's to 42" flat screens.

The wait at check in is unfortuante but not knowing the date of your stay I cannot determine the reason. the only time there may be a wait is if a group is checking in. I have never seen anyone wait more than ten minutes! The time it takes to walk a guest to a room and return.

Breakfast is cooked to order from a menu that changes daily. Fresh food takes time. eevn during the height fo the season with 44 guests breakfast takes no more than 30 minutes. If you were in a hurry a quick mention to the server would have reduced any wait.

Most guest remark our photos do not do our rooms justice!!! Are you sure you stayed in the former church? By the way this is our 18th year and we maintain refresh all the rooms every year. The painted lady rooms were totally changed by way of colors and beds last year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, Massachusetts
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We recently stayed at the Belfry Inne. We stayed in Seth's room which is located in the Victorian home. Room was clean, had a great mattress and super air conditioning. Thankfully, we were only staying for two nights and had a minimum of clothing as there is no closet, armoire, or dresser in this room for your clothes. Only had 6 hangers on the back of the bath door and 2 small nightstands with drawers. "Fireplace" in the room is actually a wood surround and mantle with the firebox boarded over. This room could also use some crown molding to compliment the Victorian flair. We were also mildly disappointed that the bath door was so swollen that it was impossible to close at all. So much for privacy in the bath! Included breakfast was very tasty but service was slow as there was only 1 waitress each morning to serve the entire bistro. The inne has plenty of parking and was located right in the heart of Sandwich village. Not a bad experience mind you, but a bit overpriced if you ask us.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

This is an excellent restaurant by any standards and compares very well to restaurants in large cities around the world. The food was outstanding and each of us thoroughly enjoyed what we had ordered. The restaurant retains the features of the former abbey which adds to the ambience. Probably the best restaurant on the Cape. We did not stay at the Inn; only ate in the restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We have the priviledge of living on Cape Cod....so we are fairly close to The Belfry Inn and Bistro. This has been our absolute to-die-for place to escape to when ever we want to treat ourselves to a bit of luxury and pampering. The food is always delicious, and beautifully presented. We have never had any offerings that weren't totally wonderful. The ambiance at the restaurant is so romantic. Chris,the Innkeeper, always makes us feel special and pampered. We also love to plan dinner with an overnight at the Abby and totally indulge our senses. The rooms are gorgeous, comfortable and beautifully appointed.
If you get a chance to come to our beautiful Cape Cod........plan a night or two at the Belfry.....or at least have dinner there.....you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: We Love any room in the Abby........large 2-person tubs, gas fireplaces and individually furnished r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Belfry Inn and Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belfry Inn and Bistro

Address: 6 Jarves Street, Sandwich, MA 02563
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Sandwich
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Sandwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Belfry Inn and Bistro 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cape Cod’s jewel, a small boutique Inn, set in the center of Sandwich Village, is an architectural masterpiece; the Abbey, (ca.1901) a former church with six guest suites above the Bistro. Imaginative interiors, soaring space, stain glass windows. Offering a host of amenities, decks, whirlpools for two and fireplaces. Full gourmet breakfast. Offering hospitality year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Belfry Inn and Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belfry Inne And Bistro Hotel Sandwich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belfry Inn and Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.