We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quirky place to visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Belfry Inn and Bistro

Save Saved
You added Belfry Inn and Bistro to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Belfry Inn and Bistro
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   6 Jarves Street, Sandwich, MA 02563   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 10 Sandwich B&B and Inns
Rushden, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A quirky place to visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights and thoroughly enjoy our stay. We had a room in the 'village inn' (one of three buildings all under the same ownership) and it was very comfy. Breakfast was waitress service (and very friendly) and very comprehensive. The room was not large but very clean and comfy.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfryinn, General Manager at Belfry Inn and Bistro, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for you comment but did you really stay in the Abbey? Every room has been done over this past winter from new drapes, bedding, carpet, and especially the bathrooms. The Wednesday room we installed a Vedana spa unit. The saturday room we upgraded the air tub to Bain Ultra's new pedastal tub with dual heated head rests and color therapy. The Tuesday and Thursday rooms we installed new Bain Ultra 42 inch wide and new rain fall showers. Each room is exceptional. All rooms we upgraded the TV's to 42" flat screens.

The wait at check in is unfortuante but not knowing the date of your stay I cannot determine the reason. the only time there may be a wait is if a group is checking in. I have never seen anyone wait more than ten minutes! The time it takes to walk a guest to a room and return.

Breakfast is cooked to order from a menu that changes daily. Fresh food takes time. eevn during the height fo the season with 44 guests breakfast takes no more than 30 minutes. If you were in a hurry a quick mention to the server would have reduced any wait.

Most guest remark our photos do not do our rooms justice!!! Are you sure you stayed in the former church? By the way this is our 18th year and we maintain refresh all the rooms every year. The painted lady rooms were totally changed by way of colors and beds last year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    95
    37
    10
    6
    5
See reviews for
22
95
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Falmouth, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We recently stayed at the Belfry Inne. We stayed in Seth's room which is located in the Victorian home. Room was clean, had a great mattress and super air conditioning. Thankfully, we were only staying for two nights and had a minimum of clothing as there is no closet, armoire, or dresser in this room for your clothes. Only had 6 hangers on the back of the bath door and 2 small nightstands with drawers. "Fireplace" in the room is actually a wood surround and mantle with the firebox boarded over. This room could also use some crown molding to compliment the Victorian flair. We were also mildly disappointed that the bath door was so swollen that it was impossible to close at all. So much for privacy in the bath! Included breakfast was very tasty but service was slow as there was only 1 waitress each morning to serve the entire bistro. The inne has plenty of parking and was located right in the heart of Sandwich village. Not a bad experience mind you, but a bit overpriced if you ask us.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

This is an excellent restaurant by any standards and compares very well to restaurants in large cities around the world. The food was outstanding and each of us thoroughly enjoyed what we had ordered. The restaurant retains the features of the former abbey which adds to the ambience. Probably the best restaurant on the Cape. We did not stay at the Inn; only ate in the restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We have the priviledge of living on Cape Cod....so we are fairly close to The Belfry Inn and Bistro. This has been our absolute to-die-for place to escape to when ever we want to treat ourselves to a bit of luxury and pampering. The food is always delicious, and beautifully presented. We have never had any offerings that weren't totally wonderful. The ambiance at the restaurant is so romantic. Chris,the Innkeeper, always makes us feel special and pampered. We also love to plan dinner with an overnight at the Abby and totally indulge our senses. The rooms are gorgeous, comfortable and beautifully appointed.
If you get a chance to come to our beautiful Cape Cod........plan a night or two at the Belfry.....or at least have dinner there.....you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: We Love any room in the Abby........large 2-person tubs, gas fireplaces and individually furnished r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Visiting New England from the UK for the first time we stayed in the Village House for 4 nights. We are so glad we chose the Belfry. Chris and his team could not have done more for us. Our room in the Village House had the oldie worldie charm we love and were looking for. We enjoyed sitting on the porch each evening in the sun enjoying a beer and /or coffee after a day exploring the cape.
Wonderful choice for breakfast and we enjoyed two lovely evening meals in the bistro. All our food was well cooked (lots of it too) and it was just a pity that the Bistro was not open on both Monday and Tuesday evenings.
We really hope that one day we will visit again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balitmore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

The property consists of 3 buildings. We stayed in the painted lady first floor. Very clean. Comfy king bed. Huge bathroom with 2 person tub. Bright sunny room. Across the driveway is the abbey where the bistro is located .very creative repurposed space to guest rooms and restaurant. Great made to order breakfast with homemade banana bread. Dinner was also delicious . Fresh seafood. I had scallops and my husband the fish and chips . Both fabulous and we topped it off with a delectable warm cherry crisp.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We had a family birthday dinner at the Bistro (did not stay at the inn). What a treat! Great, inventive, high quality food with attentive service. One member of the group declared the clam chowder best ever. Desserts were as delicious as the entrees and salads. While not inexpensive, we will be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Belfry Inn and Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belfry Inn and Bistro

Address: 6 Jarves Street, Sandwich, MA 02563
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Sandwich
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Sandwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Belfry Inn and Bistro 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cape Cod’s jewel, a small boutique Inn, set in the center of Sandwich Village, is an architectural masterpiece; the Abbey, (ca.1901) a former church with six guest suites above the Bistro. Imaginative interiors, soaring space, stain glass windows. Offering a host of amenities, decks, whirlpools for two and fireplaces. Full gourmet breakfast. Offering hospitality year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Belfry Inn and Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belfry Inne And Bistro Hotel Sandwich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belfry Inn and Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.