We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bistro night was top shelf” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belfry Inn and Bistro

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Belfry Inn and Bistro to your Saves list
Belfry Inn and Bistro
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   6 Jarves Street, Sandwich, MA 02563   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 10 Sandwich B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Bistro night was top shelf”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Met friends for dinner. Neither couple stayed at the Inn. Dining room has a warm atmosphere along with high ceilings that are an inviting mix for this renovated church building. All staff went to extremes to make us have a special evening. Though costly, drinks and food were creatively prepared and thoroughly enjoyed. The attentive staff and a personal visit from the head chef made the night magical. Piano music, candle light, and an upbeat unhurried vibe puts this Bistro at the top of our Cape dining experiences

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    43
    13
    6
    6
See reviews for
25
113
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We had the most amazing experience this past weekend at the Belfry Inne & Bistro. The accommodations were outstanding and the food was by far the best we have ever had! Our room was exceptionally clean and comfortable and the Bistro provided us with the most delicious dinner and breakfast! We would highly recommend this B&B to anyone, and we most definitely will be making another trip back to stay again very soon!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Called multiple times to speak with someone and every time I got the machine. Left voice mail requesting availability and to inquiry about specials but no one returned my call even after 24 hours. Once someone finally did pickup....they could not answer my questions and told me the owner would call me back and once again it has been 24 hours no one called me back. I can't imagine how their customer service will be once you get there??? Too bad my wife and I were really excited about this place!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfryinn, Manager at Belfry Inn and Bistro, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
This "review" is very unfortuanate. We did a Groupon this week and we have been deluged with calls. That is a good thing until .......!!! We had over 7,000 views on our booking engine! Our front desk was answering the phones up until midnight last night from guest's as far away as Germany. This morning at 7am while making breakfast for the guests I was answering inquiries. The front desk returned all calls, but obviously your message was missed! I see you have never reviewed another hotel but felt it necessary to share your frustration. Today I cared for 20 guests starting at 7am, having a corporate retreat. We checked in over ten rooms in one hour! Tonight we will serve a full dining room. And I am proud to share with you and anyone who reads this response that I and my staff are extremely responsive to our prospective guests as well as those who are sharing the space with us in the moment. Just look at our Zagat rating, or Open Table, Reward Network sites. Again we apologize for the mishap and maybe after reading this you'll experience us another time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

My wife and I had our wedding reception at the Belfry this past September.

This review is long over due.

We could not have been happier with Chris Wilson and the staff at the Belfry. They all worked extremely hard to make our special day the best it could be.

Having a perfect fall afternoon helped as we were able to have cocktails oustside in deck. Wonderful area for people to share a drink and talk.

We had about 105 people. A very good number for the facility. The Belfry had a wonderful atmosphere and felt very alive with this many people there. Maybe a throw back to its days as the local Catholic Church.

Our guest (and us) loved the food. Our compliments to the kitchen and to the chef as the food served here was not your typical wedding fare. Many of our guests looked forward to going back to the Belfry for dinner and raved about how good everything was. There is no doubt Chris and staff take pride in doing things the right way. I know we all appreciated it.

We did enjoy staying at the Belfry after the wedding. One of the requirements for having an event in the Belfry is you must take the 6 guest rooms for two nights. It was nice when the night finished to not worry about driving and walk right upstairs. Nice little area for a nightcap outside our room.

We had breakfast the next morning for family and people who come from a long distance. It was very well done too and Chris was up early working it to make sure it all went well.

Our thanks to the entire staff for making our day a great and memorable experience.

Room Tip: Each room in the Belfry is unique. Be sure to check them out online as they do have some interestin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

This was the last stop on our New England honeymoon trip and I'm so glad we decided to stay there for 3 nights. It was low season so the owner/manager very kindly upgraded our room to one which was in the main building - it was lovely and cosy, full of character, with a vaulted ceiling and a jacuzzi bath. The Inn is very close to the main high street of Sandwich which made it very easy to have a look round without getting in the car, and the quality of food, both breakfast and dinner was top notch. On top of all of that the owner and his staff were very friendly and helpful without being over the top. I couldn't recommend this place enough.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the rose window - it looked amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, CT
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed in the Abbey in the Tuesday Room. It was stunning. The service was good, not stellar, but good. It's a beautiful building on a quiet street. That made for an excellent getaway. It is expensive. The breakfast the following day was excellent. We ate in the bistro for dinner and the food was worth every penny. If you don;t mind spending a little extra on a getaway - I would definitely recommend staying here and eating in the bistro. It's a convenient drive to other points on the Cape as well from the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Booked for 6 nights at The Befry Inne and left after 2 nights, booked a superior room for 6 nights and was presented with a room that was tatty, had a huge bath at the end of the bed (why?!) tiny bathroom (with yet another bath!), a wardrobe that could only hold 3 hangers (great for a 6 night stay). Air con unit wedged into the window and sounded like an airplane was constantly taxing in the room - this was not superior!

Was then moved to another room, which whilst bigger in size was still rather tatty, furniture did not match, paint missing on one of the side tables, another lovely air con unit wedged into the window which also sounded like a 747 was taxing in the room and like the house the rooms were situated in (The Painted Lady) tired, tatty and nowhere near the quality you would expect for the price we paid.

Breakfast whilst edible was bland and small portions (and why put cinnamon in everything!) Ate in the restaurant the first night, again food was bland, expensive and limited in choice.

The whole place needs to be updated and modernised - owners are asking top dollar for a very inferior product.

Its a shocker!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfryinn, Manager at Belfry Inn and Bistro, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
This individual booked through a third party TRAILFINDERS, out of the UK. Trailfinders like Expedia sells rooms directly to the consumer and pay us a discounted rate. We do not control what they charge their customers. Please see our web site for our fair rate structure.
This guest booked a DELUXE ROOM NOT SUPERIOR. We have a voucher from the guest and Trailfinders that states this fact.
Upon showing the guest to the first room; we immediately offered another DELUXE room and told the client that all superior rooms were booked up until Tuesday. We contacted Trailfinders to see what they could offer and let them know that we could not move the guest until Tuesday. We had no opportunity to upgrade further as the guest left on Monday. Trailfinders did refund the guest money for any unused days. We have had over 200 guests this year from Trailfinders and nothing but rave reviews. They are an extremely reputable organization and have been a client for 12 years. Our rooms are inspected annually and the George room is a TOP seller .
Please see the George room for photos. Guest’s love this room specifically because the tub faces the bed and fireplace as well as the flat screen TV.
• The room size is 13 x 15, not including the bathroom with shower.
• Has a full closet 4 feet by 24inches wide with additional shelves inside for clothing. You can hang a full set 30 items in the closet. The guest never even tried to hang their clothes.
• The bathroom has a toilet and a corner shower with a sink and mirror. There are three shelves for toiletries next to the shower as well as rack for hair dryer.
• Four large windows exude light
• Seasonal a/c unit in one of the windows by Frederic , and is quieter than a through wall heating unit. They never even stayed in the room to hear the any noise.
• The bed is a sturdy short poster maple bed that sits 20” above floor, so excess suit cases can be stored under.
• The two side tables are Quaker antique tables, valued at over $1,500 each that are in superb condition.
• Lamps are Chinese style with silk shades.
• There is a large original oil painting over the tub of the beach dunes as well as a marsh scene over the fireplace.
The guest was moved to a room with a king size bed and about 30% larger on the third floor.
To compare our food to Seafood Sams a take out cafeteria style venue just exemplifies this guest expectations are the antithesis of what the Belfry offers. Our food is cooked to order, by culinary professionals . Our fish is day boat caught and our standard of quality is second to none. See Opentable.com or Zagat for our reviews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Belfry Inn and Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belfry Inn and Bistro

Address: 6 Jarves Street, Sandwich, MA 02563
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Sandwich
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Sandwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Belfry Inn and Bistro 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cape Cod’s jewel, a small boutique Inn, set in the center of Sandwich Village, is an architectural masterpiece; the Abbey, (ca.1901) a former church with six guest suites above the Bistro. Imaginative interiors, soaring space, stain glass windows. Offering a host of amenities, decks, whirlpools for two and fireplaces. Full gourmet breakfast. Offering hospitality year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Belfry Inn and Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belfry Inne And Bistro Hotel Sandwich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belfry Inn and Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.