We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Captain Chipman Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sandwich
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Captain Chipman Inn
195 Route 6A, Sandwich, MA 02563   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Sandwich B&B and Inns
Worcester, Massachusetts
2 reviews
“Home away from home!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We recently stayed at the Captain Chipman's Inn the last week of June 2013!! What a fantastic place! Only 7 miles over the Bourne Bridge! The Inn was immaculate and very homey! Stacy and Rich Chiaramonte were the perfect host. Very knowlegable about the area and were very helpful with suggestion on beaches,resturants, and sights to see!! Sitting on the deck with a cup of coffee and (or wine!!) and looking at the view was the most relaxing thing! The Sunday morning breakfast was so delicious! Best frittata ever! Thank-you Rich and Stacy for a wonderful weekend! Looking forward to a return trip in the fall!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rich C, Owner at Captain Chipman Inn, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you! Your pictures look great! Hope too see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
14
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
panama city
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Easy to find, located on Old Kings Highway in Sandwich, MA, this B&B is our favorite place to stay! We enjoyed the view from The Captain’s Quarters and plan to return around July 4th!
Stacy and Rich Chiaramonte really make this the most enjoyable place to stay and we highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rich C, Owner at Captain Chipman Inn, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Thank you! Hope to see you gain this fall!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2008

We enjoyed 3 nights at the Captain Chipman Inn in October 2008. We are experienced world travellers and can honestly say this is one of the best bed and breakfast stays we have had.

Diane & Stan greeted us very warmly after our flight from the UK and treated us to the biggest and best slices of home made apple pie.

We stayed in the Temperance Toile Room that was beautifully decorated and furnished, with en suite bathroom with shower. We had a look at the other rooms that were also beautifully furnished. The Captain’s Suite enjoys a large window with views across the garden to the ocean.

Each morning we were treated to a wonderful and varied breakfast.

Diane & Stan are excellent hosts. We appreciated the privacy, Diane & Stan live in a separate part of the house, but they were always quietly on hand and very helpful.

Thank you for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2008

We spent a week at the Captain Chipman Inn in the summer of 2005 - definitely the best week's vacation I have ever had! The rooms are charmingly decorated, each with its own bathroom. The day gets off to a perfect start with Stan's to-die-for breakfasts - every day of our week's stay he came up with a new creation, such as blueberry blinis, pecan toffee pancakes - fresh fruit, juice and coffee. In good weather the breakfast is served on the deck overlooking the beautiful garden and pond, out to the bay. Diane and Stan are the perfect hosts - full of helpful information, and if they don't know the answer to a question immediately, you can be sure they'll take the trouble to find out for you!
The Inn is conveniently located for walking into Sandwich, or getting onto either the new highway onto the Cape, or the old King's Highway.

  • Liked — The breakfasts!
  • Stayed July 2005, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2008

I stayed at the Captain Chipman Inn August, 07, for one night, and then in January, 08, for 3 nights. The Inn is impeccably cared for, with a lovely living room and dining room for the guests. The owners, Diane and Stan, are very helpful and friendly, while allowing you much privacy. Stan's breakfast is a gourmet delight every morning. Each room/suite has its own charm and both rooms that I have stayed in were very comfortable. The location is so peaceful, as well as convenient. I thoroughly enjoyed myself both visits. I highly recommend this very special Inn.

Stayed January 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Captain Chipman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Chipman Inn

Address: 195 Route 6A, Sandwich, MA 02563
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Sandwich
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Sandwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet B&B in Sandwich, MA, the oldest town on Cape Cod. This 1850 Greek Revival house has three rooms and overlooks a pond, the salt marsh and Cape Cod Bay. Each morning a sumptuous breakfast is served. Located on historic Route 6A this is a great central location for visiting Boston, Newport and the rest of the Cape. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Captain Chipman Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Captain Chipman Inn to your Saves list