We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food and atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belfry Bistro

Belfry Bistro
6 Jarves St, at Belfry Inne and Bistro, Sandwich, MA 02563
+1 508-888-8550
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Belfry Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 49 Restaurants in Sandwich
Price range: $15 - $33
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 6A
Hampshire
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Lovely food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Delightful setting in an old church. Fast and efficient service. Good food and walking distance of our B & B.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    44
    16
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ashland, Massachusetts
2 reviews
“Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I just loved the Foie Gras. Great food, and service. The ambience was interesting because this used to be a chruch!!! So you may be having dinner in a confessional ;-)

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excuses, excuses . . .”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Night before winter menu debut -- that was the excuse for no specials, and not even all the desserts shown on the website. Should we pay full price for a reduced experience? Waitress was nice, though everything seemed a bit rushed. In and out in less than an hour. Ambience lacking -- beautiful setting, though oddly cold. Tonight was intended to be our "nice dinner" out during our week at the Cape, disappointing, will not return or recommend.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHESHIRE
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A lovely place to eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

The Belfry is a converted Roman Catholic Church. The conversion has very successfully blended various levels with some clever lighting to make for an intimate and pleasant dining experience.

We had fine fish and a very well cooked fillet mignon and for a Tuesday night the restaurant was really busy early evening.

Recommended.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, New Jersey
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Since we did not have a reservation, we were able to sit at a high top in the bar, which was fine. The ambience is beautiful, and we found the food to be quite good. I had a grilled swordfish special, which was perfectly done, and my husband had lobster poached in butter, very moist and delicious. I would definitely go back to try some of the other dishes. Note - very friendly to gluten free eaters.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Belfry Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Belfry Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belfry Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.