We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too expensive for the quality” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Captain Scott's Seafood Restaurant

Captain Scott's Seafood Restaurant
71 Tupper Rd, Sandwich, MA 02563-1868
508-888-1675
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 49 Restaurants in Sandwich
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
287 reviews 287 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Too expensive for the quality”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

The appearance of the restaurant makes you think it's high class but that's all. The food is ordinary, the portions small and the prices high.
We had different dishes but neither of us was satisfied. I wanted fish and chip like you usually find near the coast but it was not special. In fact it was rather disappointing.

The service is excellent.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    17
    8
    8
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Do not waste your money here!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

Stopped here because we wanted a good seafood place to celebrate our son's bday. After having to ask to order, we received the most disgusting food pretending to be cuisine ever. I had the chicken Marsala - huge mistake. It was essentially tough, cheap chicken in a vinegary sauce for 16.00. The seafood platter was tasteless and poor quality. My son's hot dog bun was hard and stale. The service was horrid, had to ask to order and then again for our check. Should have followed our first clue when the restaurant was not busy on a Saturday night. Seriously don't eat here.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandwich, Massachusetts
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“a hidden jewel in the cape”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

Food is amazing!! been coming here for awhile, if you go there ask for Judy or Jackie they're phenomenal and so cheerful and friendly. George is very talented and fabulous chef! Can't wait to go back

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent little off the beaten path restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Even though we summer nearby, we were not aware of this small restaurant in Sandwich MA and happened upon it by accident a number of years ago. Even locally they do not seem to advertise much. But after discovering it, we always found it to be good food and an excellent value. However, two years ago, we thought it had gone a bit downhill and become tired inside, so did not try it last year (2013). But then we decided to try it again this season and were wry pleasantly surprised. We stopped for lunch on a Sunday and not only had the interior been very tastefully refurbished, the food was excellent and the varied specials particularly were a fantastic bargain. We definitely will return.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrimack, NH
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“My new Cape favorite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Snuggled in Sandwich, MA no paper plates, no just fried seafood. Casual Seafood in style. Comfortable seating -- with silverware and plates! Stopped for lunch and it was delightful; we ordered the lobster roll which can with a cup of lobster bisque as the special (on a chilly Memorial Day just the ticket); fish and chips(but choose rice) and Nantucket Haddock sandwich--- nothing disappointed. Great service. A nice selection of wine--but it was lunch and we had the traffic to still battle.. worth a stop!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain Scott's Seafood Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Captain Scott's Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Captain Scott's Seafood Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.