We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice New England restaurant. Casual dining.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Captain Scott's Seafood Restaurant

Captain Scott's Seafood Restaurant
71 Tupper Rd, Sandwich, MA 02563-1868
508-888-1675
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 50 restaurants in Sandwich
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Worcester, Massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice New England restaurant. Casual dining.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Quaint old style clam shack that's been remodeled and added on to. They have both an indoor and an out door bar area. It was raining the day we went so the outdoor bar was closed or is only open at night.

We had dinner in the a/c'd side room.

We started with a cup of soup. Hubby had the lobster bisque, which was very good. I had the clam chowder. Have to say it was close to one of the best I've had. We both ordered the twin lobster dinner, which came with two sides. Little pricey and just ok.

The wait staff was friendly and very attentive.

I'd go again and would recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

55% Recommend
    14
    15
    8
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Average isn't all that it's cracked up to be”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Average at best, prices aren't bad. But if you want really good seafood, this isn't the place. I didn't like or dislike anything. It was OK. Wouldn't go out of my way to eat there.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Deep Fried Goodness”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Just a great classic suumertime Cape Cod restaurant. Piping hot and tasty onion rings, excellent Angus beef burger with handcut perfectly prepared fries. Good fish and chips platter as well. Worth a short side trip off Rt 6.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good variety, love the Friday & Saturday specials”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Most places on the Cape have lobster, fried seafood & pizza. Hard to find somewhere with more variety - Captain Scott's has lots of variety on the menu, and they even have gluten free options! Possibly my favorite lobster bisque on the Cape. Friday & Saturdays have a two entrees (from select menu) + a bottle of wine for $30. A great deal for a date night!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Just simply OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

It's just OK food, acceptable flavors, mediocre service, a bit high prices for the entire meal. Their glass of wine was a joke, except for the price, as it was only half filled, in a glass the size more suitable for an after-dinner drink, than a glass of wine. It simply was insulting.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain Scott's Seafood Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Captain Scott's Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Captain Scott's Seafood Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.