We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit off on Valentine's Day!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Dan'l Webster Inn Restaurant

The Dan'l Webster Inn Restaurant
149 Main Street, Sandwich, MA 02563
+1 508-888-3622
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Dan'l Webster Inn Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 50 Restaurants in Sandwich
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $12 - $40
Cuisines: American, Vegetarian, Contemporary, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Doing business, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Traditional favorites share the menu with contemporary cuisine. Lovely dining rooms offer a choice of settings; candle-lit rooms, fireside dining in the Music Room or garden side dining in the sun or moonlit Conservatory combine with outstanding service and innovative cuisine to produce a positively exceptional dining experience. We welcome guests in all our dining rooms dressed from casual to their Sunday best. The Dan'l Webster Inn serves contemporary American cuisine for lunch and dinner daily, year round. Start your day in elegant style with a delightful Breakfast. Recipient of The Wine Spectator's prestigious Best of Award of Excellence, features wines that will please even the most discriminating guest. The Inn, recognized as a Distinguished Restaurant of North America, offers familiar favorites such as the most tender prime rib and filet mignon available along with seasonal and creative dishes from our constantly changing Chef's Special Menu
Kingston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A bit off on Valentine's Day!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We have dined at the Daniel Webster numerous times and it is usually top notch, but on Valentine's night (Friday 2/14/14) we were shocked at the size of the drink my husband ordered at the bar. He ordered a Johnny Walker Black on the rocks, and he received a glass with a quarter cup of scotch and ice combined. We thought that was rather skimpy. He ordered a second one in the dining room and it was slightly better. Three of us ordered the prime rib which we thought were on the small size considering the price of $30 each. But it was delicious. We had a most cordial interaction with our server and left a 20% tip as we always do, and on the way out, we encountered our waitress in the hallway talking to other staff members. She saw us, but never acknowledged us or make any attempt to thank us. I felt snubbed. Oh, and all the other women were given a rose after dinner-but not us! The restaurant was not very busy as it is normally on holidays. Count us disappointed.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimSt, Executive Assistant at The Dan'l Webster Inn Restaurant, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Mary C ~

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your Valentine's Day dinner; although we certainly don't like to hear of experiences that were unsatisfactory. We do, however, know that the only way we can fix issues is to know about them; and for that we are very appreciative.

If you have time; our Dining Room Manager, Andrea Tierney, would like to discuss your experience in further detail with you. If you could, please call us at your convenience; 508-888-3622, ext. 255 for the Dining Room and they will get you in contact with her.

Thank you and we look forward to hearing from you.

Sincerely;
Kim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    192
    85
    44
    19
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Norwell, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Lunch Very loud, average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Went there for lunch on a Saturday. The parking lot was packed at 1:00pm so we knew we had found a very popular spot. It was packed in the restaurant but since we had reservations we were seated immediately. There was a birthday party at a neighboring table and the noise was so loud we could hardly talk. The server was very attentive and helpful. Unfortunately the food was only average. I ordered a club sandwich that was very dry and my wife ordered a burger that was cooked just right but lacked any flavor. The others in our group felt the same about the food. We were disappointed in the overall experience.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great place to dine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

What I liked about it was that you had a choice of the dining room or a taven type of atmosphere. We were not super hungry so we chose the tavern where we got salads. You could choose your type of salad and then a topping of chicken, shrimp, salmon etc. It was just enough. The people were very friendly and helpful.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandwich, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

Couldn't imagine not having this place - excellent - Tavern by the fire or functions (our reception) in the conservatory!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod Ma
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Cozy and comfortable, great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Love the tavern for its cozy warm atmosphere especially in winter sitting by the fire. Love the Atrium room in Spring and summer, beautiful flowers and fountain. Great food

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dan'l Webster Inn Restaurant also viewed

Sandwich, Cape Cod
Sandwich, Cape Cod
 

Been to The Dan'l Webster Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dan'l Webster Inn Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.