We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic Tavern” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Dan'l Webster Inn Restaurant

The Dan'l Webster Inn Restaurant
149 Main Street, Sandwich, MA 02563
+1 508-888-3622
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Dan'l Webster Inn Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 50 Restaurants in Sandwich
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $12 - $40
Cuisines: American, Vegetarian, Contemporary, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Romantic, Local cuisine, Doing business
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Traditional favorites share the menu with contemporary cuisine. Lovely dining rooms offer a choice of settings; candle-lit rooms, fireside dining in the Music Room or garden side dining in the sun or moonlit Conservatory combine with outstanding service and innovative cuisine to produce a positively exceptional dining experience. We welcome guests in all our dining rooms dressed from casual to their Sunday best. The Dan'l Webster Inn serves contemporary American cuisine for lunch and dinner daily, year round. Start your day in elegant style with a delightful Breakfast. Recipient of The Wine Spectator's prestigious Best of Award of Excellence, features wines that will please even the most discriminating guest. The Inn, recognized as a Distinguished Restaurant of North America, offers familiar favorites such as the most tender prime rib and filet mignon available along with seasonal and creative dishes from our constantly changing Chef's Special Menu
Sagamore Beach, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Historic Tavern”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Eat here often. Best overall restaurant in Town. Upscale but casual dining in Pub is great. Food is excellent, and there is a Subday Brunch that is outstanding

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    192
    85
    44
    19
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Tired Tavern”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

We've eaten at the Tavern periodically over the past decade. While the location can't be beat and the food, drink and service is good, the dining areas are a turn off. The decor is really tired, - a worn, eighties interpretation of an old world inn. Invest in a makeover that will lift not only the eating areas but also the spirits of those who dine there.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Decent, but poorly trained staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

We stopped for lunch here on our way out the Cape. The inn has an upscale, early American feel to it, but the Garden room is a glass enclosed space with a lot of plants that seemed more like Florida. Tablecloths, decent stainless, and big chairs justify slightly steep prices for good food. Our server was a bit clueless, but rather than blame her, I would put the blame on staff training in general, since the person in charge also seemed willing but poorly trained, For example, she picked up our classes by the rim (from the top) to refill water. We lived, but did find that distasteful. Worst part was we got three rolls, ate two and asked for another, and the waitress headed off with our one remaining roll, the butter, and my wife's bread plate and dinner knife! When we were almost done, we finally flagged her down and got the one roll back, but never got another.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandwich, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

This is our favorite restaurant for special occasions. We always bring familyt and friends here when they visit us on Cape Cod.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandwich, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Favorite for special occasions”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Our first stop in Sandwich was at the Daniel Webster Inn. The tavern is casual and the food is very good.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dan'l Webster Inn Restaurant also viewed

Sandwich, Cape Cod
Sandwich, Cape Cod
 

Been to The Dan'l Webster Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dan'l Webster Inn Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.