We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“non friendly staff” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Chew

Cafe Chew
Merchants Square, Route 6A, Sandwich, MA 02563
508-888-7717
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 50 Restaurants in Sandwich
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“non friendly staff”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

staff was not friendly or pleasant. The gave the impression they were doing you a favor by letting you pay for food. not helpful at all. owners are very nice, but staff is horrible, women behind the counters are the worst. they need a customer service lesson

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    42
    5
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wellesley, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
383 reviews 383 reviews
240 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“I hope next time would be better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Chew has a very welcoming local. Traditional Cape in the outside and artsy/comfortable in the inside. Staff are wery nice and chatty. We had a great capuccino, we ordered barley soup, meatloaf sandwich and curry chicken sandwich.
We felt soup was too thick and needed salt. Meatloaf needed more condiments and salt.
The curry chicken sandwich also needed salt.
Having said that, we are willing to give the place one more shot. We will order more standard sandwiches next time.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyannis, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Friendy warm atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

It depends what you order. Excellent creative beautiful salads.
The Pilgram sandwich was dried out turkey overwhelmed by the stuffing which is not very good.
Very friendly owners.
I will return but will try something else.
Very cute, fun place.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dix Hills, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great place for Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The breakfast was extremely creative and well prepared. My wife and two grandchildren had breakfast there this summer and we all enjoyed it immensely. The portions were substantial and prepared extremely well. The prices were reasonable for the quality and quantity served. We would definately recommend and would go back again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bass River, ma
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic over and over”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

A friend of ours introduced us to Cafe Chew about a year ago and we make it a weekly trip now! The coffee is excellent, the food is fresh and unique and the service is amazing. THere's something comforting about going into a restaurant where you are greeted by your first name! My husband loves their feta, spinach and olive omelette while I'm a pushover for their homefries. Their muffins and bakery items are always fresh and yummy. My husband also raves over their apple sausages and breakfast salad. It's a definite must-try if you are out on the Cape!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Chew also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Chew? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Chew, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.