We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Icecream” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Twin Acres Ice Cream Shoppe

Twin Acres Ice Cream Shoppe
21 Route 6a, Sandwich, MA 02563-5320
508-888-0566
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 50 Restaurants in Sandwich
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Ice Cream
Restaurant details
Coventry,Ct
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Excellent Icecream”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

First let me say, the choice of flavors are outstanding. With so much to chose from you, there is a flavor for everybody. Our son had his favorite 3 items in 1 flavor (chocolate peanut butter cookie dough). If a 16 year old says it is excellent, then it is excellent. My wife had soft serve chocolate and was very impressed by the destiny of the chocolate. I order a hot fudge sundae with the following ice cream (Moose Tracks, Vanilla and Chocolate Chip Cookie dough). The ice cream was creamy and rich. The hot fudge was out of this world. If you are in the area a stop at the Twin Acres is a must.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    11
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
United States
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Really, Really Good Ice Cream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Lots of flavors of ice cream. Lots of people serving, so the waits won't be long, even if the lines seem long. New flavors every season. Having a party? Advance order the ice cream pizza. (It looks like a small pizza pie, but it's all ice cream.)

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spaxton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
270 helpful votes 270 helpful votes
“Ice Cream To Die For”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

After reading a recommendation for this place we had to give it a try.Wow am I pleased we did, the ice cream was just like we used to have in England 50 years ago. It was rich, creamy and without a doubt good. The selection of flavours was also mind blowing. I did not count but there were 30/40 of them. I only had 3, the Dark Chocolate, Coffee/Toffee and Peppermint were enough to keep me happy for a while. My wife not a huge ice cream fan ( but I still love her ) had Lemon Sorbet and also Raspberry Sorbet each had chunks of fruit in them. She seemed to be struggling so I, being the nice man that I am helped her finish her portion. This is a place that I WILL return to.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Hampton, Connecticut
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Since we were kids...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

This was always the last stop out of town, and now that I'm n the driver's seat, it's more than that.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Fabulous Cape Cod ice cream stand along the Canal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

My fiance & I spent a wonderful Sunday afternoon having really nice lunch at The Pilot House. Although the weather was misty, we strolled a bit along the Canal bike Path after our meal. Then serendipitously came upon this very cute and amazingly still open ice cream stand. Although most flavors were gone...I gather they're getting ready to close for the season...the ones we did get were delish! We asked for a cup and given a generous portion. Always a treat to have REAL ice cream. I can sense this place is quite popular in the summer season. Very nostalgic in design. Definitely worth returning next year.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Twin Acres Ice Cream Shoppe also viewed

Sandwich, Cape Cod
 

Been to Twin Acres Ice Cream Shoppe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Twin Acres Ice Cream Shoppe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.