We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical Place - poor customer service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Heritage Museums & Gardens

Heritage Museums & Gardens
67 Grove Street, Sandwich, MA 02563 (Formerly Heritage Plantation)
508 888 3300
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 14 Attractions in Sandwich
Type: Art Museums, History Museums, Gardens, Parks, Specialty Museums, Museums
Activities: Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: You can enjoy more than 70 acres of gardens after visiting the art and history museums at the Heritage.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Magical Place - poor customer service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

The Museum and Garden were the best part of the Cape. We found it accidently and spent two days there - there's a surprise around every corner. However, I have emailed the Heritage twice about making arrangements for my handicapped friend to visit and have had no response. I have been trying since April - I will not go back if this lack of communication is indicative of their customer service.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    236
    66
    13
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Something for Everyone”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I thought I'd spend the time until my inn check-in on Cape Cod at Heritage Gardens and I was not disappointed. Hours can be spent at this attraction. I had always wanted to see this and it did not disappoint.
There are miles to walk where you can meditate or enjoy the plants, flowers, fountains and kinetic sculptures. There was a working carousel which will delight children and the young at heart. I was so pleased in my retirement years to be able to mount and dismount the horse unaided; it brought back memories of my childhood. There is a neat tree house for children to climb midst some outdoor exhibits in a refreshing hollow.There was a fascinating exhibit of primitive American art as well as a car exhibit. Photo opportunities abound.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Gardens worth the visit. Car museum wonderful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Even though the rhododendron were no longer in bloom, the visit to the gardens was most enjoyable. This is definitely worth a visit. Easy walking on paved and ground paths.

The auto museum was filled with very interesting old and concept cars (including a flying car and solar powered car). A must see for all car buffs.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Connecticut
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Off The Beaten Path”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

To us, the automobile exhibit was the best part of this stop. It seems like, as others have said, we missed most of the beautiful flowers in bloom by going in mid June. There were still pretty flowers and plants in some parts, but we definitely didn't get the full experience. The $15 entrance fee did seem a bit much to us by the time we left - but again as someone else said, it's about timing. Not sure what else will be blooming later in the summer, might be best to check that out first. There are still some fun things, like a treehouse, sundial, waterfall, etc. Just not quite what we were expecting. Contemplated between rating 3 or 4, but the automobile exhibit really was interesting, so 4 it is! It's not something I would consider a must do while on the cape though. It's definitely off the beaten path & could provide a relaxing afternoon if that's what you're looking for. You feel like you're driving through the middle of the woods looking for it, but just keep going & you'll get there!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Gorgeous place for a wedding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

The Heritage Museum and Gardens hosted my son and his fiancées wedding. The grounds were a gorgeous backdrop for the wedding ceremony and for photos. The staff was helpful and friendly.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Heritage Museums & Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Heritage Museums & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heritage Museums & Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.